Austin
921 reviews
  1. City in Texas
Back to Austin Home

Reviews

921 reviews
  • Excellent
    188
  • Very Good
    418
  • Average
    278
  • Poor
    33
  • Terrible
    4
Austin is an active city with lots of live music and great restaurants. In the summer, there are lots of places to cool down with a swim. After a long, hot day there are many amazing restaurants that serve delicious food and cold drinks.
  • Works Here
  • 2 days ago
Austin is an exciting city that has a lot to offer! From the greenbelt that crosses the city, the museums, the local eating establishments, and music events, there's plenty of activities to keep you busy.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
I love this city!! There is always something exciting going on all around the city. There is a scene for every type of personality; the outdoors type, restaurant type, night scene and anything else you can think of.
  • Visitor
  • 2 days ago
Austin, Texas is a very great city to live & work in. The current unemployment rate is lower than the national average. Austin is the Capitol of Texas & the University of Texas has a major presence, so there are lots of job opportunities for everyone. There is no State Income Tax, however an 8.25% sales tax & property taxes are high. Austin is a great place for culture/the arts and recreation. Austin's political ideology is liberal. Some school districts in the Austin area have better performance/results than others.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Austin has a lot of diverse experiences to offer, from the outdoors to night life. However, going out is expensive and so is cost of living. The transit system is not sophisticated. If you need to go across town, be prepared to spend 2-3 hours traveling and walking in inconvenient ways. Otherwise, I really like living here.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Austin is a very unique city with a very diverse range of people and places to explore! There's always something to do!
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Austin is a beautiful city that you can never fully enjoy because there is so much to see and do. The nature, skyline and people are all wonderful, causing you to fall deeper in love with the city. I will say that Austin cares very little about gentrification and the tragedy people face because of it. That is definitely something I would like Austin to improve on.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
Austin is a okay place. Its way overrated in my opinion. The best way to be successful is this town is keep your plans to yourself and handle business. Stay low-key and out the way and focus on your goal or you will be brought down by people that doesn't want to do anything with their life and wants others to join their downfall. There's lot of job but most times you're over worked and under paid. Definitely need a education to be somebody or go somewhere in this town.
  • Current Resident
  • 5 days ago
Amazing city full of adventure. Lots of outdoor activities, festivals, music and fusion of food and cultures.
  • Current Resident
  • 5 days ago
Austin and beautiful and lively city. There is plenty to see and do here including live music, and amazing outdoor activities!! Austin is great for individuals and family, with plenty to do for all. Cost of living is a little higher here in Austin than it is in Houston, and overall pay is a little less here so many people have to live outside of city limits. Overall I love living in Austin, but I do hate the traffic!
  • Current Resident
  • 5 days ago
I have lived in Austin for more than 23 years. I love having family outings because there is so much to do in Austin. Austin has a lot of attractions such as the Austin Zoo, Lady Bird Lake, Zilker Park, Austin History Center, and etc. I feel like Austin is a peaceful place. I feel like Austin is a safe place to live compared to other cities. What I would change about Austin, is making the environment cleaner. I feel like people should care more about the city and where their children and grandchildren will grow up. I would not want to live anywhere else.
  • Current Resident
  • 5 days ago
One of the best cities to live. Tons of activities and thing to keep you busy. Only problem is commute times and rising cost of living prices.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
Austin is very progressive and that attracts a lot of interesting highly educated people. Having one of the largest universities that also happens to be highly ranked in m any areas also helps. The politics here are also progressive. You can see it in how the city grows (and where it doesn't) and even in the buildings. This is a city that respects its heritage but is also actively involved in pushing it forward.
  • Former Resident
  • 6 days ago
I am a born and raised Austinite, while some of the growth has been really great for this city, I feel that it has become way more populated than it ever intended to be. It's become too congested and too expensive.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
From someone who moved out of state it has been a very interesting city to live by. Its amazing how you can drive in a traffic crazed area and get so irate by the bumper to bumper traffic just to get out and feel a completely chill atmosphere in the city. Austin is not like a normal city in that way. Its not crammed together, its spread apart and doesn't always move as fast when you aren't in traffic.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 9 days ago
Austin, I am a native who born and raise here for the past 29 years. I love everything about this city from its multicultural influences to its Texas roots. Living in the music capital is surly one unreplaceable experience ACL, SXSW, to FFF. There are plenty adventure you can do; Zilker park, Barton Springs pool, Lady Bird lake, Mount Bonnell, and Ann w. Richards congress Avenue Bridge; which you can see the bats fly out. The sightseeing is surly one for the book. You always have a little something to do I would recommend living in Austin to anyone.
  • Current Resident
  • 9 days ago
Austin is a unique city with a small town feel in some ways, though it is rapidly expanding and becoming one of the largest cities in the nation. There is an appreciation for local businesses, which are populous enough to compete and cultivate many excellent options for food, music, and entertainment.

Despite there being some traffic issues, this city has the charm of a small town with the benefits of a large metropolis. It is no wonder that it is one of the fastest growing areas in the United States.
  • Current Resident
  • 10 days ago
Austin is the the place to go if you're into health, any kind of physical activity, music, or art. It's a more sophisticated Portland. There once was a lot of hippies and weirdness, there still is but the rich yuppies out weigh them now.
  • Former Resident
  • 11 days ago
Austin is by far the most beautiful place I have ever lived. There is some group for anyone and everyone. Once you join a group, you will begin to see the same people all across town doing the same events. Friendships will be built, and your social life will take off. Austin is known for the being the "Biggest small city" for that reason. I would recommend this city to people who do not mind being stuck in traffic. We are growing at such a high rate that our infrastructure is currently being worked on and causing large backups. Austin is building many new apartments being giving you many options. You will definitely be able to find a great place to live in a nice neighborhood. The best part, is that Austin is very dog friendly. I forget every time that I leave, that my pet is not welcome into businesses outside of Austin. Not only are your pets welcome almost anywhere, there are many great parks where you can take your loving pet.
  • Current Resident
  • 11 days ago
Austin is a pretty good place to live it has a little of everything and it is after all called the Live Music Capital of the world so if you like music you'll definitely love Austin especially with the SXSW and ACL music festivals that happen every year where many bands and artists come to perform. It is also where the University of Texas at Austin is located Which happens to be one of the best colleges in the U.S. There are plenty of houses for sale although they tend to be quite expensive the closer you get to the downtown area.
  • Current Resident
  • 11 days ago
  • 1 of 47
Back to Austin Home