Abington Township
67 reviews
  1. Suburb of Philadelphia, PA
Back to Abington Township Home

Reviews

67 reviews
  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    22
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    0
A great place to raise a family and easy access to Philadelphia. However, the commute back from Philadelphia can be 45-60 minutes.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
A true suburb in relation to house size and close proximity. Easy access to train to Philadelphia and shopping. Traffic is typical and easy to walk to the necessities like the supermarket.
  • Current Resident
  • 10 days ago
Abington Township is a great community in Suburban Philadelphia. It is a great place to raise a family. The school district is highly regarded.
  • Current Resident
  • 29 days ago
Lived here for over ten years and have always felt comfort while in Abington. A friendly and diverse neighborhood and also has the best of both worlds as far as little local shops or go to the Willow Grove mall and shop! Also has great schools! If community is important to you then choose Abington!
  • Nearby Resident
  • 1 month ago
Violent crime is rare, and people generally feel safe in their homes. I'm not sure if perhaps minorities feel harassed by the police sometimes. There is some drug activity. But for me and my family we have never had a problem.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
I've lived in Abington essentially all my life, and am raising my family here. That's not uncommon, and I think it says a lot.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
Not much crime here. Police are there when you need them.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It is a nice and quiet area. However, people here are not very friendly and I would prefer to live elsewhere. I think the area ill continue to grow since it is a nice area with good schools.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The Police are always available, and respond rather quickly to any incident, no matter the circumstances. If there is an automobile accident, they arrive within a few minutes of the call to keep things moving, as they are always posted at different locations. They are a visible presence, which is probably why the crime rate is quite low. I personally have no concerns, but seeing as there will always be crime, I'm thankful to have such an effective police force.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Living here has been a beneficial experience, as it was the perfect place to grow up and develop my own prerogative. I would consider it better than most places in the country, as the school system is fantastic, the people are usually friendly, and there is a strong sense of community overall that I don't think exists in a lot of townships across the country. I see Abington being on the rise, as more young families come to live here, bringing with them the best the future has to offer.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
If you need ANYTHING they are there.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The school district is very good as well as the community itself. There was is a lot of things to do and people to meet. Definitely family oriented.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I feel completely safe and secure in my neighborhood. I am totally comfortable venturing around my neighborhood alone at all hours of the day/night and feel protected at all times. Minimal crimes have occurred near me and most of the residents who live in my neighborhood are friendly, law-abiding citizens who are respectful of the property of others. The police are efficient and quickly responsive if their services are ever needed. Police cars frequently visit my neighborhood and are spotted a couple times a week.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Police aren't always visible, crimes are rare.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
My area is family related with a safe atmosphere.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
No vacant lots or abandoned properties. Great family area. Close to expensive, high end housing, but generally affordable and great quality.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
Tends to be very quiet with little neighbor interaction. Neighbors are generally very kind though.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
The area is generally very safe! Only one incident of attempted, unarmed robbery late at night.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
My experience has been awesome! Safe area! Plenty of space. My family was able to put in a pool, horseshoe pit, fire pit, and a hammock.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
I have been in the Roslyn/Abington area for many years of my life and I have thoroughly enjoyed it but that has changed for me as I get older. Now that I am in the city for my semesters at temple university, I have grown to realize that the city has so much to offer and the city is more exciting than the suburbs. In the city there is more action and in the area that i am in now is somewhat boring. If i had to choose, I would not live here again only because i have become so used to the city of Philadelphia and so accustomed to the city. Roslyn/ Abington is a good area though. It is safe and the schools in this area are great.
  • Niche User
  • June 30 2015
  • 1 of 4
Back to Abington Township Home