Alton
30 reviews
  1. Suburb in Illinois
Back to Alton Home

Reviews

30 reviews
  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    22
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
I have lived here my whole life and I love it. One thing we need are more jobs and more things for our youth to do. One thing that I would like to see is a rec center, a skating rink, an arcade, or some kind of after school activities for children.
  • Current Resident
  • 12 days ago
It's not too large or too small. You don't have to worry about crowded places but it also has a lot of restaurants, stores, and things to do.
  • Current Resident
  • 22 days ago
Alton isn't the best of towns but its a great little town only about 30 minutes outside of St. Louis, Missouri.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I would like to see more diversity in Alton. I would also like the school system to be better than it currently is. The lunch menu is so very unhealthy for the students, there isn't time in between classes to get a drink at the water fountain or use the restroom, and teachers will not let kids leave mid-class to do this. It's ridiculous and unhealthy. If they are trying to thwart bullying, then they need to employee hall monitors instead of damaging children's bladder's by having to hold it all day long. There have been numerous bomb threats at the school as well. I'm just glad my child will be graduating soon.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
It's not like Chicago, but it's also not like places where everyone gets along so well.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
I've lived here my entire life. I don't really know another home like Alton, but I plan on moving away.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
There is drug activity as well as prostitution in certain areas, however in this messed up world those sorts of things exist all around us, even when it's not blatant, unfortunately, blatant drug dealing and prostitution here in town happens mostly in the less desirable areas where the city is not so quick to turn their attention to beautifying those neighborhoods. Crime is low here and that's great for our youth as well as the elderly, everyone in fact. It's really not a bad place to be all-in-all.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
Alton is a decent town to raise a family. It's a town where everyone comes across people they know when they're out running errands. There are a lot of nice areas, areas that have been restored to their historical values. Alton is really trying to keep it's main roads are presentable but one thing I dislike is that the city neglects the care of the inner city (ie. street maintenance etc). The city has been putting a lot of money into adding more businesses and is currently adding a transit system which will prove to be extremely helpful. It will link Alton to other cities on a more direct route and at a faster speed. As I mentioned, St. Louis is very close. That is another great thing about living here. It is not too small, not too large and the city is close enough to be conveniently available if bigger shopping trips or entertainment is desired. One downfall is that while violence seems to be fairly low here, drug activity seems to be common and in certain spots where that activity exists there is prostitution. That doesn't define our city though. Overall I like Alton. We have a saying, "Once you've been to Alton you always come back." Something like that ... I was born and raised in the house across the street, have moved a few times, and here I am, living in Alton again. It's my home again, for now.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
There are a lot of places that are abandoned and the homeless usually stay there for the winters
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I think this area will slowly grow as the years go by
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The parks are about what one would expect going to any parks. They are clean-ish, and of course, they are dog-friendly, but many owners do not clean up after their dogs, so that adds to the unclean part.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
There are crimes that happen, and when they do happen, the police become involved, though the police sometimes miss the smaller crimes. When it is noticeable, the police jump on it.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
Since I live in the Midwest, the weather is not really that much of a problem, considering it is cold in the winter, with the occasional snow storm, and rainy in the summer, with the occasional thunderstorm, which can flood the nearby Mississippi. It just depends on the weather around the area at the time. It can be pretty much anything, there have even been known to be tornadoes around this area.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
The amount of restaurants and bars here is quite phenomenal. It ranges from special restaurants and bars like Fast Eddies, to popular places like Applebees and Golden Chorale.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
I have heard a mixed review of different employers from many different people. Some are bad, some are good, it just depends. Where I live, most people travel to St. Louis for their jobs, we live right across the river.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
There are a wide variety of stores here from local family owned stores, to largely owned franchises like Wal-Mart and Target. In all cases the stores perform their required services excellently and generally without problems.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
Lots of people are minimum wage and work at stores for a living.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 10 2015
It has a lot of variety of stores for a shopper to choose from. And if they can't find anything, they can always go online to get whatever they need or want.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 10 2015
Being on the Mississippi River, this city is used to being prepared for floods and it's rarely an issue here. Winters here can be cold, there is usually on big snow/freeze, but the streets are usually cleaned pretty well and driving is rarely a hazard. Summers can also get humid, but overall weather ranges quite nicely and you get a taste of everything.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 14 2014
Housing is pretty average. You have the option of living in older housing or living in brand new subdivisions. It's pretty diverse from large, expensive houses to smaller, less expensive residences.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 14 2014
  • 1 of 2
Back to Alton Home