Ansonia
23 reviews
  1. Suburb of New Haven, CT
Back to Ansonia Home

Reviews

23 reviews
  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    0
Ansonia is a very diverse community. They are continuously finding new ways to increase the quality of life and improve the sense of community.
  • Current Resident
  • 10 days ago
Right near everything I need. Transit fares are going up 50 cents as of 12/4/16, and also Medicaid payments will be downside risked in a few years. This means that rather than the state pay the full amount, the doctor takes whatever Medicaid provides and loses the rest. There will be less doctors to get healthcare from for Medicaid beneficiaries within in the next few years. Very walkable, but getting more expensive to live in CT.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Crime is not a major concern here. The small town is still full of law abiding residents. You can feel safe at night and some of us still leave our doors unlocked. Times are changing but it has not become an inner city type of atmosphere. This is not due to great police work. The men who protect and serve are merely cops who patrol the area and probably would not be effective if any real crime happens. There is not much major crime here but the acts that are committed do not get solved unless there is crystal clear evidence. Murders go unsolved because the force here is just not skilled or trained for anything that is larger than petty. It becomes frustrating to know the officers who ride around the area stopping small infractions would not be helping or taking charge if anything really tragic were to breakout.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Ansonia is a small town. The "hilltop" is the better part of the city but multiple family's are starting to rent one family homes which tend to get run down and blight takes over. Times are changing for the worse in our area due to owners selling to landlords who don't live nearby or care to take care of the property. School systems are getting worse because low income and special education are the becoming the majority and we do not have funds to support the services. This town used to be quiet, close knit and generally a perfect place to raise a family. All income levels were supported together. That is slowly changing and low income households and failing commercial businesses are turning this small town into a struggling community. Still enjoy living here and for the most part comfortable and not wanting for anything but the future does not look bright.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Not too bad compared to larger cities around us.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I like my town since it is where i grew up, my family, friends, and memories are here.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
It's a small town that used to be a factory town. There's not much to do locally and because of that, I feel that the crime level is up. It has potential but no one to make it happen.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 21 2015
I cannot say that this area is the best area to live in, because it is not. However, it is most definitely not the worst and all areas will have their own negative attributes. There is very little for the teenage to young adult age group to do in this town as well as surrounding towns. The school system and it's funding is a little less than average. The jobs in this area are mostly dead end minimum wage jobs.The upkeep of the town and public works is inadequate. However, it is only a small town and for a small town I must say it is an pleasant quality of life living here. The foremost positive about this area is that the people of this area hold a small community mentality. By "small community mentality" I mean that everyone in this area seems to know everyone. Yes, at times that can be stressful or irritating. Nonetheless, it is nice to know your neighbors and be able to have close friends in your community, because when there is little to do in an area you can compensate by getting together with friends and creating something amongst yourselves to do.
  • Niche User
  • July 17 2015
Many people grew up int his community, raise their family here, and then continue to live her. Many neighbors know each other well and get together for backyard parties. The whole town comes together for local football games and such.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
The police and fire department have good reaction time for the most time. When public services are needed, they do the job, but sometimes make it take longer time than needed.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
The worst weather occurs in the winter with many feet of snow. It snows frequently from December-February. When it rains, it sometimes can cause flooding, but for the most part it is only regular rain.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
There is not a lot to do for fun at night, but there are restaurants, mostly sports bras, surrounding the area that are great for a quick dinner. There is not a large variety of happy hours either.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
It is easy for a young student to find a job, but adults would have a tougher time trying to find a job that pays higher than minimum wage. They would need to look to larger cities about 20-30 minutes away.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
Compared to surrounding cities, the local businesses are clean, well-kept, and have a variety of things that people need in a pinch. They are close to home and run by people of the town, which is nice.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
all make it hard to want to live here. the response time is awful
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
taxes are high and dont seem to do much for the community
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
depends how close you are to the projects and what the hot new quick money scams are
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
expensive when its not worth it
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
eh its boring and blah
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
a few houses near me have very nice people but other than that there is no sense of real comunity
  • Niche User
  • July 24 2014
  • 1 of 2
Back to Ansonia Home