Asheville
100 reviews
  1. Town in North Carolina
Back to Asheville Home

Reviews

100 reviews
  • Excellent
    21
  • Very Good
    43
  • Average
    33
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    0
I absolutely love Asheville! It is one of the best vacation spots full of creativity, nature lovers, and artists. Blue ridge parkway is a must see especially in the fall when he leaves are changing colors. There are a lot of beautiful lookouts and hiking spots. The Biltmore mansion is a lovely place to visit. Learning the history of the plantation and touring it is so important. They also have a lovely garden and vineyard with wine tasting included. Downtown Asheville has really unique shops and most of them are local. The local businesses have a heart in the window so you know to support them. Asheville is a very dog friendly town. My favorite spot is in the barcade called champagne and wine bar book exchange. They allow you to bring your pets, browse through books from all over the world, and enjoy a glass of wine. Their Italian dessert wine is to die for. Asheville is definitely a must see!
  • Former Resident
  • 1 day ago
I grew up in Asheville and it has grown alot, alot more tourists and less mountain folk or natives. I like Asheville due to the mountains but wish things were not so high and wages are lower in general and housing cost alot here.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
I love Asheville. I am born and raised here and have raised my 6 children in Asheville. It is a beautifully diverse city, with endless opportunities to explore Western North Carolina's beauty.
  • Current Resident
  • 13 days ago
I love the seasons of Asheville and all of the fun attractions here. They have music venues to many breweries to great food. I would love to see more people that are diverse.
  • Current Resident
  • 15 days ago
This city of Asheville in North Carolina is built on community and gives off the vibe of a small town. Often compared to cities like Austin or Portland, Asheville is unique because of the combination of people, places, and government incorporated into the environment nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. With its quaint city streets and friendly locals, Asheville sits in a place between peace and community.
  • Current Resident
  • 20 days ago
I love Asheville because it is filled with mindful and open-hearted people! There is so much room for creativity and individuality with very little judgement. What I would love to see change is an increase in jobs for those of us who love living here but find it difficult to make a living and put our college educations to work.
  • Current Resident
  • 25 days ago
Asheville is a dynamic area with something for everyone. Attractions include one of our numerous breweries (we are "Beer City USA"), the Biltmore Estate, the largest home in North America, and the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains which run through the area.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Overall, Asheville is a wonderful place to live. The community is great and there are tons of fabulous restaurants and breweries! There are a couple of drawbacks, however. First, housing is outrageously expensive in Asheville. I recommend finding roommates before you plan to move here if you're alone. Secondly, jobs are hard-ish to come by and generally tend to pay less than the national average for most professions. The following perks outweigh the negatives for me: In addition to having a wonderful sense of community & deliciously creative dining options, Asheville supports many local businesses. Most places are pet friendly as well. My personal decision for moving to Asheville was to go to school at the University of North Carolina at Asheville. They have a phenomenal psychology department filled with brilliant professors.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
One of the things I like about Asheville is the art sculptures it has hidden all over this city. There is a giant iron, cat and rats, and even some turkeys. One of the things I hate about Asheville is the parking. There is not enough parking and some of the garages cost over 10 dollars with no guarantee someone will not tow your car away.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Asheville is a wonderful eclectic community with a variety of activities which involve all ages. Since moving here, I felt at home because the citizens do not judge or condemn you for being different; in fact, they welcome newcomers with open arms. One of my favorite places to be is downtown Asheville because there are so many stores to shop in that are truly one of a kind. I also love being able to take a short ten-minute drive out of the city to experience the natural environment that has been untouched by industrialization. I did not highly rate a few of the following categories below because I feel that the city is a bit expensive and without good networking connections, it is hard to find a job out of the customer service industry. Although this may be a problem if one would prefer to live within the city, there is a solution—housing that is just outside the city of Asheville is more affordable in both taxes and rent.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Asheville is unlike any other city I have ever been to. The vibe is very laid back and there is always something going on. The food scene and brewery scene is what the city is known for and the city excels in this area. There is also always live music and festivals to experience. When the city gets to be enough, you can drive ten minutes and find beautiful waterfalls and miles of hiking trails. Asheville is great for the urban feel and meets any outdoor enthusiast's needs as well. Great city overall that needs to be on the list to visit!!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Asheville needs to spend more time building up the youth, so it want be so many shooting and killings.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I have lived in the area in the pass. I have been back in the area for almost three years now. I love it. It is up and coming. There is a lot to do from shops, restaurants to breweries. There are wineries, festivals, and falls, the mountains are lovely. There is so much here I am sure that I have left something out.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
I have been going to Asheville most of my life. I go there to eat, shop, and enjoy the night life. The downtown area has a variety of restaurants, pubs, clubs, and many other places to shop for clothes and other things of interest.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 4 months ago
we love asheville with all its unique offerings. its special sense of adventure is so exciting. we love the downtown area especially appealing.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
I have noticed an increase rate on crimes including but not limited to: murder, theft, assault, and drugs. However, with an increased rate on crimes there has also been a rapid increase in population, real estate, and tourism which results in a higher standard of living.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Asheville has a great variety of local farm to table restaurants, a booming beer industry and awesome waterfalls/nature trails. It's a tight supporting community that promotes individuality.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Crime comes and goes but recently it has increased. Safety wasn't usually in my concern but coming home from college to all of the craziness does have my parents along with myself worried because things seem to be getting crazier and crazier.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The atmosphere generally in my area is calm, there isn't a lot of excitement that goes on. The mood is pretty neutral and the neighborhood is normally quiet. It only gets rowdy on the 4th of July because fire works are shown downtown which can be seen right in front of my house.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The best part about where we live is that it is never too hot or too cold. It is always changing.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Asheville Home