Ann Arbor
207 reviews
  1. City in Michigan
Back to Ann Arbor Home

Reviews

207 reviews
  • Excellent
    42
  • Very Good
    104
  • Average
    60
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    0
Ann Arbor is an incredible melting pot of cultures, ethnicities, interests, and lifestyles. Being located surrounding the University of Michigan, the town in vibrant with student activism. However, it is also home to many families and young professionals. The inclusive and friendly nature of the town charms any visitor.

Traffic can be heavy, especially on football Saturdays; but the positive energy of Ann Arbor makes up for any lost time in traffic!
  • Current Resident
  • 23 hours ago
Ann Arbor has a small Midwestern town feel with all the cultural and educational amenities of a world class university. In the performing arts alone, the town attracts the best world class artists in every genre, and there are lectures, symposia, amazing college sports, and fantastic shopping and dining as well!
  • Former Resident
  • 10 days ago
Ann Arbor is one of the best cities in the country. They have a great university in the University of Michigan here which boasts one of the best universities in the country. Ann Arbor is very diverse full of great and friendly people. I wouldn't really change anything about Ann Arbor, it is just a great city overall.
  • Current Resident
  • 10 days ago
I love the environment most in Ann Arbor, how there is always an open park to enjoy. I live close to the Arboretum, Nichols Botanic Garden, and every chance I have, I visit with my dog and meet new people walking their pets. I appreciate the openness and diversity of the city. I especially relish downtown, and the mini shops, especially the book stores. My absolute favorite part of living in Ann Arbor is the support of the University of Michigan, and how all of the people in the community are very distinguished and determined to support their home team.
  • Current Resident
  • 12 days ago
I have been living in Ann Arbor for more than a year now. I have had a pretty good experience so far. Cozy town, good public transportation, a lot of schools, a lot of job opportunities, etc.
  • Current Resident
  • 19 days ago
Ann Arbor was a great place to grow up as a kid. There was lots of access to cultural and sports venues and activities. The town was accessible by bus and for a kid that meant learning to be independent in a safe way early in life. The public schools are great and almost all are walkable so you felt like it was a neighborhood school.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 days ago
I like the atmosphere around Ann Arbor. The people and the food are great in Ann Arbor. Ann Arbor is a small city that feels big!
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I love the city, the university provide many free things to do.the only down fall is that there nothing to do if you don't like academic slanted activities and the winter are fairly cold.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
This is a great place to live if you have a good income, otherwise it's a struggle to get affordable housing. This is made more difficult by competing with students going to the University of Michigan. Events and nightlife are lacking too, but it has good restaurants and lots of parks and recreational areas for outdoor activities. The best part about Ann Arbor is it's diversity and how liberal it is.
  • Works Here
  • 1 month ago
Ann Arbor is a richly diverse place to live. There are plenty of community events going on. Art festivals and guilds. Community Theater and singing community to name a few. There is also something to do from the obscure like a hidden emo nightlife bar. To having a regular night out at a club. Want to learn how to dance its simple you can sign up at a dance academy, or take a free lesson from a local group of people. Tired of the city well the university of Michigan has their massive botanical gardens on the main campus which are their indoor location, or east of Ann Arbor on the outskirts is there massive outdoor gardens full of the rich variety of plants and flowers. interested in craft beers and good food? the blue tractor is a good stop to it has a great atmosphere and food. There is never a dull moment in Ann Arbor.
  • Visitor
  • 2 months ago
Very expensive area to live in, job market is good if you're in a profession with a degree. harder if you're a student looking for good part time work.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I was born in Ann Arbor and lived there for the first few years of my life. Overall, it was a good experience and I've enjoyed visiting since.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
Ann Arbor is a very big city with many things offered including restaurants, malls, several high schools, and a top school of choice, University of Michigan. In the summer time you can find people walking and congregation the streets. There are many thing you can participate in such as the art fair and hash bash! Working in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor, it can be frustrating and clustered but during the month of December sitting at a red light if you just take a second and look, you see much more then just buildings. You will see a community, a family-based city that all have one thing in common; maize and blue! You will see the beauty in the white tipped trees that vine down the streets and white lights brightening up the whole city. Ann Arbor isn't just a big city full of people and buildings, it's home.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Lots of things to do whether you are a child (public library), teenager (skate park), college freshman (football games), young professional (cafe felix), parent (jungle java), or grandparent (Nichols Arboretum).
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I love it here, there is much diversity and different cultures here. The downtown is lovely and has a wide range of activities that you can do and there are fairy houses that you can discover! There's an environment friendly mindset here too, so that's a plus.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Ann Arbor is one of my favorite cities in Michigan. What I like the most about Ann Arbor is how high people's spirits are here. When you go to a local business, the warm welcoming and interaction you receive is unlike any other city I've encountered. People here care about their well-being and health. This is reflected through the business's, local events, celebrations, gatherings centered around meditation and spiritually uplifting practices as well as healthy food business's such as Ann Arbor's People's Food Co-op. I love this city for the active downtown life as well as the many nature spots available. I've grown to be connected to an amazing community of people here and I am grateful every day I have the privilege of living in Ann Arbor!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
My experience in Ann Arbor has been picturesque. I have been living here for 11 months now. I couldn't ask for a better city to live in. Living by the biggest sports stadium in the nation has been pure bliss. Having two universities close by is also a benefit; the University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan Univeristy. This city is youthful, energetic, and full of opportunities. Notorious for being a "hippie city" so you won't have a hard time finding a local food co-op, yoga studios, spiritual gatherings, and much more! Oh and I can't forget that were well-known for being eco-friendly.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Ann Arbor is a truly special place. I have lived here for seventeen years, and it has become such an integral part of my life. I can't imagine not being able to roam the adorable cobblestone streets of Kerrytown, or walk down bustling Main Street, or cheer on the Wolverines, or stroll through the Matthaei Botanical gardens, or listen to the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra in the Michigan Theater, or go for a Saturday run through the Arb, or gaze at the amazing pieces at the Ann Arbor Art Fair. This city is such a hub of diversity and spirit, and I wouldn't want to live anywhere else!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
It is a wonderful community. Boasting some of the best cultural opportunities there are. World class, music, food, sports, theater. You will love the Summer Festival, the Ark, the Shakespeare in the Arb. That is just the short list. The taxes are high. But the schools & parks are fantastic. The town is getting to have more of a traffic problem. But if you live in town the bus system is wonderful, and close enough you can always bike.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Ann Arbor is a great place as far as community and culture. The only drawback is that it's very isolated from the outside world politically and doesn't seem to understand that.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 11
Back to Ann Arbor Home