Baytown
97 reviews
  1. Town in Texas
Back to Baytown Home

Reviews

97 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    53
  • Poor
    7
  • Terrible
    1
I chose to live in Baytown because it was convenient for my retired parents to help me with my small children. I have one child that has graduated from public school and is attending college. I have one pre-teen in middle school. Overall, Baytown is an okay place to live.
  • Current Resident
  • 13 days ago
I like the customs and traditions of Baytown. I love our history and how safe and family friendly it is, but Baytown lacks diversity and since its a small little city it also lacks places of interest and things to do, so it gets a bit boring for youths.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
It's a little annoying to have to review Niche each time I do a survey scholarship through them, but it is a helpful site.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
When I was growing up I loved living in Baytown, Texas. We had a mall that was pretty awesome. Now the mall is gone for the most part. The crime has gotten ridiculously high for the city. I do not remember very much crime growing up.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
The layout of this city has caused my family endless stress. All of the main stores are located along one main room. The traffic is consistently backed up from all of the heavy traffic. It takes so long to get anywhere that it makes it not worth the effort to go out.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I have lived here my whole life. With every town there is positive and negative things. I enjoy our library and stores.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
My experience in Baytown where i have been currently living for the past 36 years off and on has been rather calming. The jobs are pretty decent being that there is a major plant in this area known as Exxonmobile. The restaurants are located in walking distance of one another close to where I reside. I feel as though Baytown can offer more jobs than all the fast food and retail shops that are here. Living here is pretty laid back; it could get hectic as though the traffic when going down Garth road can become extremely backed up I feel as though there is alot of land and real estate that can eventually turn into more businesses that can lead into more job opportunity. The schools out here are rather decent and structured giving learning a new way of life. The crime rate isn't bad its a good place that anyone can build a life at and live in somewhat peace.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Its pretty good,not the best honestly, especially for health since I live close to Exon which has a lot of chemicals and is hazarduos to us. But it does have some perks,its libraries are really good and full of information especially when studying.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
There is a lot of crime in this area. More so minor things such as vehicle breaks ins, etc. There are still major crime areas though. Once you get past a certain point, the crime rate sky rockets. I am concerned that the lighting is not as adequate as it should be so it is possible that someone could hide in the bushes at night and it would be too late before you knew that they were there. I feel that there should be more lighting, that is a little bit brighter to say the least.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
If I were to move, I would stay in the same town, I would not live in the apartment buildings that I currently live in. The area is decently maintained, but the people who live around us are very unkept and do not respect the area in which they live, nor does it seem as if they respect others around them. I am very big on pet friendly areas, while they are somewhat pet friendly, in a sense, they are not. It is more as if they tolerate pets because they have to.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
We have had some break ins to cars as well as vandalism and stealing other's property.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It's an okay place to live. Not fancy nor ugly.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Anywhere could use a little help. Honestly, in the area where i live, we hardly ever need the police. It's other areas where I hear the need for more properly trained officers.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I have no specific complaints! I love the area. It has a nice suburban life to the area and there are always friends near by to walk to their houses. It's an easy area to love. There is a big park within walking distance that has exercise machines which allow the community to become more healthy. Or the opportunity is there. The schools are getting better and we're having a lot of new openings to literally everything. New restaurants, new grocery stores. Baytown is certainly becoming a contender on the map.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
housing is great, there are not many abandoned properties, the price of housing is decent and there are many financial aid services that help those who can't afford housing.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
As a community, my area has learned how to come together and increase as a community
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The amount of crimes that occur in my area are extremely low, the police is always notified and takes action immediately to prevent further incidents.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The area in which I live in is overall satisfactory. The education is steadily improving, as well as the safety of the residents. New shopping centers, recreational parks, markets, and other beneficial and local foundations have been established.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
In Baytown you will always see police in the streets doing their job. When you need a police officer you can count on them being their. They also do get their job done. About a year ago two teenage boys were murdered and the Baytown police department found all of the suspects of the case and they are now in prison. Baytown is a safe place to live at because they're aren't many crimes occurring constantly.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
This area is a good place to live in. Baytown now has plenty of jobs for everyone because of the refineries. We have ExxonMobil which is one of the biggest refineries in the US and we have more refineries as well. With the growth of our population we are now seeing a growth in the marketing industry. Baytown now has more shopping centers, grocery stores, and restaurants so we don't have to go to other places to shop. Also, there are a lot more houses as well as hotels being built thanks to the amount of jobs available in this area.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Baytown Home