Altadena
68 reviews
  1. Suburb of Los Angeles, CA
Back to Altadena Home

Reviews

68 reviews
  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    35
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    0
Excellent community, clean, safe and quiet. Good schools grocery stores nearby good police protection.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 days ago
Altadena is the perfect combination of small town feel but being close enough to Los Angeles to be able to enjoy city bustle and opportunities as we as more peaceful town life, as well as access to hiking and even the occasional wildlife (bears and coyotes!). I also appreciate the diverse nature of the community.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Altadena is a beautiful subset of Los Angeles that is far enough away from the city yet close enough to experience the best of both worlds. Altadena's landscape is lush and mature and is an ideal setting for families who like the quiet lust of nature. Affordable homes for the working class are limited though, as it seems the price of peace and quiet is only meant for the rich.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 2 months ago
I live in a more favorable section of Altadena so I tend not to have any problems with safety. There is a sheriff's station two blocks away so while I may hear sirens from time to time, they are rarely ever coming towards my area.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
I thoroughly enjoy living in Altadena. It is separate from the hustle and bustle of downtown Pasadena, but it is still very accessible to the surrounding cities in the greater Los Angeles area. I have lived her for about 8 years and it has been a great place to grow up.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
There are some areas that are not as well kept.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Great location. Far enough out of the city in the mountains but close enough to drive to the city easily.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Small crimes like neighborhood kids smashing car windows a few times. Neighbors smoke pot, don't know if it's legal. Not much to say beyond that. Pretty safe area.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
sense of safety may be to high
  • Parent
  • 8 months ago
Was broken into once, then never happened again!
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
When we first moved her, we were iffy about the neighborhood. However, the street we live on is great!
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I have never personally experienced or witnessed any crimes in this area. I have heard helicopters at night, and have seen a squad car at a neighbors.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I loved living in Altadena. I would prefer the city of LA, but Altadena is a beautiful middle-class area to live in.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I love living in Pasadena. There are always so many things to do and there are so many places nearby (such as the beach and mountains) that traveling there is easy. Furthermore, even though it is heavily populated, the city is still beautiful. It is reasonably close to Los Angeles, but still far away enough to avoid all of that traffic.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Crime in the area I live in has never really been a problem which I am very glad of. The few times there has been any crimes around police are somewhat quick to come and help. In the times I am outside of my house I see several cops driving by and this gives me a sense of safety. I feel like having them around often is the reason crimes in this area have decreased over time.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I feel that the area I live has gotten better than it's been before. Before there were a lot of accidents and police on my street but things have really calmed down lately. Everyone I live around is always minding their own business and is rarely disrupting ones peace except when there might be parties. I do feel that the area I live in is better than other areas in my city which makes me feel safe. I hope this area will continue to grow stronger for the people living here in the future.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
In the past years I've lived in this area, i have only seen one street fight in this neighborhood. In my opinion their ids no crime whats so ever.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
This area is very calm and suitable for anyone looking for a well establishing home in a urban area. However, some neighbors aren't the best at keeping our surrounding air free of smoke. The area is clean by means of garbage and their is low crime in many areas. Parking space becomes a issue in my specific block due to the weekly visits by nearby residents to a small church in located in the center of the block. If anything, it a good place to live.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The area is a nice quiet rural area. The atmosphere is great. Everyone is very friendly. I would definitely choose to live here again. The weather is great and it is so close to the mountains. It is a great place for a family. I would rank this area number 2 in the country. It's a perfect environment but not as social as L.A.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 17 2015
Great area to live, good food, lots of activities. Pretty good schools . I enjoy living in this area, in the future it probably will be a lot more great things added to improve the area.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 15 2015
  • 1 of 4
Back to Altadena Home