Baton Rouge
138 reviews
  1. City in Louisiana
Back to Baton Rouge Home

Reviews

138 reviews
  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    35
  • Average
    71
  • Poor
    19
  • Terrible
    0
If you don't live in the correct part of town it could be a nightmare. The traffic is absolutely terrible and the crime rate is a problem, but we put up with it for the food and LSU games. The town could no doubt be better, but some bright spots shine through.
  • Current Resident
  • 5 days ago
Baton Rouge is a great city to start a family. There is penty of work if you are looking, and the parks and recreation is excellent. It's never difficult to find something to do whether you want to eat out, go shopping, go out or just ride around the city.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
I love Baton Rouge. My most favorite thing about it is LSU. I love attending the school. I like how people come together in time of need like a family.
  • Works Here
  • 6 days ago
The people are the best part of Baton Rouge. It's a small "town" but has a lot of activities to do within a 1hr drive. Plenty of things to do outdoors and the downtown is really starting to become the place to go for young professionals. The winter is nearly non-existent, with mild to hot summer months. Traffic is the worse part of Baton Rouge mainly because of commuters from other parishes. Love it !
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
Good people and good college, but it is not that safe. My car has been broken into twice and I was suppose to be in a decently safe neighborhood.
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
I appreciate that there are no speed van/cars here in Baton Rouge as there are plenty in Lafayette that outrageously "tags"drivers speeding tickets.
  • Works Here
  • 14 days ago
My experience in Baton Rouge has been okay. I was born and raised here. I like the family southern atmosphere. I don't like that there aren't many job opportunities available now.
  • Current Resident
  • 17 days ago
My Experience in Baton Rouge is really diverse from being born and raised. Baton Rouge have been thru tremendous turmoil from the dividing on the city but its really rich in area. Baton Rouge its on the banks the of Mississippi River over looking upstream and down stream. I would like to see Baton Rouge as a whole overturn and become a city everybody wants to visit when they're thinking vacation. The city is becoming divide where the North section is Deplorable and being forgotten while the South section is up and coming with new business. Every major city I traveled to the city is developing as a whole and not just want part. This cause the city to have economic decisions where one seems worth and the other don't.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
So, I have lived in Baton Rouge for over a year now. If you ever want to come to Baton Rouge, try and visit it's downtown, and Tiger-land for club if you are the type. lots of historical museums and arts. Also Baton Rouge has beautiful gardens like the Independent garden, and others where I have visited. Baton Rouge has a very huge casino that is not far away from LSU. I like it with the nice view of the MISSISSIPPI RIVER flowing beneath it. Another thing is the popular LSU football if you are lucky to come during the football season. LSU tailgate is another world of fun you don't want to miss out!

The people in Baton Rouge are really hospitable and very open minded people. Just a warning that these people don't play with food. they like food! I learned how to eat often when I came to Baton Rouge!

Cost of living isn't that bad if you're a citizen. School fees very high and tax as well.
  • Current Resident
  • 25 days ago
Baton Rouge was one of a kind. It is a state proud to live where the do. Looking around one can notice right away the passion for the New Orleans Saints and the Louisiana State University Tigers. It is a blend of gold and black and purple and yellow. With its passionate environment it reminds that anything is possible with passion behind it.
  • Visitor
  • 25 days ago
I like the convenience of supply, but I would like to see better options available in the urban parts of Baton Rouge.
  • Current Resident
  • 28 days ago
Being that Baton Rouge is the capital of Louisiana, down town Baton Rouge(East), need to have more nightlife and more eateries. Also, the actual city needs rapid improvement on construction for roads, streets and side-walks. The tax dollars that are taken out should contribute to these areas. Baton Rouge, can be an exciting place adding more safe festivities and more businesses.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Baton Rouge is a small lively college town! Surprisingly it offers a lot more than college bars and activities! You can find a number of stores , and hangout places and parks that contribute to Baton Rouge's diversity of activities .
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
I live here for a little over a year. I love how this city is a mixture of country and city living. There are great cultural food spots to try. Overall this is a college town but the people are very friendly!!
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
My review of baton Rouge is okay, it is an okay city, not the safest. One morning while walking to work I was jumped by thugs. I do like the food the city has to offer. What I would like to see change are the restaurant closing times. I get off work really late, and I do not have many food options late at night.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I have been living in Baton Rouge for five years now. It was a pretty amazing place at first. Baton Rouge started to be more of a place i fear after all the violence started. I met the love of my live here and we plan on moving once I finish my nursing degree. I love the downtown areas. It reminds me of New Orleans. It lively and no matter what time of the year, I can always go down there to have a little fun. The cost of living is not too bad. After the great flood of 2016, the prices have gone up on a lot of the nicer apartments. I love how diverse the people are here and how they come together to make a point. The traffic is not always bad, but being in any city one can expect to have a little traffic. The job market is awesome. There is always something new opening up so anyone can find employment. Baton Rouge has been a place I loved for five years but just like baby bird, sometimes we need to fly away and start a home in a new tree.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I like the beautiful scenery of Tiger Stadium and the way the sunset reflects off of it. I dislike the terrible roads, the traffic, and the loud trains that pass multiple times in the middle of the night.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
I like the areas around LSU. There is a variety of activities and cultural outlets easily available on the bus routes. There is a vibrant art and music community and many volunteer and political opportunities. Also, the food is excellent!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Baton Rouge is a family friendly city. Like most southern cities there is plenty of good food. LSU and Southern universities have a huge presence. Traffic on game day can be horrific. All in all its a great place to raise a family.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
Overall an extremely unique place with a culture like nowhere else. Only bad side, it can be difficult to study with so many fun things to do intsead.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 7
Back to Baton Rouge Home