Allen Park
48 reviews
  1. Suburb of Detroit, MI
Back to Allen Park Home

Reviews

48 reviews
  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    17
  • Average
    24
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    0
I enjoy the convened on Baker College and grocery stores close to my home. I love that the neighborhood is quite and clean. The one thing I would change is more trees to be planted to clean the air.
  • Current Resident
  • 9 days ago
Allen Park is a great, easy going place to get a starter home, begin a family, or even lay down roots. Though it may not be a mecca of arts or culture, Allen Park has its own charms and keeps drawing people into its quaint festivals and fairs.
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
I love my town. It's a quiet neighborhood with a good school district and very accomidating and resourceful neighbors. I've lived here for 3 years with my husband and it still my favorite place.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Allen Park is a small town, but its full of fun. It has clean streets and lots of parks. New restaurants have been popping up recently including Griffs Pub and Luke & Lulu's, both are amazingly delicious. The community center has a nice little fitness center and hosts lots of classes and community events. I've lived in several different communities over the years but Allen Park is by far the safest and friendliest.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
It's pretty nice. My street is especially aesthetic in the fall because we have a lot of trees that change color. Unfortunately, like so many places in Michigan, we have a lot of potholes in the area. Also, on M39 in Allen Park, the police seem to act like giving tickets on its freeway is their only source of income. The thing is, they seem to pull people over that go 2mph over the speed limit when they should really focus on the people who constantly switch lanes often without even indicating.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
The crime, in my opinion, for this area is very low. If there is crime the police get there in a decent amount of time. There's never really a problem with too much crime
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Depending on the area you live in, Allen park can be a great city. The school system is very good and the safety is well. Police respond fairly quickly as well as fire.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
You don't see to many abandoned buildings in the area, if you do they aren't an eyesore and usually go unnoticed. I would say over the years the neighborhood has stayed quite the same, many younger couples moving in the area to start their families, which is nice to see. This would mostly be due to the decent housing prices in the area.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 21 2015
Overall, it gives a warm sense of community many friendly faces as you are passing by, even walking around the block people will often stop and chit-chat for awhile. People tend to stay for a long time especially raising families in the area, it has great choices for education whether it be public or private, and it is close enough to expressways to make driving towards the larger universities easy. The events leave something to be desired, but being a smaller community this is to be expected, there are farm markets and the annual craft show which draws quite a bit of attention.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 21 2015
It happens, but resolved quickly and quitely
  • Niche User
  • Dec 21 2015
Pretty decent area to grow up in, safe and secure.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 21 2015
This city is a very average place to live. While there are things to do, it does stay quiet. Not many activities happening but there are many exciting things nearby.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 7 2015
This is a very good area to live in to raise a family. Small town with lots access to daily needs. Very good school district and excellent teachers. The area is a desired area for many young new couples and a lot of community involvement.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 3 2015
This city is a great place to live. The best thing is the sense of community and how people come together here. The schools here are a great place to go and have a welcoming atmosphere for everyone.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 4 2015
The general atmosphere of this area in terms of community is amazing; neighbors, classmates, etc. are like family because of how nice people are. However, there's really not much to do except for seasonal events and the like. Plus, I've heard of more crimes around the area.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 23 2015
The area is definitely beginning to boom as far as new businesses and opportunities. If I preferred to live in a city, this is where I would stay; although, I am more inclined to live in an area more spaceous and eco-friendly.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 3 2015
The area in general is an older middle class community. It is a zero growth city because there is no room for any new development.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 2 2015
I've lived in nicer places, but I've also lived in worse. The block in which I'm living isn't too bad. There's lots of shopping relatively close by, and there's a decent variety of food. Lately crime in this area has gone up, however, the PD is doing a pretty good job of making arrests.
  • Niche User
  • July 29 2015
I really am not into politics. They all lie and are corrupt
  • Parent
  • Apr 23 2015
The area is fairly clean and pretty. Could use some sprucing up.
  • Parent
  • Apr 23 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Allen Park Home