Athens
48 reviews
  1. Town in Alabama
Back to Athens Home

Reviews

48 reviews
  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    23
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    3
Awesome city. I have lived here for 8 years. It is growing and the Athens city high school will be moving to a brand new building within a few years.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
The housing is very pretty. Lots of space to put things in your backyards or in the front yards.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The community is a great place to live if you want to stay in a small town and it's very peaceful.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
We rarely have problems in our neighborhood, so we don't see these things
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The experience at this house has been okay. Everyone is very friendly
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The police in the city of Athens are great and reliable. I feel safe and protected.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
I would love to come back to Athens to raise children after I graduate college and start my career. It's been the best place to go to high school. The community involvement is amazing!
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Very outgoing and immersive community
  • Niche User
  • Dec 16 2015
It's a great town with amazing people and opportunities. .
  • Niche User
  • Dec 16 2015
It is a very small town with small town values and has established cliques within the community. If you move in and are not part of a clique, you have a very hard time fitting in. I am an independent, socially minded, free thinker and this town is very conservative and set in its ways. My Father grew up in this town and my Grandparents live here. I love being close to them and am so glad to be close to them, but my values are in conflict with many of my classmates.
  • Parent
  • Nov 18 2015
Athens is a small quiet town. The road I live on is quiet and no one bothers anyone.
  • Niche User
  • Oct 22 2015
Athens is a great place to live. It is small knit community, but most importantly it is a safe place to live. I love living here and I would never leave. Athens is my hometown. Our economy is growing and more people are moving into town. I see Athens becoming a sociable place to hang out in the near future.
  • Niche User
  • July 23 2015
The weather here is most of the time great. However, when in Winter it can be COLD and in Summer very HOT! Around May thru July you have to be careful for tornadoes and very heavy rain. Also, wind every now and then can become problem and well as dry weather.
  • Niche User
  • May 23 2015
Here in Athens, Alabama there is a lot of the same foods throughout the entire city. Some restaurants have a better recipe for others. Many of the near by resultants include: Samurai's Japanese Steak House, Catfish Cabin, 306 BBQ, Whitt's, and typical fast-food restaurants.
  • Niche User
  • May 23 2015
There is a variety of different employment areas here in Athens, Alabama. We, Athens, have many retail stores, local doctor offices, medical offices, convience stores, flower nurseries, and working for the city itself. Many people in there area are highly educated, with that said many have high paying jobs in the surrounding areas, such as, Decatur, Madison, or Huntsville. Most people in the area are nurses, engineers, emergency personnel, or lawyers. However, there are some individuals in this city that do not obtain a college education. With that said, they are dedicated hard workers providing the best for their families.
  • Niche User
  • May 23 2015
We have some great retail stores downtown. Great variety of "different" items--different meaning not your "everyday same stuff."
  • Niche User
  • May 23 2015
There's are a good amount of clothing stores and restaurants. I'm completely content with it!
  • Niche User
  • May 13 2015
This place is a great place to raise a family. But for having a college, there isn't anything to do for college students. All of the entertainment is in Huntsville and Madison
  • Niche User
  • Apr 29 2015
We have many historic sites which are awesome.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 29 2015
Most of the time, the weather is fine. Although since we live in tornado alley, the threat of sever weather is terrifying. Just a few months ago, actually, we had a tree fall on our house.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 29 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Athens Home