Batavia
68 reviews
  1. Suburb of Chicago, IL
Back to Batavia Home

Reviews

68 reviews
  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    39
  • Average
    19
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    0
Batavia is one of those small towns where everyone has the potential to feel like they are at home. There is always something for people of all ages to do and the sense of community is huge here. I grew up here and would love for my future kids to grow up here too.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Nice suburb without too intense of a "suburbia" feel. Good school system, but doesn't compare to nearby schools in Geneva and Naperville. Many stores conveniently located on Randall Road, as well as close proximity to the Geneva Commons. Downtown needs work. Fairly safe area, and overall decent people.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
It's a great city. There's not much to do in Batavia itself for young adults, but the surrounding cities have a lot going on so there's great food and shopping and bars really close by.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
There is not that much crime in Batavia. You barely even here us on the news. It is a safe place to raise your children.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
They have a great school system. The teachers are very involved. It is a small little town. It has very nice people living here. The entertainment in Batavia is at an low. There is nothing really exciting about living in Batavia.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Very diverse housing. There are mansions in some places and apartments in others.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
Batavia is a great place to live and has a strong sense of community. It is diverse but also a moderately tight community.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
There is not a lot of crime in the area. Mostly just domestic disturbances or kids getting into things they aren't supposed to do
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
Pretty good area. School system is not bad, the town is safe and the community culture is open and fun.
  • Parent
  • 7 months ago
Small town with social services for elderly, disability and food pantry. Lots of charity and community outreach programs. I have lived in 3 other cities and this one has the best small town feeling with the immenities so you dont feel like its rural.

Its family friendly and community oriented getting involved in city volunteer work is important and key to feeling like you belong.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I genuinely think that Batavia is a great town to raise a family in. I used to live in St. Charles then moved to Colorado. After Colorado, we moved back to Illinois and found a house in Batavia. I am glad that my parents made the decision to move back from where we lived before. The town that we lived in Colorado is definitely a town I would not want to grow up in. I always think about what my life would of been like if we grew up there. Colorado is known to have a high rank of drugs. Batavia's problem is just the delinquent people whom just love to drink and make poor decisions, but that is just my personal oppinion. If you went to Batavia High School, then you most likely know everyone and their families. You also know everyone's business. Nothing really stays a secret around this town. It is a small big town. It is a very friendly town. There really isn't that much violence, I think that the violence comes from the town next door, Aurora. I ranked this area "okay" because like the rest of people from batavia, its sort of a trap. Once you're in here, you don't really ever leave. Once you leave and come back, you notice that things stayed the same.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Significant drug users and drug "culture" and you never hear or see the police interfering or trying to stop or even reduce drugs in the community. On the other hand, they are great for everything else.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
This neighborhood has a great atmosphere. There is a noticeable amount of drug use/users and If it was my choice knowing what I know now, I would second guess living here but not completely rule it out.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
There is a good balance between big and small houses. Knowone cares how big or small your house is in this town. I have not seen any abandoned houses.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Everyone comes together to support our sport teams. Its such a great feeling to see everyone supporting you and having so much love for the town we live in.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I am 18 and have lived here my whole life. I love Batavia and would not have wanted to grow up anywhere else.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
I feel very safe in Batavia, safe enough where I go on frequent night runs.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
I really enjoy living in Batavia. I have made some of my best friends in this town and I am close to my neighbors as well.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
There is a huge number of police officers in the area.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Being a high school student, I find this town a little boring. However, it is a great place to raise a family, and there is a wide variety of places to visit along the Fox river.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
  • 1 of 4
Back to Batavia Home