Bangor
77 reviews
  1. Town in Maine
Back to Bangor Home

Reviews

77 reviews
  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    29
  • Average
    28
  • Poor
    8
  • Terrible
    1
The Bangor area has been growing rapidly over the last few years. I have enjoyed trying all of the new businesses, all of the new local places to shop and dine. The City is doing a wonderful job at cleaning the city up, bringing in new business to reestablish and make it a better place for our children to grow.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 18 days ago
Small city life. Low crime, poor jobs, lots of restaurants and most of the college educated people move away after graduation.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
Bangor is a great up and coming area with a growing downtown area! I am excited to see what is in store for the future.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 days ago
I like the small town feel of the rising Bangor population city. I would like to change accessibility for pedestrians, because streets in the area are designed around motorists not pedestrians.
  • Works Here
  • 1 month ago
I have been in and around the Bangor, Maine area my entire life. I like the new businesses that are moving in, the growth in the downtown area, and the waterfront concerts. Transients are a problem, and can be intimidating when you have to walk past them. I wish there was someplace for them to go, that would not be in the path of business folks just trying to get to work, or back to their car.
  • Works Here
  • 2 months ago
Nice places to go in Bangor, the people are slightly on the uncomfortable side. If you live near the downtown side of Bangor, make sure your doors have safe, reliable locks.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I havent been using Niche long I think so far it is just fine Cant complain or comment as I haven't been here long
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bangor was once a joyful city that had that small town feel. Over the last decade it has taken a hit and has lost its value and people look to move away as soon as they can.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
2017 will mark the twenty-two years residing in Bangor. Over the years Bangor has been on an upward trend in development, recreation, night life and much more. Local farmers markets, waterfront concert series, trendy restaurants and bars in the quaint historic downtown of Bangor provide a hot spot for visitors and millennium youths. A day trip to the ocean, lake, or hiking in Acadia National Park are all vital to a quick get away. Public schools and friendly safe communities are a steal for newly weds looking to start a family. I couldn't have imagined growing up anywhere else in Maine. Truly an up and coming town that has much to offer for all ages.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bangor is a city that has seen some wonderful development in the downtown area, but is still facing a huge drug epidemic that is not well managed. It is a family friendly city with lots of activities for children, though not a lot of employment opportunities. Lots of parks, walking trails, and farmers market make it a great place for the health-conscious.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
This is a small rural town Home of Stephen King. I appreciate the small town feeling. It has its ups and downs. The best thing I like about this town is the friendliness with the local people. This area is considered a New England area but in my opinion it is a very different New England feeling here compared to the other States. I would like to have more of a local event communication board or newsletter to inform the public about local events. Currently I hear things through word of mouth however for an outsider or a new visitor it is difficult for a newcomer to know these events.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I was born and raised in Bangor, Me. The northern most state in the continental U.S. It was a quiet, respectful town when I was growing up but not I can see the reality which I live in now. These once peaceful neighborhood and blocks are now being turned into dumps or ghettos. More and more people from out of state are coming into this state to sell their drugs and make this nice town their new “home”. Their drugs corrupt the youth and in turn ruins their futures. Majority of the people living in the neighborhood I grew up in are lazy welfare recipients. I would like to see either the whole welfare system abolished or the recipients be required to pass a monthly clean drug screening.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
There is very little city infrastucture here. The roads are poorly maintained, and the sidewalks are poorly maintained. It is hard to be a cyclist in this city, there are no proper bike lanes and drivers do not oblige to bikers. The downtown is cute, but a lot of work needs to be done for this to be a thriving city.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Their are not many issues in my area, and if their are , they get resolved quickly.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
Their is a great friendly community of people willing to help each other.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
It seems very quiet compared to other sections of the neighborhood
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Rated the worst neighborhood in my area, my family still feel safe and we do not engage in anything that would disturbe our neighbors
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The area is very safe with a lot of police enforcement and a very low crime rate to begin with. It is to the point where the local news will report something like a break-in which is something in a city, that goes largely overlooked because those types of things happen a lot more frequently.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I am the type of person who would prefer to live in a more urbanized setting. My family moved here, to Maine, when I was younger from Charlotte, North Carolina. There is a lot to like about being in Bangor, Maine but it has gotten to the point where I know everyone my age and it seems like there aren't many new things happening and not much to look forward to on a daily basis. I will certainly bring my family back when I have one but at this point in my life, I need to get out and experience more.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The police are fine around here. No problem with how fast they get to calls, accidents or crime.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 4
Back to Bangor Home