Anchorage
49 reviews
  1. City in Alaska
Back to Anchorage Home

Reviews

49 reviews
  • Excellent
    19
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
Winters can be harsh, but the scenery is always beautiful. The wildlife is pretty abundant, at least on the outskirts of town, sometimes an occasional moose will be on the highway. The downtown area is decent sized with a decent mall and shopping centers available for whatever your heart desires. Recreational marijuana dispensaries are becoming more popular as well.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Anchorage is home to the most accepting crowd of people you could ever imagine. Alaskan people are friendly and helpful, especially if you find yourself broken down on the side of the road in the dead of winter. Tourist season is amazing to watch, as an Alaskan myself. People are taken back by the mountain view at Cook Inlet, and of Mt. Susitna. Mt Susitna is also known as The Sleeping Lady; the legend states that a native giant laid down to rest until her lover came back from war, to this day she rests in her spot, changing with the season and waiting for her love. I feel that everyone should visit Anchorage, Alaska at least once.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
What I like about Anchorage is that, it is a small city with a lot of great/ awesome people that would go out of their to help others. More importantly it is a city for its community not for whats best for the city but it is for the community wants and needs.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
I like the fact that this is a very multi-cultural city. There is a lot of wild life in almost every yard.
  • Current Resident
  • 10 days ago
Anchorage is a beautiful city. I was born and raised here and moved away when I was 18 years old and missed it so much I moved back 8 years later and never plan on leaving again. There is a lot of places to go shopping and the local cuisine is amazing.
  • Current Resident
  • 13 days ago
It's a little bit Chilly in our town, but absolutely beautiful. There is much to do in the outdoors, and the winter sports are phenomenal.
  • Current Resident
  • 17 days ago
I love the refreshing scenery of Alaska. In every direction, there's beauty to take in and the fresh, crisp air is wonderful. If I could change one thing about the city, it would be to widen the narrow, two-lane highway to help the morning and evening traffic.
  • Current Resident
  • 17 days ago
This is the biggest city in Alaska, but it definitely has a small-town feel. Everyone knows everyone somehow. Lived here for over 10 years, you really have to be good at networking.
  • Current Resident
  • 18 days ago
In Anchorage, I can drive 20 minutes in any direction and be surrounded by the endless beauty of Alaskan nature. The Summer days are long, bright and blanketed by the sun 24 hours a day. Providing many family and vacation opportunities. I love going camping, sitting by a campfire at 2 am and being able to look up at a faintly blue/pink sky. In the Winter months, the days are short, with sunset beginning as early as 3:30 in the afternoon. These days are dark but this is made up by the cold frost that wraps around the trees creating a glistening, white picture of Winter.
One complaint that I have about Anchorage, is the increase in crime rates. On the cold, dark evenings, I do not always feel safe walking alone. Rent is extremely high in Anchorage and therefore, one may have to compromise safety for affordability. As a college student, I have a limited income. I have been fortunate to find a safe rental, however I must pay high rental rates, proportionally.
  • Current Resident
  • 19 days ago
Love Alaska. First when i stepped in here fall in love with the nature and heavenly beauty of it. Friendly people, everything is close by, less traffic. Best thing is the summer (Fishing, hiking, camping ect.). Love my UAA campus . Professors are amazing; always eager to help.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 days ago
Anchorage is the largest city in Alaska. There are several mountains, trails and area that you can enjoy outside. The bike trails are always filled with friendly people and wildlife. The inlet is a short drive from wherever you are. There is an established military community as well. There are several new restaurants both local and franchise. The best local ones are downtown.
  • Current Resident
  • 25 days ago
I am so HAPPY to have moved back last November from Georgia. I truly missed everything about this city. what i love most about this place is all the small and local business, restaurants and areas to go to. Anchorage sometimes feel like our small little secret kept away from world. We are finally are getting chains and business states have had for years, i love seeing this city grow and expand. we are better our community with having to give up all the things we love about it
  • Current Resident
  • 26 days ago
Anchorage is a nice town to live in. It provides the opportunity for people to learn about the native cultures and the local life. Some of my favorite activities are to volunteer for many business and organizations, go hiking, fishing, and even four-wheeling. Alaska has a beauty that no other place has. You have the ocean on one side and mountains on the other. I love to go hunting, and this is one of the best places to fulfill your hunting needs, wildlife is always right outside your home and it is very interesting. The school systems here in town are good, but you have to adapt to the constant changes that are made. Overall I would never move from Alaska, so much fun and new experiences everyday.
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
Anchorage is a very clear city, with a lot of outdoor experience. People in Anchorage are very nice and I can see a big difference between them and lower 48's people. The nature of Alaska is amazing, I can see a moose or bear every day and I don't even need to go outside for that. How amazing is it?
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Anchorage is the coolest little big city in the great state of Alaska we have moose and bears and awesome college
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Anchorage, AK is beautiful; however, the amount of homeless people the community has is beyond a pandemic. You will see people sleeping in the grass on the side of the road, because it's convenient. This isn't just one patch of grass either. The soup kitchens are overflowing and the amount of homeless teens that have no where to go is outrageous. I would love to find out they are really--really--trying to solve this pandemic.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
It's great place to be and grow up but you have to like the outdoors to enjoy the full Alaskan experience!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Personally, and after living in Anchorage since 2001, I feel that Anchorage is an expensive place to live in terms of real estate and cost of living. Not to mention the difficulty with finding a job that is not entry level retail, fast food, or unskilled labor. Also, there have been alarming spikes in crime in recent years, so safety is not all that great. Public schools are so-so, the nightlife is relatively bland compared to other cities, commute time is a hassle as far as public transport goes, heathly living is a hit or miss depending on how outdoorsy you are. The one thing Anchorage does have going for it is diversity, as all kinds of people live and work in Anchorage who have come from all over the world.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I would like to see more money put into the public school program. I've really enjoyed going to college here in Anchorage. I'm a senior at University of Alaska Anchorage. The one thing I'm bummed about is the lack of resources for undergraduate students applying to graduate schools.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Anchorage is a wonderful place to live, especially if you love the snow. I have lived here most of my life and I doubt I will ever leave. Anchorage is what I like to call a big small town. Though it's not really a small town (it's actually the biggest city in Alaska), it feels as though everyone is connected to everyone some way or another. I am constantly running into old classmates, coworkers, and family friends when I go to the store or go shopping. People are very nice and will stick up for you even if you do not know them. It's such a diverse community, there are many people of different ethnicities, cultures, and religions, Anchorage is like no other city. Over the last few years though, crime has been increasing and the snow fall has been decreasing. The last two winters have been very mild; we even had to get snow shipped to the city from the north for the annual Iditarod.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 3
Back to Anchorage Home