Bay Village
18 reviews
  1. Suburb of Cleveland, OH
Back to Bay Village Home

Reviews

18 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
Bay Village is a small, family-friendly community located on Lake Erie. Bay Village prides itself on its K-12 public education system. With an average of 200 kids per grade level, the student to staff ratio is impressively low. In addition to the school system, Bay Village is known for its multiple scenic parks. Huntington Park offeres a modest stretch of beautiful beach. The Bay Village Parks and Recreation Center makes good use of Bay Village's many parks, providing families and children plenty of oportunities for recreational sports and events, family movie nights and summer time swimming fun!
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Crime has risen in the area since we have moved here.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
High School here doesn't seem to care about students who are not in Sports or going to College. Academics are shoved down the kids throats.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Weather in Cleveland can be compared to a 'Jekyll and Hyde' scenario. One day you can have blue skies with a shining sun and 70 degrees, and the the next you're huddling in your home staring out at the pouring rain and chilly weather that brings on snow. When summer hits, it's beautiful. But when winter comes, it's the worst. Snow storms aren't unknown around these parts. In fact, during the winter there can be an accumulation of several feet of snow. If I had any choice in the matter, I'd most likely live in N.E. Ohio for only 7 months out of the year; when its warm and sunny and utterly beautiful. The remaining months would be gladly spent in a warmer climate, far away from the bipolar weather that wreaks havoc on Ohioans during the dreary winter days.
  • Niche User
  • May 25 2015
The variety of food and drink places in Northeast Ohio appears endless. From unique hole in the wall restaurants to night clubs, bars and the standard chains, there isn't a shortage on places to choose from. The West Side Market, a popular attraction for tourists and natives alike, brings together a medley of ethnic food and drinks into one place that allows attendees to try a little bit of each at once. The historical importance of this place brings back memories and hints of the different cultures that immigrated and settled in the N.E. Ohio area during the 20th century and allows it to continue to influence today's residents and visitors.
  • Niche User
  • May 25 2015
Compared to other parts of the country, job opportunities in Ohio are not as scarce. A person can find a relatively decent paying job in the North, providing they have some semblance of education. In the South, it appears as though the majority of jobs revolve around the textile industry, and even then the pay isn't very much. Ohio's employment has a minimum wage that, while it isn't the highest in the nation, for the standard of living in the state, it appears to be a semi-acceptable amount for most people. Granted, there are those who do not have an education past high school. These people generally do not receive jobs paying higher than minimum wage. However, for those who have gone beyond high school and received an associate's degree, technical certificate, bachelor's degree or beyond, the pay is far beyond minimum wage. The manufacturing and steel industry in Northeast Ohio is what the majority of employees are involved in.
  • Niche User
  • May 25 2015
There are a relatively moderate amount of local businesses in the area. However, there seems to be more big companies than the old fashioned 'mom-and-pop- shops that were present in past decades. The typical businesses include those that are native only to Ohio. Drug Mart, Marc's, these are standard businesses that us Ohioans (at least in the Northeast) rely on for our daily runs. Each town has their own convenience stores, but for the most part, they aren't very individualistic.
  • Niche User
  • May 25 2015
I'm shocked how many people return to this area after college.
  • Parent
  • Feb 14 2015
We have camped throughout the area. There are many good places to go and get away.
  • Parent
  • Feb 14 2015
We love it here. It is a great place for families.
  • Parent
  • Feb 14 2015
Very few issues. We feel like we are in a little haven (a bubble even).
  • Parent
  • Feb 14 2015
Love the different seasons. Really enjoy our fall.
  • Parent
  • Feb 14 2015
Lots of local businesses here. They don't advertise a lot so its best if you know someone who knows the area, but they are great once one finds them.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
The worst weather here is snow, so be prepared for slow driving days. Other than that everything is manageable.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
Many houses look beautiful, but because they were built during the 50's and 60's many have some repair problems.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
The crime that happens here is very low key, mostly alcohol abuse, so it doesn't affect me much. Overall a pretty safe place to be.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
The jobs here are very specific to the agriculture and universities here. If interested in one of those areas than this is a wonderful spot, but other than that it is limited.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
Although it is sometimes hard to find unique/quirky restaurants, weather they are quirky or not, all the food that I've had here is really good quality for a very reasonable price. Also it is easy to find restaurants who serve locally grown food that is very fresh.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
Back to Bay Village Home