Arcata
104 reviews
  1. Town in California
Back to Arcata Home

Reviews

104 reviews
  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    38
  • Poor
    8
  • Terrible
    0
The people overall are very friendly. I would enjoy shops and cafes being open later but altogether there's a nice quiet small town feeling.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I absolutely fell in love with Arcata when I decided to attend Humboldt State University. It is a very unique and small town surrounded by redwoods and the Pacific Ocean. The locals are very warm welcoming and there is so many activities to be a part of. For example, the Arcata Square provides multiple activities throughout the week like a Farmer's Market every Saturday and events for every holiday. There are no "big brand" stores or restaurants in Arcata, therefore, there are more "mom and pop" businesses that are very unique. The overall setting is fun and welcoming.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
ose knit community. Mix of older generations with young college students. Night travel is risky due to lots of people on weed. Large homeless population.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Arcata is wonderful area with wonderful locals. Everyone is happy an friendly and very supportive of the local culture and business.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
As a college student, I chose this small town because of it's friendly nature and the sense of community. However, the surrounding environment is what really lured me to attending HSU, with the gorgeous view of the redwood forest and the ocean within reach.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Diversity of white people of many faiths and creeds in the town; I would like to see more love for people of color and respect for woman in the nighttime. Community, are providing to people who are hungry; need compassion for the homeless. Need young adults interested in municipal government; there are civic groups and volunteering in earth care and people care. The best farmer’s markets and Co-Op; healthy locally sourced. There is a food pantry on campus. Students need nice housing; campus housing and classrooms are over booked. The teachers deserve to be paid more and honored. There is beauty in nature all around. This place ought to stay sustainable and not grow. Prohibit corporate chains unless they are a family business; there is still quality and character. Children grow up smart and beautiful here.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
My wife is a travel physical therapist, so we moved to Arcata. One thing that is hard to adjust to is the drug issues. As someone who embraces sobriety, it's difficult to see the way drugs can destroy lives.
  • Visitor
  • 3 months ago
The environmental is different, you are surrounded by many interesting things that will either make you enjoy your stay or not. The community is very friendly, the atmosphere is pretty amazing. It takes a while for someone to adapt to the place, but you will eventually figure out how life works in the town.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Don't hear much about crime and I do see police cars in town and patrolling. The streets at night remain very dark and can sometimes be scary
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
People are very friendly. Everything in town is close to eachother and I enjoy walking because everyone says hello. Big college town so there are always activities to do and overall a good experience and environment to be in.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
When I first moved in I was afraid that I wasn't going to adapt to the area, but after the first semester, I fell in love. The people are nice, the location is beautiful, overall the atmosphere is lovely.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The only time I feel unsafe in this town is walking downtown by myself at night, which I just avoid doing.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Arcata and Humboldt area is a beautiful place to live and go to school. It offers lots of outdoor activities and opportunities to get involved with the community.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I'm not extremely familiar with crime and safety in the area. Police are reasonably visble as far as I can tell, but I don't know much about their response times, helpfulness, and so forth. Most of the crimes I hear about are not major ones.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I'm local to the area so I will always have a love/hate relationship with it. I love the ocean, redwoods, the trails, soccer community, Native American community, farmer's market... and the general NorCal experience. However both the college and town are very small and isolated which is hard for a lot of people. It also rains a lot and there is a high homeless population. Marijuanna culture is also very pervasive, and certain aspects of it aren't so great (Ex: tons of people migrating to the area in search of trimming jobs, growers using toxic substances that harm wildlife, etc...). I originally moved away from the area for school and wound up transferring back (something I never imagined would happen). However, being away and moving back gave me a new appreciation for the area. I love being able to go run in the marsh, have the redwoods in my backyard, be a few minute drive from the ocean, attend a school with a strong Native American community, go pickup something at the farmer's market or one of the local health food stores, and so much more. Humboldt is an extremely unique place, it's definetely not for everyone but it's home for me.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
This area of Northern Humboldt County in the beautiful city of Arcata CA, has opened my eyes to an endless amount of opportunities. This place has very friendly people in the community. The businesses in the town are family ran business by locals who have been in this community for many many years. The community is very conservative. They are all about making the environment safer and cleaner. I come from a community back home in the Central Valley where people are all about themselves and not worried about others or our environment. Coming here has helped me realize many thing from caring about our planet more to caring about others and exploring new things Humboldt is an amazing beautiful place to live and im glad i could experience this.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I feel very safe in Arcata and the police are present and helpful. I can walk around at any time and feel comfotorable.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
There is a range to the housing here, just like any other city, there are crap areas and good areas. However sometimes those an be right next to each other, and the great part is that most of the time people are friendly enough and kind enough to each other that there is no economic barrier.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
Arcata definitely has a great sense of community. It is easy to get to know a lot of people if you are an active participant in community or social events.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2016
There is a lot of petty crime in this area, not as much as in Eureka (the next town over), but we have our fair share of vandalism and theft. However it is still easy to feel safe here as not very much crime happens during the day.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
  • 1 of 6
Back to Arcata Home