Altoona
84 reviews
  1. Town in Pennsylvania
Back to Altoona Home

Reviews

84 reviews
  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    43
  • Poor
    10
  • Terrible
    3
Altoona offers many different restaurants and shopping areas. Penn State campus and YTI Career Institute are located here to offer continuing education.
  • Works Here
  • 19 days ago
Altoona, Pa is a fairly clean city. It is family friendly and diverse. However, more economic development could make the city much better.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I have lived in Altoona my whole life and love everything about the town. It is large enough to make you feel important, yet small enough to not have you get lost. I would like to see more for the younger generation be done, so there is more to do and more families want to come into Altoona.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Terrible terrible small and ghetto town. Not safe and boring. Central PA considers this place a city but it has nothing but addicts and trashy people.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I love the people here in Altoona its a great place to live their are some off the most amazing people here in Altoona Altoona is such a Safe and Family Friendly Community
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Altoona is a small town rich in history from the world renowned horseshoe curve to the locally famous Mishler Theatre. Altoona is a town built by the railroad and its true blue-collar red blooded Americans. It is definitely a town to be proud of and I am glad to call it home.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I was born and raised in Altoona. I moved away for about 4 years, but I missed my family and moved back. I would like it more if the crime rate and neighborhoods weren't so bad here.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Altoona in one word: Oh. It is not terrible, but it is not the best, but it is below the middle. Could be worse though; it could be Johnstown.
  • Visitor
  • 3 months ago
I grew up in Altoona pa. It has lost if potential but I think it's going down hill. The job opportunities are good here because it's centered and surrounded by lots of small towns. There is a drug problem here that I wish they would get under control.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Altoona is a very nicely sized city. Most of the people in the neighborhoods and town are friendly and very willing to help at any time. The only downfalls I would say is that the hospital is not good, and that if one road is closed due to construction, it takes much longer to use another detour.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Altoona has a lot of railroad history and is a great trip for rail fans. But the rest of the city leaves a lot to be desired. Depressed homes and empty storefronts make it a sad place to visit.
  • Former Resident
  • 4 months ago
Police can be more visible. And arrive in a timely matter.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Every city has it's need for improvement.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Like every city now, the crime is increasing. This is not the worst area for crime, but drugs and now gun violence is rising. It seems as if the police are really keeping up with it though.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
This area is not too bad to live. If I were someone who moved here from a smaller area, I might enjoy it more. I have lived here my whole life and I feel as if this area is not moving along at the rate it should be compared to bigger cities.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Crime is not horrible. It does occur. Lately, the safety is decreasing and it is becoming scary. We now have to protect ourselves and our children.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Altoona is a big city but is not at the same time. It is full of restaurants and car lots. It is equally divided by the number of people who have jobs and those who do not. It used to be so much safer and there where more things to do. Now it is kinda where I just call home.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
There isn't really too much major crimes that occur in my area. Most of the police work seems to be trying to limit drug problems, and trying to keep the roads safe. The police catch a lot of people speeding and driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol. Police are always visible and always respond quickly to crime.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I don't mind the area that I live in as of now. There isn't really too much to do but I usually stay busy with sports and a part time job. If I could start all over, I would probably choose to live somewhere more westernized and less of an urbanized setting. I enjoy the idea of living outside of town since I usually spend most of my time outside fishing. I don't see this area changing too much other than a new restaurant here and there and a few new businesses.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Police and area officials do a good job of keeping order and peace.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Altoona Home