Allendale
42 reviews
  1. Suburb of Grand Rapids, MI
Back to Allendale Home

Reviews

42 reviews
  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
Allendale is a small college town west of Grand Rapids, MI. I like that it is not too far away from a metropolitan area and that it is rich with college life! I would like to see more mainstream restaurants and bars open in the Allendale area like Buffalo Wild Wings and bigger bar venues to handle more traffic for social gatherings!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Rarely do I hear about crime because it is a well kept area.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The atmosphere is extremely friendly to the point of me never feeling unsafe any time of day. I would want to live here for a vast number of years if possible.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I've never had an issue or heard of any major issues with crime in this area, police seem to be abundant and ready to help if necessary.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
This area has a wonderful atmosphere, I would plan to live here again if I could do it all over again and I would like to continue living here in my future. With the beach only 20 minutes away and the wonderful downtown atmosphere also only 20 minutes away, you get the best of both worlds.The future in this area is just going to improve it's atmosphere.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
There's barely any crime in Allendale.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I don't mind leaving in Allendale, there's not a lot to do because there aren't very many businesses and restaurants. The nice thing about Allendale is its close to everything and their are some nice parks
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
There are crimes but I feel safe inside the GV campus.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
There isn't much in Allendale except for Grand Valley. The good thing is that Grand Rapids is not far as well as Rivertown.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I love living in Allendale. The university I attend is beautiful and perfect for me. Overall the quality of the area is great, it's kept up nicely, the people are friendly, and it's simply a great environment.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
There are times of concern but overall okay. Forces are easily accessible.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The community is small but I can't imagine being anywhere else at the moment. It is easy to navigate and get around with public transportation. Close community is key.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I have never seen an arrest or a crime committed in the Allendale area.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
There are a lot of useful businesses in the area. There are many gas stations, stores, fast food, an restaurants in the nearby area. The mobile home park in which I live, is in need of repair and better maintenance.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
I really have no concerns.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 11 2016
the prices to rent a house are very affordable, however, the quality is low
  • Niche User
  • Jan 3 2016
People are very nice and they are willing to help you if you ask for help
  • Niche User
  • Jan 3 2016
I think it is a safe area and people are usually helpful
  • Niche User
  • Jan 3 2016
I really like living here because people are very nice and the environment is great.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 3 2016
I love where I live. It's like any other small town, there's some gossip and drama, and untrustworthy, people. That's where the averageness comes in, but overall, it's a good town. There's not a whole lot to do here but almost all the surrounding counties have anything you could think of within 20 to 30 minutes. My apartment is great, the area is nice looking, and I have my friends and family around. I think some people around here need to work on their friendliness and caring for others skills,' but there are many that I have encountered that go above and beyond with these. The community isn't perfect, but it's definitely better than some. I lived all my teenage years in Allendale and I wouldn't want to go back and change it. Allendale schools are great and offer a lot. I loved my high school class schedule every year, and I never had a problem with any of my teachers, except for one substitute my freshman year. I'd say compared to everywhere else in the country, my town is doing pretty good.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 23 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Allendale Home