Antioch
34 reviews
  1. Suburb of Chicago, IL
Back to Antioch Home

Reviews

34 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    15
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    1
I have lived here for 10 plus years now and I love it there are lots of things to do from bowling and boating. Also Antioch is tons of fun and peaceful.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I have lived in Antioch for almost 14 years, it's a very safe town. However, diversity is very low and there are a lot of drug problems among the high school students. Great teachers at the high school, a lot of administration who are trying to help as much as they can.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
The police officers are always visible. The police station is right in town which is very nice. Not much happens in Antioch.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
It is a cute town. There is not a whole lot to do but the surrounding towns are super close.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
There's some small drug crimes that happen, but the chances of anything more serious is pretty slim.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Some parts of town aren't that nice and some of the people here aren't very nice. But if you ignore all of that, Antioch is a nice little small town.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Not much at all. Very rare for violent crime here.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I love the old downtown area. Live shows, good food
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Housing is adequate and generally kept in good condition, but Lake County taxes are extremely high for what you get in housing.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 29 2015
Since I moved here I have been at school and working, so I have not spent much time to get to know the community. However, I'm sure there are many opportunities to get involved in the community.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 29 2015
The crime rate is pretty low. Of course there are some robberies and other things, but I generally feel very safe in this town. The only complaint I have is that it is dark; the streets are not very well lit. Walking at night is definitely a challenge and could even be considered unsafe. The police are very responsive, though.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 28 2015
Depending on the person, this area could be ideal or it could be a bore. It is far away from most things; you have to drive at least 15 minutes even to get to Walmart. I moved here from a city and city life is more for me, but I know some people who love it here. If you don't like city life but still want to be close to things, Antioch is ideal. It is in the district of an average high school and (in my opinion) a really good community college. This town also has a commuter train station that leads to Chicago, so if you work down there or just enjoy city life that is always a plus. Also, the public library offers good resources. Overall, pretty quiet town.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 28 2015
Antioch is full of racist, homophobic, crazy religious buttheads.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 5 2015
There are a lot more job opportunities during the warmer months versus during the winter since my town is a tourist town. It's also a town that welcomes new businesses so it encourages entrepreneurship.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
The location of where I live is perfect for convenience. There are many restaurants, and a diversity of shops within walking distance. I can get just about anything I need and want living in this area.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 16 2015
This area does not typically experience a great deal of crime. Many of the people in this town look out for one another. The police are also effective in their ability to curtail the crime that is active here.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
In this area there are all four seasons. People here are able to experience snow and sunshine. Most people have a variety of clothes for our varying seasons ranging from shorts and t-shirts to coats and boots. The weather changes often as well.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
The town of Antioch is not very large. There are a couple restaurants and bars. Many of these locations are older and do not have a great deal to offer.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
I do not think that unemployment is particularly high in this area. Fortunately, we live in an area in between Milwaukee and Chicago. These major cities provide many jobs for people in this town.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
There are a variety of mom-and-pop stores in this area. They offer a great deal of unique services and food that add to the overall being of this town as a whole. Much of the business that is brought to the stores will continue to be given back from these stores to better our community.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 30 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Antioch Home