Azusa
99 reviews
  1. Suburb of Los Angeles, CA
Back to Azusa Home

Reviews

99 reviews
  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    31
  • Average
    51
  • Poor
    11
  • Terrible
    3
There are spots in Azusa that are definitely sketchy and most people should avoid them. However, there are some small towns nearby that are fun to visit, a lot of cool coffee shops, and some amazing hole-in-the-wall Mexican food.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I just moved here a few months ago and it has been great. They have a new and up and coming downtown area with wonderful restaurants. I have a young child and we have traveled to all of the different parks and have been more than satisfied with their equipment and locations. They all have had numerous activities and lots of open grassy areas for us to enjoy. Azusa is very family oriented; the library, parks, and City Hall all provide activities and events that bring families together.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I really like the city of Azusa, there are some really nice areas to visit and enjoy with family and friends. I would like to see the city keeping the streets more clean and safer for people to drive on.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Azusa is a city where bums are pushing their valuable possessions on grocery carts, black smoke is coming out of a 1994 Cadillac, and high school students going up the canyons for a smokeout as an after school activity.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
The area does seem to have a little more crime than others. In my neighborhood we have a 24hr patrol that watches and tickets cars who don't have a pass. I do feel very save in my area, the community is so large and people are always out walking their dogs or jogging. We do have night watch signs all over as well.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The area I live in, is a large planned community for LA County. It has beautiful homes and landscaping, with private pools and clubs. This neighborhood is close to the new transit and shopping area. I do really enjoy living here, but it gets very hot in the summers since we are more dessert. It also rains at random times due to the mountains being right behind us. I live in this area because it close to my college and the freeway. The surrounding outside areas are not exactly the best but we are hidden away. I also like how this community has its own relaxation retreat. There is a Buddhist Temple where people can go for peace and tranquility. I would not stay here permanently once my schooling is finished. I will move on to an area that is less hot and closer to the water.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The weekends consist of hearing the sirens of police and paramedics driving up and down the avenues, sometimes even the helicopter is out as well. There's too many young homeless teenagers, mostly near shopping centers and markets. The use of recreational drugs has gone up, causing more robberies and theft among the community. I feel that a lot of the crimes could be prevented if the area offered activities and events, where the community can gather have fun.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The area where I live has changed a lot since I was young. The crime rate is the same but the crimes are not as bad as they use to be in the 90's. The coolest thing about my area is having access to drive up to the Los Angeles forest and Crystal lake. The canyon is small but the scenery makes up for it. In the summer, you can go swimming in the river or go hiking in the evening when it cools down. There's many trails that take you up to places a car can't take you to, for example, the bridge to nowhere. During the rainy season, if the temperature drops enough, you can wake up to see snow on the mountain tops. This year, we got The Metro running through, going all the way to the Union Station in Los Angeles. Its cheap, fast, and convenient if you don't own a car. If I had a choice to live anywhere in the country, I wouldn't pick the same area again. Although it has changed, the government here, still stereotypes all of its population. The police and city officials are very quick to judge you and sometimes discriminate over assumptions. The future I see for this area is a good wealthy one. There's new houses on the north side, with more to come.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I don't feel safe to walk alone at night, and if I need to in the daytime I take my mace or taser.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Living here was nice because it was right next to school. Now that my husband and I have graduated, we'd like to move but probably won't because rent is low. We like our apartment complex, but the neighborhood is sketchy at night.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
A lot of stores and restaurants. Good schools and very clean.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The county police office is a few blocks away so it feels safe.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
There are stores nearby, but the street that runs through the neighborhood is noisy since there is a lot of traffic.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Housing in Azusa is relatively average, however, more newer houses have been built. The number of vacant lots or house is incremental at best.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
People assume Azusa is filled with gangs, crews, and cholos, but the reality is that these are old stereotypes from over 40 years ago. This area is a socially diverse and extremely accepting/tolerable community.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Our law enforcement is easily accessible and relatively helpful in every situation.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I live in a university bubble, but most of everything outside of the university is in poor condition. APU students, including myself, are uneducated on the actual condition of Azusa.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 14 2016
Azusa has a nice atmosphere, mostly because my entire family lives in this city
  • Niche User
  • Nov 21 2015
Its okay overall. I enjoy the small private activities. That the library holds and the great programs for summer. I feel comfortable with this community full of Hispanics.
  • Niche User
  • July 12 2015
Neighborhoods make all the difference. This little triangle of property is a forgotten zone, excluded from local city improvement plans for decades. The new sound wall has only made its acoustic properties worse, while removing the view of the mountains which had been its only redeeming quality.
  • Niche User
  • July 8 2015
  • 1 of 5
Back to Azusa Home