Avon
42 reviews
  1. Suburb of Indianapolis, IN
Back to Avon Home

Reviews

42 reviews
  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    25
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    0
I like the mix of small town and big city that one can find in Avon. Being just west of Indianapolis, I can drive 20 minutes and be in the middle of an apple orchard or drive 20 minutes the opposite direction and be in the middle of downtown Indianapolis. As opposed to the other suburbs that surround Indy, Avon is used to seeing people flowing both ways, and has less of a small town vibe than any of the towns a little further west.
  • Current Resident
  • 24 days ago
Avon is beautiful and full of life. There is lots to do and participate in, in the community. There is so much friendliness and sense of community.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I just moved to this town nine months ago due to my husbands military transfer to the area. Everyone so far has seemed very nice and friendly. What I would like to see more of is things to do. There are plenty of restaurants to eat at and places to go shopping, but for actual activities there is not, at least not that I have seen. If there are things to do, then they are not very well advertised. From what I have heard, the schools rank very high and Avon is the place to be if your child has an interest in the music department. Overall I really like the town and its surrounding area. We have even put Avon as a place to consider buying a house and starting a family in once my husbands Military career is over.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
This is a great diverse area to raise a family being that I have bi-racial children. Also good school systems and recreational activities year around.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Avon has grown so much in just the last few years that it amazes me to think back about my childhood. I didn't go to school here, but my father and step mother have lived here for over 15 years. I went to church here, I had several friends from youth group who went to school here, and about seventy-five percent of family lives here still! Avon has so much to offer, anywhere from jobs, schools, restaurants and more! You need groceries? There is 4 different stores for you to choose from. Want to spend the day outside? There are two parks with trails, one with a splash pad for those hot summer days, and a doggy park for those who need a large area for their furry kids to run! Being able to live and work in this community is such a privilege. To me, Avon is the heart of Hendricks County and I'm proud to be able to call it home!
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
We have lived in Avon for over 13 years. This is a great community to live in and the schools are outstanding.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
We've had a few break-ins in the Walmart parking lot. Overall, this area is relatively crime free and safe.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
This area is great, I would pick to live here again. The school system is great, there are many jobs and businesses around, and it's close enough to downtown but not too close.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
I do not hear or see anything bad going on.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I enjoy this area. I think it is becoming something great.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Beside the lack of very much local restaurants, it's a great place to live.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Do not hear too much on crime so basically a safe town to live in.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
Small town, safe, great school system, and many shopping options nearby.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
There's a lot of cops and the majority of crimes involve teen drug use.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
It's better than some places and worse than others. It's a good place to raise kids though.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
seemingly safe, with occassional break ins in the area
  • Parent
  • Jan 20 2016
Convenient to downtown, and perimeter cities, safe, much shopping
  • Parent
  • Jan 20 2016
The atmosphere of my high school was really great.There was such a large variety of people from all different economic stand points and ethnicities.The teachers were very well rounded and honestly tried really hard in order to make sure that we grew in every way we could. The area was clean and organized, and the county did what they could to keep everything running smoothly and making sure everything looked great which made living there easy. Though Indiana does not necessarily have a lot of things to do inside its borders there is usually something that we can all do and figure out what to do.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 21 2015
I like Avon. It's pretty boring being a kid and living in the area, but it's actually a great place to live. I'm happy my family moved here, I'm proud to have gone to school here and say I'm from Avon!
  • Niche User
  • Nov 10 2015
I live at this address with my parents and brother. It is well suited for my family for many reasons including the price, the value of the home, and the well-kept neighborhood. The area provides many opportunities of engagement such as restaurants, shopping centers, parks, walking trails, and areas of business. The area is extremely well kept and safe for all members.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 28 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Avon Home