Addison
47 reviews
  1. Suburb of Chicago, IL
Back to Addison Home

Reviews

47 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    20
  • Poor
    7
  • Terrible
    0
I have lived in Addison for a year as I absolutely love it simply because it is central to everything (malls, family, etc)
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
Good area. Pretty quiet and family friendly. Some areas are considered to be part of the Elmhurst School District, which is great as well.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Police drive around the bigger streets usually. I don't see them often in the smaller streets. Usually takes a few minutes to respond to a situation next to them but overall not that bad. Around my neighborhood not much crime but I know there are some areas that are less safe.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
There are certain sections of town that are less safe than others. If I could do it all over again, I would. It's not my ideal place, but it does have most things that i need. They just need to upgrade a few areas in town.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
In my neighborhood, there is not a lot of crime. When there is crime, the police are quick to respond. The police make an effort to have a positive relationship with the public.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Some businesses are leaving and not very many are moving in. Not a lot of big food options.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Addison is a great place to live. Nothing happens and there is no crime.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I liked to live here, Addison is a nice suburb and it's really safe. There are many things to do and there is a lot of nature.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
There is generally no crime in this neighborhood police answer at a great rate.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
The apartment complexes most of them need good ownership overall. Most houses are a great place to live because it is safe and comfortable to be in.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
The quality of housing is hard to describe in my area because there are areas with some of the nicest houses I've seen in my town and surrounding towns, but there are also areas with some very run down looking apartment complexes. Overall I feel the nice housing areas outnumber the bad housing areas greatly. inside and out, from the homes I have been in, there is always a homey feel. Even if it is the homes of people I would consider strangers. In my entire life living here, I have only ever seen enough abandoned properties to count on one hand. I have seen vacant properties, but they usually fill quickly. I would consider my area of town one of the best to live in as far as housing goes, along with any other category.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 23 2015
The sense of community is very strong in my area. The time the community really comes together most tends to be centered around high school or youth sports programs. most people are familiar with everyone around them and feel as they are a real part of something, rather than just participating in it. In the terrible event that someone is in need financially because of cancer, disease, or any other condition that puts them in a critical state, the community never hesitates to rally around them and support like their own family. It is very rare for people to be moving in and out of the area. Everyone seems to be pretty settled in here without much plan to leave.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 23 2015
The thing about my town is that there is somewhat of a good side of town and another side of town that is a bit riskier to be around, primarily at night. Addison is a very big town. I spend 95% of my time on my side of town, which is an area where I never have to be concerned about crime or my own safety day or night. There are crimes, but there will always be some crime wherever you go, and it is no different than your average suburban community. The police really do take care of this town like their own. They are very concerned for all people in the community. They have a strong presence in our elementary, middle, and high schools, so I have grown up to come to know many of the police officers in my town and always feel that they have my back and will be there whenever i am in trouble. Not once have I ever seen someone be mistreated by the police.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 23 2015
It is hard for me to compare where I live to other places because it is the only home neighborhood and town I have ever known. However, I have always loved and been proud of where I live. I have many fond memories of things that happened all over my town. Some of these memories could even just be wondering the streets with my friends when I was younger. Honestly, I don't know if I would choose to live here again because I love where I live, but I feel as if the only real reason I have such a connection to this place is because of the people I grew up around in this community. It always pleases me to see the young neighborhood kids riding around on their bike, playing football, playing baseball, etc. It gives me a great feeling that these kids are taking advantages of their surroundings and the kids around them in school to make great memories as I did when I was a kid.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 23 2015
This area is very quiet which can be peaceful at times but it can also get pretty boring. We have nearby stores but there are very few activities to do for fun. The roads are bad shape and ignored by the village.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 24 2015
The forest preserve nearby and the parks filled with wildlife make this area unique.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 15 2015
Everything about Addison is great
  • Niche User
  • Nov 2 2015
it was okay because the school districts were all messed up. I was going to a high school 20 minutes away when there was one down the street from me.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 25 2015
The area in which I live in is very calm and it is extremely light on car traffic. Many of the homeowners are now empty nesters and few have moved out. The new families coming have a couple of kids but very quiet overall. There are three parks surrounding my house with in close proximities and one elementary school with in walking distance as well. All in all it a great area for kids and a family but if you in your 20's and looking for more to do you might go to another area.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 24 2015
It would be nice if there was more activities to do or a downtown like atmosphere.
  • Niche User
  • July 20 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Addison Home