Akron
308 reviews
  1. City in Ohio
Back to Akron Home

Reviews

308 reviews
  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    73
  • Average
    165
  • Poor
    47
  • Terrible
    6
People that are from Akron, get it. It's the home of Lebron, the birthplace of the rubber industry, and full of hometown pride. It's unlike any other place!
  • Former Resident
  • 12 hours ago
When first coming to Akron I didn't know what to expect. At first I just saw it as a run down city but living here for four years and currently a senior at the U of A, I actually really like it. Met great friends, travel around a lot to get to know akron more and the state, university is great and most of all I am part of the men's soccer program. Overall, I see a lot of improvement while I was here, it still needs a better nightlife and I needs to be more active at night meaning have more places open later on. I love it here and I see improvement occur and continue to see it as the years go on.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
I was born and raised in Akron. Akron, as well as my single mother, made me who I am today. Akron has taught me how to go for my dreams no matter what happens. Akron has made me strong, independent, determined, so much more. Akron will always have a place in my heart no matter where I am.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 days ago
I love it here! There's plenty to do around this area and I for sure see myself living here for a long time
  • Current Resident
  • 3 days ago
I like the culture and diversity of Akron. It's a smaller city but has a welcome environment downtown. Mostly known LeBron James and is turning into a school town because of the growth of University of Akron. The economy isn't bad, you will find a warehouse or factory job if that interest you. It does have entertainment and a variety of food establishments for you to unwind or spend with family. Also the city is close to other bigger market cities like Cleveland. Which you can enjoy multiple professional sports teams and great sports bars. Akron also is 20 miles away from the Pro Football Hall of Fame. A very unique tourist event where families can actually see heads of the best of the best retired players. Ohio cost of living is estimated to be $50,000 a year which is pretty fair compared to other states.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
I moved to Akron about 8 month ago. It is a nice place to look at as I live in the valley but I have come across some difficulties. I do feel unsafe when I go down town Akron. and I feel that it should be a little bit safer and more up to date.
  • Current Resident
  • 17 days ago
Akron is a upcoming lively neighborhood with a bustling downtown, very peaceful with university of akron in the main hub. Akron is connected to main cities like cleveland. The best thing that came out of akron is Lebron james and we just won the championship nba game!
  • Current Resident
  • 19 days ago
I've lived in Akron my entire life and I think it is a beautiful city. I do not know if I will live in Akron for the rest of my life but for now I am proud to call this city my home.
  • Current Resident
  • 19 days ago
The city of Akron and surrounding area has lots to offer; from the many festivals at lock 3 and surrounding neighborhoods, to the many unique qualities like the Cuyahoga Scenic Railroad, and Don Drum studios.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
This is where I was born and raised. When living in a city you have to decide for yourself if you let things get in your way of becoming a successful person in life. No matter where you turn there will be people trying to bring you down. You have to stay focused on you! Stay on the right path so that you can make your family and friends proud. I graduated from the University of Akron back in 2013 with a degree in Fire Protection. While doing that I worked on getting my EMT-B and working as a Emergency Medical Technician. Now I work at a mental health facility with psych clients. Currently I am working on my nursing degree part-time at Stark State College in Canton, Ohio. I am a young African American father that works full-time and goes to school part-time. I want to be the greatest example my child can lead by.
  • Current Resident
  • 24 days ago
I like how there is more to Akron than it seems. I can walk for hours catching Pokemon and never see the same style of house twice. However, I would love to see more investments and business come to Akron. I feel there is an untapped market here that small or home owned business can flourish and prosper. I have not explored the nightlife yet, and I intend to explore the music and art scene. I feel that Akron is a diverse area, where one can experience many types of people and cultures. I have found that the cost of living is adequate, if a bit on the higher side. I would love to see more healthy options in the local area's, that way the community can be encouraged to live a healthier lifestyle.
  • Current Resident
  • 28 days ago
Akron is close to Cleveland and easy to access from highways. The downtown is nice but there is no large business or industry to draw young professionals to the area.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
My experience of Akron Ohio has been good, being raised in a small town 40 minutes east, this was a big change for me. The area is nice, there is a lot to do and the residents seem to be more active. What i like about the area is the number of parks around, or within a small drive. Being an outdoors enthusiast this made the area more appealing to live in. If you are in the mood for good food there are some good eats downtown. I would have to say my favorite area around Akron would have to be the Highland Square area, it just has an old time feel and gives you a taste of what Akron was back in its hay day. The only bad i have to say about Akron would be some of the neighborhoods especially near the college, although this is to be expected with most inner city areas. All in all i would call my experience of Akron good, of all the traveling I have done Akron is up toward the top of my list of places i have genuinely enjoyed.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Akron is slowly working on becoming a better community for everyone in it including the rich and poor parts of Akron. I would like to see more of the vacant properties to either be sold, torn down and turned into something else to provide for the community.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I live in Akron and I like it. It is cool and affordable place to live. It is a three-time winner of the "All American City" title. It is located in aptly named Summit County. The terrain is beautiful: full of green hills and lush trees. Akron has a decent amount of beautiful attractions as the scenery in some areas. Downtown Akron has been revitalized; it's safe and family-friendly. It is a perfect place for visitors, particularly in the Summer. The winters are cold here though. So, if you hate a cold weather, you might need to change your mind about living here!
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I like the availability of single family home rentals. If you aren't tied down to the campus, you can find a decent rental for a decent price. I am not crazy about the public school options but I've not seen the "danger" some would associate with inner city schools. We live in a pretty quiet campus, within a 5 minute drive of UofA, nightlife, and loads of family activities.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
There is nothing I like about Akron, Ohio. I would like to see more opportunities for residents. Public school system needs major improvement.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Honestly not really sure how I ended up on this site or if It is legit, But the process was extremely easy. I applied for a couple 1,000 dollar scholarships I hope I did it right.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Downtown Akron used to be empty but over the past several years Akron is opening more downtown businesses. They are building and expanding the University of Akron. They are also adding a variety of restaurants and night life. Akron is also adding more downtown family activities. They have ice skating in the winter and other festive activities. Akron has many outdoor walking/biking trails.
  • Former Resident
  • 3 months ago
I actually live here in Akron, OH and what I like is that it is trying to improve on the city and what I would like to see changed is that they need to put back the laws for prayer in schools and change the time from for children to go to school, which is 9:00am to 3:15pm. Also I would like for the laws to changes for the way the children should learn how to have values, morals, and respect towards adults and seniors.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 16
Back to Akron Home