Albany
28 reviews
  1. Suburb of San Francisco, CA
Back to Albany Home

Reviews

28 reviews
  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    3
Albany is a great area just north of Berkeley, CA. It is close enough to the UC and freeways to be easily accessible by car and public transportation, but still has a quiet neighborhood feeling.
  • Current Resident
  • 8 days ago
The local police and fire are extremely responsive. Calls to emergency services are responded to in a timely manner.
  • Parent
  • 10 months ago
Albany is a great place to raise a family. The schools are all solid and kids feel safe walking around town.
  • Parent
  • 10 months ago
The housing is pretty diverse, but it is becoming very expensive.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 30 2015
Pretty close community, lots of activities, and there's a seasonal activity book and newsletter.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 30 2015
It's pretty safe, but it is vulnerable to crime and violence like any other city.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 30 2015
I love Albany, but I hate how it is becoming more difficult to live and afford the housing in the Bay Area. I love the weather, the food, the diversity, the open mindedness, but then again, most folks here have egos and live in this little bubble (Bay Area).
  • Niche User
  • Dec 30 2015
Overall this area is a great city to live in. It is very diverse with closed knit small community really brings up the value of lives.
  • Parent
  • Nov 18 2015
Albany is a very cute, small, caring community. I loved my experience here and wouldn't choose anywhere else to grow up. There aren't that many things to do since it is such a small area, but overall it is a very pleasant and safe place to live.
  • Niche User
  • Oct 21 2015
Since I am not at the age to pay taxes, I don't have a big say on this. I just believe the government could spent our money in better ways and could tax the rich a lot more.
  • Niche User
  • May 28 2015
The weather is beautiful here, California is in a drought and small earthquakes are frequent more than any other place. Hopefully we don't have a big one coming up. But other then that the weather is great.
  • Niche User
  • May 28 2015
Since this town is family-oriented there is a lot of food in the area, but not a lot of options for clubs and bars.
  • Niche User
  • May 28 2015
Many people that live in the area, don't work very close to home. So, work is quite far for many residents.
  • Niche User
  • May 28 2015
Many businesses are booming, but there are some businesses that are vacant and could use some work. But most places to shop in my area are great.
  • Niche User
  • May 28 2015
The cost of housing in the East Bay (particularly Albany and Berkeley) is sky-high. The average 2-bedroom in Berkeley right now is $2,500/month. We live in a 3-bedroom and pay approximately $2,000/month for an apartment that is tiny and where things are constantly breaking.

Can't wait to leave California. Not worth the price of living here.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
Can't afford the gyms in the area. Very expensive. Even the Albany YMCA is really expensive (and also very tiny and unattractive. No parking near it.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
Paramedic services are very good in Albany.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
There is a lot of property crime in Albany and bike theft. Lots of people aggressively panhandling at all the markets.

Do not feel very safe walking at night. Several break-in's in University Village where we live.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
The weather in California is easy. My mother is from Buffalo, New York and 8 feet of snow was a usual occurrence during the winter. That's why I call weather.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
Seems impossible to find a job and I've been looking. I am a full-time student at UC Berkeley. I applied repeatedly to Whole Foods Market and didn't even "score" an interview. I am bilingual. That didn't help at all in finding a job.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 12 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Albany Home