Ames
202 reviews
  1. Town in Iowa
Back to Ames Home

Reviews

202 reviews
  • Excellent
    28
  • Very Good
    101
  • Average
    67
  • Poor
    6
  • Terrible
    0
I'm an international student in ISU. Ames is a very good place to live but I would not recommend it for international students.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
Ames has a low cost of living here and a very low crime rate. Being a college town in a low diversity state, the ethnic diversity purely comes from international students and minority students though. There isnt much problems here besides the fact that Ames doesnt seem to have anything interesting here besides Iowa State University being located here. The traffic here is pretty low compared to other places and its a quiet place to live.
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
When I first moved to Ames, Iowa four years ago to attend Iowa State University, I knew very little about the city. But over the years, Ames has become more than just the city in which I reside-this is the place I call home. The area surrounding the university has its own typical college town vibe, but the locals are what makes this city truly unique. Despite the size of the city, Ames residents have formed a close knit community similar to those you might find in a small town. This is a community where everyone is welcome, no matter how different a person may be. In Ames, there are no such thing as strangers. Just a new friend to be made.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Ames is a quiet town with lots of eye-pleasing greens. My college Iowa State University is also located here, more than half of the residents of the town are actually ISU students and staff members. Personally, I think living here is relaxed and comfortable. Plus, Iowa State University makes this town special, because whenever there's a football game or any big events happening, Ames becomes so popular and lively. People in neighborhoods are cordial and kind, I really like studying and living here, this town is filled with delightfulness.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
It's a good blend of a college town and family housing. The scenery is varied, including large parks, some farmsteads, tree stands and patches of woods and prairie. Ames is one of the most connected cities in Iowa in terms of paths and trails. We have great educational programs that are striving for hands on learning. We also have plenty of local flavor and people are proud of the local scene and products. I myself work at a one-of-a-kind natural, contemporary grocery store that keeps in touch with the local culture. It really is a great place to raise kids.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Great experience living in this fun little town that each days is expanding. When I first moved to Ames it was a little town that expanded into a University town and eventually into a city.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Getting in and out of Ames is a hassle. Traffic is always congested. Night life and bar scene, however, are a blast. Drinks are almost always extremely cheap and there are lots of college events to keep students involved and busy. There are also lots of cute coffee shops and delicious restaurants to choose from.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I just came to Ames a month ago. There're so many fun activities in this town. People watch football games every weekend so the town is always crowded. Also there're many events that I'm interested to participate
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
I hear police, ambulance, and fire truck alarms all the time but have not experienced any troubles myself.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I love living here. The town is fantastic, quality here is amazing, and it has a great general feel.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
My apartment is amazing, but I do wish it was a little cheaper.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The community is very pet friendly but I wish pets were allowed in my apartment complex.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Iowa State University offers SafeRide which will pick you up and take you to your house if you do not feel safe walking there by yourself. SafeRide does not go to my apartment complex, so I think they need to work on expanding their borders since my apartment is only a couple miles away from campus.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
There are a lot of new apartments, stores, and restaurants being built or renovated. In the future, I can see more people and greater diversity coming to this area.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I feel a great sense of community in Ames even though I've only been here for a short time so far.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The crime rate in Ames is extremely low and I have never felt more safe in an area than I do now. It"s very quiet and serene where I live.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
This is my first time ever seeing and actually living in Iowa due to a college move. I absolutely love it! The people here are so much more friendly than what I'm used to and Iowa State University is one of the most beautiful campuses I've ever seen!
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The police are pretty on top of any calls, I haven't really needed to use them much. The one annoying thing is the parking tickets. Watch out, they get you out of nowhere.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Honestly I love this town. I would love to raise a family here in the future, however, I do think that it is getting overcrowded with some of the college students. I wish that the college would stop letting them in and set a limit.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I would be careful where you live. Seems to be a lot of judgmental people.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 11
Back to Ames Home