Avon Lake
37 reviews
  1. Suburb of Cleveland, OH
Back to Avon Lake Home

Reviews

37 reviews
  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    19
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    0
There is hardly ever anything crime related happening in Avon Lake. It's a more affluent community in a wealthier are of the suburbs of Cleveland and doesn't see much crime at all.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Avon Lake, Ohio is a very modern suburban town. It is very pleasant and quiet with almost no crime at all. The city's public schools are top in the state and the overall quality of life is very admirable. The only downsides to this city is that it is predominantly white. Also, there isn't much to do in the city itself but the neighboring cities host lots of entertainment. Downtown Cleveland is also a 20 minute drive making the city very reachable.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I haven't personally had any issues with crime, robbery, vandalism, or any other safety issues. The police mist being doing their jobs.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
The weather is not very consistent and the summers keep getting hotter and more humid. Area is getting more crowded. Good distance to businesses and entertainment.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Overall housing in the area is awesome
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
People are friendly, the environment is always fun.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
Overall I feel safe anywhere in the city.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
The schools are fantastic, overall area is great!
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
This is a great area to live in. Very kid friendly area. Could use more events targeted towards young families. I would like to see more businesses come to our town and stop leaving.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 23 2015
It's a great area to live in. The school system is excellent and the town and it's neighboring towns are expanding
  • Niche User
  • July 27 2015
This area is for the higher income families. Homes in the this area average about two hundred thousand dollars. Not many abandoned properties are in this area. The closer you get to the city the more you have vacant homes.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 28 2015
We do have very nice Metropolitan Parks. There are plenty of places to picnic, bicycling, rollerblading, etc. In the winter we have a place called Brandy Wine for skiers which is very popular. Also a place called Boston Mills which is rich in winter activities.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 28 2015
The weather in Ohio is unpredictable. We have the four seasons but during some of those seasons the weather can get pretty rough. People usually say, "If you don't like the weather, wait 5 minutes". The winters are usually extremely cold and a lot of snow. Springtime in Ohio can be beautiful but usually very rainy. The southern part of Ohio usually has a much larger threat of tornadic weather. I think where I live, Lake Erie protects us from that. Summer time is usually humid and very warm. Sometimes drought is an issue, but that hasn't been the case for the last few years. Fall in Ohio is my favorite time of year. Leaves changing, cool crisp nights, seems like the air is cleaner. I like to call this "sweatshirt" weather. Hoodies are essential for the Ohioan closet.
  • Niche User
  • Apr 28 2015
Avon Lake rarely has crime. Any crime that happens is usually teenagers trying to steal candy from the drug store. The police do a good job keeping our town safe. They are always out driving down the streets making sure everything is okay.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 31 2015
Although there are rarely any natural disasters, Avon Lake has all four season. Summer is the best time since the city is on the lake with great beaches to enjoy. The fall is always chilly with great weather that is perfect for campfires and football games. Winter is the worst. It brings horrible blizzards and snow storms causing everyone to be trapped inside. Spring takes awhile to arrive but once it is here (usually in April) 50 degree weather seems like summer weather.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 31 2015
Buffalo Wild Wings is the restaurant in Avon Lake that everyone goes to. Everyone goes there to get great good and service. There is a lot of bar food places, a couple Chinese restaurants, and fast food.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 31 2015
Avon Lake has the Ford factory. The factory provides many jobs with good salaries. There are many restaurants that are always looking for more employees. Most employees around Avon Lake are younger since the companies are small self owned buisnesses and restaurants.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 31 2015
All of the employees and managers of local buisnesses are very helpful and welcoming. The restaurants all have great service. Even though Avon Lake is a small town, there is almost everything we need. Between convient stores, gas stations, computer services, salons, etc. the only shops missing are retail stores.
  • Niche User
  • Mar 31 2015
very nice community, people have pride in their homes and landscaping.Good property values, slightly high in utility cost and higher than average property tax
  • Parent
  • Mar 14 2015
virtually non existent, very little problem, no murders, a few breaking and entering and some shop lifting charges that I'm aware of.
  • Parent
  • Mar 14 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Avon Lake Home