Bayonne
60 reviews
  1. Suburb in New Jersey
Back to Bayonne Home

Reviews

60 reviews
  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    15
  • Average
    31
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    6
Bayonne is a relatively quiet place. Aside from the growing obvious drug problem that we see in this very small town. I think it would help if people had more things to do in town. Instead, children drink and smoke at parks and houses at all hours of the night.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I like living here, the crime rate is good and its a nice place overall. I have been here for about 3 years now and it has been a good experience.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
I had to get out of New Jersey asap! As soon as i graduated high school i left and i never plan to live back there again. Its terrifying walking the streets of Bayonne. You hear so many shooting incidents and robberies and break ins and it made me very scared at the age of 16. I have actually heard actual gun shots when i was 9 years old walking at night with my mother (thought it was fireworks until i saw the news the next morning, yikes). I dont like the people there they make me feel let down and disappointed because everyone has so much potential but a good majority of people there will NOT strive for the best in life. They strive for the drugs, the weapons, and the unimportant negative things and it makes me sad. The whole town is poorly kept, disgusting houses, different smells on every block, nasty looks directed toward u every where u go, bed bugs in every house hold. Its like no one there WANTS to live healthy and clean. Snow cant stay white for whole day here. Teachers, employees, neighbors, families, animals, etc are all gross and mean and trust me Ive experienced it all. Ive lived here since i was 5 years old and now that im 18 and i have left for college out of state (im sure u can guess why) i want to say i am not proud to call this my "hometown" or even "home". I hope someone can make a change in that poor city, something needs to be done in there but no one there cares about their own well being enough to even try for change. the atmosphere is gray and full of negativity. I could only see the town growing in population (for some strange reason) but it wont change in any other way.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Prices are too high for what the homes are really worth.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The people here are only concerned with themselves and are very un-accepting to new comers. Especially those who are immigrants to the country.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The roads are always being worked on but they are not being fixed, nothing is getting better.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The city I live in is slowly falling. More people are moving in bringing from the neighboring cities, bringing the crime rate higher
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Not sure about this. It happens, but I think most of it is kept on the low. If something big happens you'll definitely here about it.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Okay place to live. I've lived here my entire life so there isn't much to get excited about anymore. I would describe the town as quaint, but also trying to keep up with the times. Since rent in the city is ridiculously expensive, more condos and townhouses are being built to fit the needs of millennials who work in the city. I feel like kids and teens have a lot more to do here than say.. college students, who are 21 and over. Usually hanging out at friends' houses and going to parties is enough for us, but if you're looking for nightlife this is not the place. One thing I would like is more variety when it comes to food. More and more people are eating at places that sell organic food, vegan options, or just healthy food in general. We have too many pizza places, Chinese spots, and not enough healthy options. But if you are looking for that type of food we have many great places to grab NY style pizza (tastes amazing), great bagels, and a really awesome ice cream spot. Overall not a bad place to live if you want a slice of suburbia but still want to be close to the city.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Lately things have been changing around here with more police patrolling areas at random. It took lots of incidents to happen for things to change. Sadly, the police take their time getting somewhere, even if it's an emergency. Things are better than they used to be but they really could and should be better.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Nothing bad really happens around but there are cops who rome around the city when it gets darker so it seems safer.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
It is very comfortable and quiet... not so much going on. There isn't much to do to keep busy. Very different from where I grew up in Jersey City where there was always something going on or something to do/attend.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I feel very safe in my neighborhood. The neighbors all seem to know each other and are cooperate in making it a safe and comfortable place to raise a family.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Bayonne has a small town feel, but it is minutes from New York City. It has easy and inexpensive transportation options into NYC where entertainment, restaurants, cultural venues, and sports venues abound!
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
This place isnt great but not terrible either.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The community in the area of Bayonne is there...only when it is needed though. The events that do happen are not like the marathons of NYC, but they are compared to a tiny amount of that. I've participated in a couple of community events and, most of the time, they lack the attention with a small crowd showing up to them once and then. Fortunately, there do exists crowds that do eventually go, which is a good thing, but not a crowd big enough to anyone to notice.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
The city of Bayonne is not terrible, but, because I am getting older, things are starting to get old. Once you explored the city, there is not much to do. You would have to go outside the city to enjoy yourself after that. And that is what makes Bayonne a good place also. New York City, the city that never sleeps, in 15 minutes away by car.

The living standards for the public is good. A calm city to live in. Crimes or outburst are extremely rare, but they are more common than previous years.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
I've lived here my whole entire life. I am now 19 and I have made great friends and can see myself building a family here. The atmosphere is great considering there are tons to do for example go to the movies or dine out at the amazing restaurants that are around. Bayonne is only 3 miles long, but I wouldn't want to live anywhere else to be honest. It has a lot of potential and I love it.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 29 2015
Bayonne is a nice, quiet, and friendly neighborhood -- tends to be low on crime rates and has a great schooling system!
  • Niche User
  • Aug 27 2015
The overall experience is ok. Everybody knows everybody in the town. I don't know if I would choose to live here again if I had the chance. Compared to other areas in the country, this area is very easy to navigate and the atmosphere is generally nice and simple.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 19 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Bayonne Home