Alabaster
59 reviews
  1. Suburb of Birmingham, AL
Back to Alabaster Home

Reviews

59 reviews
  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    35
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
This community is close and active, hosting several events, City Hall at the hub of it all, that both enrich and cherish community members. One of the most successful and unique traditions in Alabaster is the Farmer's Market on the greens of the City Hall grounds. It has served as a great mixer for citizens, as well as opened the community's eyes to the healthy benefits of homegrown lifestyle. Mayor Handlon extends a warm welcome to all, serving as both a strong and friendly example of the type of citizen all should strive to be.
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
Alabaster is quite and small. It's really family oriented and a nice place to raise your family. The schools are nice and they give a quality education.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Great experience so far! We have been here for a long time and are very involved in the community. Would definitely recommend living here.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Crime is very slim in the neighborhood. Police mostly patrol for people that are speeding or endangering pedestrians rather than people committing more serious crime. I feel very safe walking around and have never had an encounter with someone of a suspicious nature.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
The atmosphere of the neighborhood is great. Everyone is very friendly and polite. The housing market in this area is definitely improving and the houses are well built. I would definitely choose to live here again if I could do it over and I see this neighborhood expanding in the future and becoming one of the city's most populated neighborhoods.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
The Alabaster Police Dept. is excellent. They participate in all community activities. They host a get together in Target parking lot every year. They are very patient with young children and the elderly. Quick to respond, makes for a safe feeling atmosphere. My sister is actually considering law enforcement because of the upstanding manner of our police dept.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Alabaster is a small town with some bigger town amenities. Shopping is convenient. Traffic is manageable and it's close to Birmingham with lots of restaurants and entertainment. Maple Ridge Subdivision has large lots and trees are valued. The people are friendly and enjoy helping each other out at any time. Love it!
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
The housing is great where I live. There are little to no abandoned properties, and the cost of housing is pretty accurate for the amount of house you want.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It is okay. I do not see cops out often.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I like it but I would not choose to live here
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Very little crime in this area and if there is, police are always on top of things.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I love it. It is a small town with great people and just a nice environment to live in.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I know people who have lived here all of their lives. It's a great community.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Other than normal teens messing around I have never felt unsafe.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Maylene is technically Alabaster, but the zip codes are different. I believe niche has overlooked this in their metrics, but nonetheless I grew up in Alabaster and there is a reason we chose it to raise our kids. Homes in our neighborhood do not stay on market long and new ones are being built. Have an excellent hospital in the city, very few on list have this.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
For the money the housing is great.
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
It's a great city and community to live in.
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
There is always going to be crime in any area, but I do feel safe due to local police officers periodically cruising through our neighborhood. Crime has increased slightly, but that is because of a rise in the population. The more people who are in are area, the greater the chance that crime will increase.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I like where I live because it is small enough to know most of the people in my community, but is large enough to have local entertainment and shopping.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The safety is really good in this area! The police are not needed much for crime, but when they are they respond to the call. One time I noticed some suspicious people and they immediately sent a police officer to check the situation out.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
  • 1 of 3
Back to Alabaster Home