Albemarle
12 reviews
  1. Town in North Carolina
Back to Albemarle Home

Reviews

12 reviews
  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
Small town, would like to see more restaurants. They are expanding and offering more shopping with new strip malls.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Albemarle is a wonderful place to live; with things to do like going out on the lake, bowling, skating, going out to eat, or just grilling out with your family.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Crime has pretty much the same but the gang violence isn't as good it only gets worse
  • Parent
  • 11 months ago
My town has gotten worse over time because of the lack of education in the public schools and the crime levels are rising.
  • Parent
  • 11 months ago
We have some beautiful homes in our Community. The housing market is recovering slowly but several homes that were for sale in our neighborhood have sold. I really don't see to many abandoned houses or properties where I live. The cost of homes and utilities are what you make them. Homes range from $80.000 to $400.00 and the utilities are pretty average if you are a good steward when using them. Some folks have wood stoves for heat and water. In the Winter and Summer months the bill does increase. We have very warm Summers and the Winters have been extremely cold in the past years. Our Public Housing is not always safe but is pretty well maintained by the City.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
My Community is small, connected and very close, with families living in the area for 50 to 70 years. Both set of my Grandparents are still living and have lived here all their lives. We have several animal adoption centers and I have even volunteered at Wag Feast events and the Humane Society. I even foster my first dog who soon became part of my family. We have Community Events for everyone. Our local YMCA serves children with daycare, camps and free swimming classes for all third grade classes in our County. We also have a Museums, a Senior Center where the Seniors can exercise, do crafts, play cards, eat lunch or take trips. Our Vineyards are beautiful and several folks use them for Weddings.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
We have issues like any other Community. I feel safe in my home town but we did have a shooting at our local high school and that was very scary. The Dare Office responded immediately and no other kids were involved. Crime is increasing with home/car break-ends, Gang and drug related concerns. Police are always seen on our local roads, High school and Community events.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
I love living in this small town Community. We have a State Park to hike, lakes for swimming, fishing and boating and so many more opportunities, like hunting, a Theater, Community College, Vineyards and a Golf Course. I love riding horses and we have the Fork Stables where the Olympic Equestrian Team attends for time trails and I volunteer. We have all four seasons which is nice and I enjoy experiencing each one. Our local School System is having issues regarding need for academic growth and no new facilities. We recently had new Stores open for shopping and I'm so excited. I no longer have to go out of County to shop some of my favorite Stores. If I had to live anywhere, I would chose my home town again.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
It's a nice and quiet small town, the opportunities are just as small.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 22 2015
There are some good people, there are some bad. Because this is a small Southern town, they aren't all very inviting and welcoming of minority groups. They tend to be rude and will talk about you behind your back. However, there are also some people who are very nice and so not discriminate. It's a 50/50.
  • Niche User
  • July 28 2015
There are good stores here that have everything that you need.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 15 2015
It's a small area so there isn't much job opportunities. Most people work at retail, grocery, companies and fast food. There are jobs such as teachers and government and court jobs.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 15 2015
Back to Albemarle Home