Bay City
38 reviews
  1. Town in Michigan
Back to Bay City Home

Reviews

38 reviews
  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    1
Bay City is a fantastic spot for summer attractions. The downtown area boasts many festivals and events, such as the Tall Ships, the infamous Bay City Fireworks, and the Downtown Art Fair. There are many breathtaking views in Bay City, along the Saginaw River and by the Saginaw Bay.

In the winter, there is less entertainment. Most residents travel to nearby Frankenmuth to partake in Holiday activities. However, Bay City still has some exciting events in the winter, such as Sundays in the City, where downtown businesses participate in sales, promotions, giveaways and contests. There is also a free horse and carriage ride throughout downtown Bay City during Sundays in the City.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Bay City is a nice place to live. With Saginaw and Midland so close there are many job opportunities available within commuting distance. Bay City is safe for the most part. There are places that are not the most safe, however violence is not nearly as common as in Saginaw. Cost of living and the real estate market are both positives right now. The cost of living in the city is low, and there are many available homes in Bay City currently. Finally, the night life is not really existant. Midland street has bars for everyone, but there are no real clubs for late night parties. That being said, Bay City has recently been adding businesses and attractions to bring more attention. The uptown complex, Real Seafood, and the new YMCA are all recent changes for the better and I only see improvements in the town's future.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Not too big of a city, but a good amount of access to stores. Lots of small businesses ran by local people. Area is very community involved.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bay City is located in the lower peninsula of Michigan. The saginaw River runs between the two downtown areas. We have lots of parks, the rail trail for biking and walking, and a festival almost every weekend throughout the summer. Our east side downtown is quaint with lots of antique shops and unique restaurants. Uptown is a new development with businesses, restaurants, condos, and parks. Many of the parks in Bay City offer free entertainment on weekday summer evenings.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
In the part of Bay City that I live, there is not much crime. In Bay City as a whole there isn't much violent crimes. Every once in awhile you here about break ins and petty vandalism but I feel fairly safe in my area.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I like that there are many festivals and things to do. I am originally from a very rural area but where I live they allow me to have a few chickens, which is great. The mall here leaves a lot to be desired and it has for many years, especially after they got rid of Target and Sears. There are a lot of churches and community centers that are available to help those who need it, which is great.There are also many schools to choose from for my kids.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Most of the houses in my area are occupied.

I like to take my dogs out rollerblading and running and there are times that I have almost fallen on my face because I tripped on one of the holes in the sidewalk.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I enjoy living in my area because it is only a couple minutes by car to reach the downtown area where the most fun summer events take place. I have made many new friends and there's always something going on. When I was growing up my neighbor hood had a lot of crime with domestic violence and weapons. These days, ten years later, my neighborhood is very quiet and we never seem to ave any issues going on anymore.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
I live in a fairly low crime area. Most crimes are petty crimes (breaking into people's cars, etc.).
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
There are not a lot of employment opportunities, and there has been a slight increase in crime, however, it is still a relatively safe area to live in and offers an abundance of activities every day throughout the summer for people of all ages.
  • Parent
  • 9 months ago
There arent very many huge crimes around here.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The weather varies from time to time.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
overpriced rental but to expensive to afford a move at this time
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
There are some areas that aren't safe but in relation to Saginaw's crimes and their proximity to my area, my area is much safer.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 7 2016
For the average income of a citizen in this city, I believe that housing is ridiculous. For a while we did have many abandoned places and factories. But the city is creating these locations and even building medical parks and new lofts/homes.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
There are very kind and helpful people in this city, but the bad definitely weigh out the good. Most volunteers or active citizens are criminals on court sentence or older citizens. However I feel like when it's really time to ban together as a community we can do it.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
I wouldn't say that our city is the safest. I definitely wouldn't let my future children play outside unsupervised. Our city's police respond quickly, but lack respect and compassion for most citizens. Thankfully, our city's crime rate is not as bad as most cities.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
There's a lot of negative influences in this city, but overall it's a good place to live. During the summer our city has many travelers and visitors of the firework show and local fairs and festivities. In the winter, the downtown area is full of coffee shops and good times while staying warm. The city is very diverse and unique. I think that our city history is my favorite part about living here!
  • Niche User
  • Jan 1 2016
This area is attempting to draw an additional crowd by improving the waterfront. However, this will only help seasonally and is not a long-term, consistent improvement.
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
We had a weird earthquake a few months ago
  • Niche User
  • June 10 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Bay City Home