Barstow
28 reviews
  1. Town in California
Back to Barstow Home

Reviews

28 reviews
  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    0
Barstow is safe and a family oriented town. There is not much crime and is pretty clean. I would recommend putting more stores and businesses here.
  • Current Resident
  • 12 days ago
The site was easy to use and allowed for quick searching for scholarships. The surveys are simple and quick for someone with as busy a schedule as mine.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Barstow is a small town located in the Mojave desert, sitting on the I-15 and I-40, famous for being the halfway point between L.A. and Las Vegas. At first glance, as so many people have said, Barstow is "small," "nothing but gas stations," and looks like "nobody lives there." Having lived in Barstow all my life, I admit that there is some truth to these observations, but the quote "never judge a book by its cover" then comes to mind. I have seen the values to living in this small desert town. A benefit, and one that I often take advantage of, is because Barstow is in the desert, the outdoors are easily and readily accessible. I have gone on hikes, camping trips, off-roading, shooting spots, star gazing, and sand boarding all within 10 minutes of town. In fact, the love and appreciation that I have for the surrounding desert played a significant role in earning my Eagle Scout rank. It is because of its desert surroundings that all these outdoor activities are possible.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I'm from the east coast so there's a big difference. I'm not a fan of Barstow. It seems like an old town from an old Western movie. The one thing I like is the food. They have a lot of restaurants.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Barstow is a nice small town to live in. It is a good places for raising a family with out all the problems of the big city. It is still close enough to Apple valley and Victorville if you want to do things with the family. Also not to far from big Bear if you want to go up in to the mountains or go skiing.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I currently live in Barstow, Califfornia. I moved here two years ago from Bakersfield,Ca. Barstow is a small town, town is literally one big circle. This town is great for networking and creating happenstance. Although it has great positives it also has some negatives, which include, increasing crime rates, and an early stop time for routes on public transportation. If you have a car or are planning to get a car this town is a great start on a new life.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Barstow is a small town but it is ok to stop by for a quick snack, the little restaurants are good, but make sure you lock your doors.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 4 months ago
Barstow is a very small town in lovely California. Now, while the state might be great I can not say the small for this town. The streets are filled with homeless, most of the town is just dirty, and it seems like every person walking down the street in the middle of summer are not in their right state of mind since anybody who would be, would not be out. The best thing about Barstow is the small college away from it all where most of the people there are trying to leave and go live somewhere better.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 4 months ago
Barstow is a very old and ran down town in my biggest opinion. There is very little to do for younger people. It is burning it's self from the inside out without any improvements to be given.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
We haven't lived in this neighborhood very long, but so far there have not been bad things that have happened nor crime around our street that we know of. It is very quiet (other than the dogs across the street) and everyone for the most part seems to mind their own business.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
I absolutely love the neighborhood I live in, but the town is getting to become too much desert for me. I have lived in the desert all of my life and my husband and I believe that it will soon be time for a change of scenery and weather! As soon as we are able, we would like to move East and find a nice city around Colorado or New Mexico. I could never get tired of the beautiful scenery, skies, and rain!
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Low crime area, but higher crime areas all around.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
It's a good area and close to schools and grocery stores.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The area has progressively gotten worse over the years. There have been more crimes and each year this area becomes less safe. My concerns are the number of crimes that have arise.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The particular area I live in has gotten worse over the past couple of years. I have seen more crimes and the safety of this area has drastically declined. I think that in the future this area will only get worse.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Like I said before, police does not constantly show up because where I live at is usually quiet.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 20 2016
Ever since I have lived there, it has been nothing but peaceful and quiet. I do not have to worry about police constantly coming around this area. The street that I live at is mainly quiet because we are surrounded by different streets that are quiet as well. We did had a couple of occasions before, but nevertheless I love where I live at, and when there is a come in time I will take the next step, far as moving out, it will be hard, but it will leave me with memories.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 20 2016
Most of the people here are friendly, but there's a lot of homelessness here and there are a lot of people who are not in good mental states. It's extremely hot here, and there is absolutely nothing to do in Barstow. You could go to the park, but I wouldn't recommend it due to the weather being so unpleasant.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 27 2015
Living in a little pit stop town, not much goes on here. Crime rates are going up here, its not always safe. one good thing is its a small community and there are nice people. I have a lot of family here.
  • Niche User
  • July 15 2015
Things need to change at the city council level. Greed is good, but when it gets too greedy it fails to help growth.
  • Niche User
  • July 10 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Barstow Home