Beaumont
108 reviews
  1. City in Texas
Back to Beaumont Home

Reviews

108 reviews
  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    15
  • Average
    69
  • Poor
    10
  • Terrible
    2
It's a place to retire not to start a life. It's old and out dated and there is not many career opportunities.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 day ago
This town is pretty big with many opportunities. Although finding a job is easy, the traffic is pretty bad.
  • Current Resident
  • 7 days ago
I grew up in Beaumont and I have really seen it grow over the years. It has a lot of restaurants and stores, but it can feel like a small town at times. Mall and movie theater provide the most entertainment.
  • Former Resident
  • 10 days ago
Not the safest town around but plenty of good areas and mainly okay if traveling with a group. Very fun nightlife with The Gig, Logon Cafe, The Art Studio, and the few bars here and there. Plenty of fun and interesting people. Dowlen Road is flooded with good food and great shopping areas.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 20 days ago
There is quite a bit of industrial oppurtunities in ther area. The whole entire golden triangle area is diversified and siutable to all.
  • Works Here
  • 26 days ago
I would like to see more locations to take the kids in Beaumont. It does not have enough play areas for children.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I like the fact this location is close to a college,and the area is nice to live in. It is close to the Mall and other local shopping area.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I LOVE Beaumont TX, I grew up here and I've been living here all of my life. It's a small city, but there's still a lot to see. There's a lot of construction going on to rebuild our roads and freeways, which is very helpful. The stores are amazing. I wish we could expand our mall with more stores like at the galleria. There should be more last enforcement patrolling busy areas, because people don't obey the speed limit a lot of the times and that's how wrecks happen. People who are one the phones and driving should also receive tickets because that's the leading cause of accidents.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Beaumont is a midsize city with nothing particularly special about it. Unless you're a visitor or a tourist, there really is not much to do within this city. Houston is only an hour and a half drive away for any major events, although that's not to say that Beaumont never has events of its own. There are some things that happen in the city here and there. Most people are really only here in Beaumont because they were either born here, came for Lamar, or for jobs within the refineries. If you like to live in a not so big city with not so big things going on, then Beaumont is really a good choice. You are better off going straight to Houston or another city.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Beaumont is one of the wonderful cities in Texas. The living cost is very cheap. People are friendly. Job facilities are huge. Public safety is good. However, public transport needs to be improved.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Great place for the older crowd. Not much of a nightlife. The public school system has gone down from when I was in school.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Beaumont is a nice place in some areas of the town. Unfortunately, it has a high crime rate and the city has suffered a bad reputation from their Beaumont Independent School District scandal. The TEA took over the school because it wasn't run right. If my family didn't live in Beaumont and the surrounding areas, I would not live here. Pollution is high, and there is not much to do for entertainment. I am lucky enough to live on the outskirts of the city where there is not much crime. There are many refineries that provide jobs for people, so that is a plus. There is also much corruption in county government. It's not that great.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Beaumont is a place that could be a nice place to live one day. The neighborhoods that are nicer are on the west side. As a college student the safer apartments are a bit pricey even if they aren't in a typically good location. There isn't much nightlife but hopefully that will improve in a few years.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Beaumont Tx is a busy town of shopping and restaurants. There are a lot of commuters to the college here at Lamar University.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Crime safety in my home town could be better due to the fact that any thing can happpen . You see bad things on the news everytime where I am from. Anything is possiblr, no one s safe, not even in your own household. You can walk outside taking out the trash minding you buisness and a shoot out start happening. Things should get better. Especially, for our kids. NO ONE wants to get a call from the police sayng " Ma'am or Sir, I'm sorry. But tommy has passed away due to shoot out or being around the crowd" Safety matters first for everyone.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
Everyting in my home town is getting better due to the fact that new resturants are opening, new people from all over the world are moving in, they are friendly. The schools are improving, more kids are getting a better education and thats what works best.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
This area has crime all through and the police doesn't respond to the calls on time. This is a problem because by the time the police arrive, the perp is already gone.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
This area is for people who are just starting out in a house. The area is quiet but we keep to ourselves. Overall I would not make this area a foundation for me to stay.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I have filed for my uncle to go in jail, but becuase some snithched in the outside, i've never look.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
In a way, the houses are spread apart. Each house has free land between them which now, makes me feel uncomfotable whem houses are really close.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 6
Back to Beaumont Home