Athens
272 reviews
  1. City in Georgia
Back to Athens Home

Reviews

272 reviews
  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    115
  • Average
    97
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    1
University of Georgia seems to be the center of the attention in the city. The apartments are affordable. Downtown is known for nightlife, but not the best in safety at night. Friendly city.
  • Works Here
  • 2 days ago
Athens is a juxtaposition in itself, with its quaint shops and boutiques downtown coupled with the numerous movie theaters, shops, and restaurants found throughout the city. Athens provides both a suburban feel, while maintaining the idea of a perfect college town.
  • Current Resident
  • 8 days ago
Athens is a great place, the downtown area is packed with delightful restaurants and bars. The amount of pride within the town that they have for UGA is impressive and mind blowing. It is one of my favorite places.
  • Current Resident
  • 9 days ago
Athens is a wonderfully diverse city in Georgia. The University of Georgia creates jobs and a very educated community around the college. The students also drive the local economy which creates a vibrant cross-selection of shops, bars, and restuarants.
  • Former Resident
  • 17 days ago
Athens has a vibrant downtown with a lot of options to eat, drink, and shop. Unfortunately, the income disparity in Athens-Clarke County is one of the worst in the country. It is sad to know that an institution of higher learning with great wealth is within a community that still has so much poverty
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
I love Athens. I went to my first UGA Football game when I was a year old. I moved to Athens three years ago, and fell in love with the music scene and all the restaurants. I would like to help the homeless people throughout Athens have a safe and warm place to sleep at night. I think this could be possible with more social media attention focused on bringing more volunteers to work and build shelters. I would also like to increase the adoption and foster programs for the humane societies around the Athens-Clarke area. I spent a lot of time throughout the past year at the Friends of Oconee Country Animal Shelter. Those animals need better facilities as well as more man hours to help promote their services.
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
It is is a very nice town with lots of parks, libraries, and shopping. There is also great hospitals here. Downtown Athens is known for having many bars and restaurants for people to enjoy.
  • Current Resident
  • 28 days ago
Coming to the University of Georgia as a college freshman was one of the scariest, yet most exciting moments of my life. There was always something to do or talk about, and nothing has changed as a graduate student. Over the last 4 and a half years, Athens has become my home. There is always something to do, whether it is a concert at the Georgia Theater, a lecture on campus, or a beer festival downtown. And of course, nothing beats a Saturday in Athens to watch the Bulldogs play at home. Athens tends to have an effect on people that does not happen anywhere else. It is unique and always growing in diversity. However, Athens is one of the poorest counties in the state with a high poverty level. To improve Athens, I would add more transitional and affordable housing to people with low or no income. I would also create a space for the homeless population to get free haircuts, dental care, and resume building skills to get back on their feet and become productive members of society.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I spent four years living in Athens while obtaining a Bachelors in Biology from the University of Georgia. I loved it so much that when I applied to Nursing school I only looked in the Athens area. It is a safe and friendly community that offers mainstream business and promotes local businesses as well. There are so many diverse restaurants, sport events, athletic activities and local nearby communities that any one can find something to see or do. I have adored the downtown eateries, Stanford Stadium ball games and Georgia Theatre concerts. Free events include walking downtown and through campus, Bear Hollow Zoo and parades downtown.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Athens is great. It is hard to get started on a career here. As long as you're interested in working for a small business, it has many opportunities.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I love the tight nit community the UGA town as they like to say great high school I would love to see more big time places to come and set up in Athens
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Very funky, cool town with lots of culture and local activities. Arts and education highly valued, as well as Southern hospitality. The town is great for artists or small families, and young adults. It is a very involved community. Unfortunately, it is very densely populated with many residents being students at Piedmont College, University of Georgia or North Georgia College. Sometimes the traffic can be too much and student life has seemed to take over the local charm of the downtown area. Still, there are many festivals years-round that cater to all people and age groups.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
It's a beautiful town with lots of rich history. It's definitely a college town so everything you need is within walking distance of each other. There's plenty of delicious southern comfort food to eat and people are extremely friendly. The campus is surrounded by gorgeous plant life. Most neighborhoods are very safe.
  • Visitor
  • 2 months ago
Athens is a great town for college kids. However, the areas of the town on the outskirts of the University of Georgia are very run down and full of crime. If the University of Georgia would use some of their finances to help the city surrounding the school, it would be a lot more appealing to visitors.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
I'm a UGA student and I go to downtown Athens all the time. I've also visited some of the local schools because of one of my class. Ultimately, I think Athens is a pretty friendly place and I really like it here.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Has a great small town vibe. A great close-knit community with enough "big city" activities to keep you entertained. Great for all ages, but the low cost of living makes it especially pertinent for young adults just getting started.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Athens is an incredibly unique place that offers a lot to do for people of all ages. While being a college centered town around the University of Georgia, everyone can find something that interest them. There is quite the selection of restaurants as well as a plethora of musical venues. Combine that with all the university and students put together and you truly have a recipe for a fun, interesting place.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I love Athens, I've lived here all my life--has wonderful night life as well as plenty of things to do for families.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I'm a 24 year old mother of three so I experience children friendly areas and activities as well as college and bar scenes. I enjoy Athens I feel the public schooling isn't the best but there are private schools available in the area. I love that the City of Athens supports UGA heavily and there is so much to offer.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Lovely city! There is always something to do for the young and old. There are many parks that young and old would enjoy. One of my favorite parks is Memorial Park. You can see the animals in the zoo, have a picnic, go swimming, play basketball or just enjoy! I wouldn't change anything about my city Athens GA!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 14
Back to Athens Home