Beaver Dam
22 reviews
  1. Town in Wisconsin
Back to Beaver Dam Home

Reviews

22 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    0
I truly love Beaver Dam as I am currently in the process of purchasing a home here as well.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I moved from Africa to live in Wisconsin. Needless to say that the transition was very shocking but it turned out to be one of the best experiences in my life. I love everybody that I met there and I will never forget them. The people in Wisconsin are very welcome being and helpful, they will always help you find your way.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 18 2015
Beaver Dam was a very nice place to live but drugs are becoming more common with parents. The jobs are the same but there are more people fighting for them. The school is run down and the rich side of town wouldn't even spend money to fix the road they live on. The teachers who have been working at the school a long time are good but the turnover rate is getting crazy.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 10 2015
I don't plan on living here after high school but if you are into small town lifestyle it'll fit you
  • Niche User
  • Mar 7 2015
Housing is average for a medium sized town in this area
  • Niche User
  • Mar 7 2015
I go to the local YMCA almost every day and get outside to other areas as much as possible
  • Niche User
  • Mar 7 2015
There are not really a large amount of attractions in the immediate area
  • Niche User
  • Mar 7 2015
I love hiking/biking and exploring the outdoors. I would never advise a nature-lover to live around here.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
There's random theft and crime every now and then but the only real fear is drunk and reckless drivers, crime is not a big factor into most people's lives.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
I have never had troubles with public services in my city. I think Scott Walker is a poor governor and does not allocate state funds correctly to move Wisconsin forward.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
I'm sure very few people come to Beaver Dam for jobs. Beaver Dam has some factories and average jobs that most towns have such as fast food jobs and chain stores.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
It's cold and snowy in the winter, and hot and sunny in the summer. Pretty average Midwest.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
Benvenutos and Park Avenue are very popular with adults in Beaver Dam. Benvenutos has been around for quite a while and the food and ambience is pretty good. Park Avenue is newer and is like a bar for people that don't like run down pubs in the area. I think the food is quite poor at Park Ave. but many people think it is pretty good. Sake House is a Japanese restaurant that opened up a couple years ago and I love to visit.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
We have different restaurants and businesses that seem to pop up every few months or so. Most restaurants and businesses are relatively poorly run and only stay open for a few months. There are definitely decent restaurants and shops that have been around for a long time and have recently started and seem successful to this point. There are options if you want a decent restaurant or local shop, but less than you would expect and many are disappointing.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 16 2015
It is a small town, not much goes on. There isn't a mall in town, nowhere for kids to go and hangout really.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
I don't particularly have time to exercise much myself, but I see others all the time. Mostly at the YMCA or other local fitness establishments around the city. When summer rolls around, every night you see people walking their dogs or riding their bikes around.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2015
A lot of jobs in the area are selective, when it comes to choosing a employee.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 25 2014
Some stores are clean and the customer service often good and bad.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 25 2014
We are a small town so therefore not as much around for jobs as a large city would have. On the other and, we don't have such a great population to employ. We have many fast food and sit down restaurants, a good deal of retail stores, and even a few factories. There's generally something for everyone, but there could be greater opportunity for some elsewhere.
  • Niche User
  • July 10 2014
The town itself has a great number of really nice parks, especially for how small it is. The parks are always well kept and they all have brand new or generally new as in good condition playgrounds. Most have nice pavilions as well. There is a really nice state park (devils lake) not too far away. It's really nice and a good day or weekend trip.
  • Niche User
  • July 10 2014
  • 1 of 2
Back to Beaver Dam Home