Auburn
42 reviews
  1. Town in California
Back to Auburn Home

Reviews

42 reviews
  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    23
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    0
Auburn is a small town compared to Sacramento, where I came from. It is more relaxed community that is very economic as you get anywhere relatively fast and you just about bike anywhere! There are parks as well as inside activities such as bowling. The neighborhoods are beautiful as well as friendly neighbors. It's a great place due to having privacy, yet also having a good community in a mountain like area.
  • Current Resident
  • 11 days ago
I moved to Auburn CA when I was 2. My family and I moved here from Los Angeles. It has been a great experience growing up here. I have made some life long friends. It is a very family friendly town with lots of beautiful trees. We spend our hot days down at the river. I would recommend to anyone that Auburn CA is a great place to grow up and/or raise a family.
  • Current Resident
  • 12 days ago
Auburn, is a quaint little old mining town. The small town feel of this place is alive and well. Everyone, knows everyone, and when the holidays hit, the town is decorated to the fullest. It is known as the endurance capital of the world! I have had the opportunity to make my mark on this small town, by leading the 2004 Placer High School, State Championships, in which has only been done once, in the schools over 100 year old history. My team and I have been commemorated with a plaque, in which is on the "Walk of Flame" on downtown Auburn's main street. This town has brought me up well, am very proud to be called and Auburnite!
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
Auburn is a quaint little town great for those looking for a quieter lifestyle. Opportunities for young adults are limited, but it is a great place to raise a family.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
Very small and familial town. Lately becoming larger with the addition of stores, restaurants, new buildings.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
There are a lot of police and sheriffs around. They also build a huge new jail in Roseville. There is a lot of crime all over still.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
I really have been enjoying the area that I now live. I think that the cost of living is high but the income is also a bit higher than where I moved from. It is a faster pace and I definitely have to work more to survive. The cost of food should not be as high as it is. The rent is also very high. But it is very nice here.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
The level of crime in the area is relatively low and I feel very safe in the surrounding neighborhoods. Every now and then you can see the police cruising down the streets and having a look around but for the most part they tend to stay closer to the city center and the highway that runs through town and on to the next couple towns. Overall, I feel very safe walking down the street, even at night where there aren't very many street lights.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
This area could be considered small town and it acts like it. The people are polite and smile to you on the street. It is a very nice place to live. I would probably consider living in Auburn for the rest of my life. Although, I would not want to life at my current address for a long time, it is right next to a school and the kids walking around at the end of the day can lead to a dangerous driving situation that I would rather avoid.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
There seem to be very few problems in regards to crime, however when the police are called they respond promptly.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The atmosphere is very sweet, people are kind, and there is always some sort of activity going on. The local high school has great sports, and wonderful programs. The area is beautiful and I love living here.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I expect this area to become much more crowded, detracting from what makes so many people love it.
  • Niche User
  • July 17 2015
This area is peaceful and very welcoming. Everyone in town are nice. The neighborhoods are clean. This town is safe. I would come back to live and raise a family here.
  • Niche User
  • June 20 2015
This is not an area that has jobs for specialized higher education degrees.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 19 2015
There is a great beer scene here, with bars stocking great craft brews, and two breweries in town.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 19 2015
While there are a few good restaurants (bar food, cafe/deli, and higher end), I often find myself unable to obtain the basics just by walking. From craft supplies to household products, I have to drive to obtain these items.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 19 2015
Old Town and Downtown Auburn are almost all mom-and-pop shops. The suburb areas are filled with more popular stores like Best-Buy, Target, Home depot. There is no Walmart yet, however, there is one building soon- a grocery Walmart. Plans for a building a Costco have been made. There is 1 McDonalds, and 1 In-N-Out, a few starbucks. There are many other smaller stores and shops that are owned by local owners.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 16 2015
The weather here mostly reflects the greater Sacramento valley weather. There are no natural disasters that occur in this area, although you quickly become aware of any national forest fires because smoke becomes a slight issue, since this area is first of the many to receive smoke, especially if there are major fires from national forests. There has been no forest fire that has ever reached auburn, most forest fires are contained within the Tahoe National Forest.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 16 2015
For the majority of jobs, most people commute out of this city to those nearby like Sacramento, Roseville, Folsom, etc. The most common type of local employment is fast food, retail, and restaurant. Most school teachers are employed locally. There are alot of local small shops and businesses that also offer employment. Because it is a smaller city in comparison to Rovesille and Sacramento, the employment opportunities and growth mimics it to be identical.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 16 2015
No gangs, Rarely any reports of Vandalism. Schools are safe enough that they allow "open campuses". Any major car accident was almost always due to wildlife crossing the street. Police and Fire Department are able to respond within 5 minutes and be on scene where needed. Auburn is a small town, and has a more of a community feel to it. People who mostly move to Auburn are those who want a more quieter life style than that offered by larger cities like Sacramento.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 16 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Auburn Home