Bend
119 reviews
  1. Town in Oregon
Back to Bend Home

Reviews

119 reviews
  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    59
  • Average
    27
  • Poor
    7
  • Terrible
    0
Spectacular mountain town! If you are into outdoor athletics, good coffee and great beer- Bend is the place for you.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 hours ago
I have lived in Bend for my entire life, and it will be hard to leave for college this year. Bend is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, with mountains and lakes less than an hour away, and a river and multiple parks practically in my backyard.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
Bend is a great town to live in! It is full of both indoor and outdoor activities for people of all ages. They have an outstanding parks and recreation program as well as many facilities including a pool and skating pavilion that allow anyone to enjoy the athleticism of the town. Bend is a very safe and environmentally conscious place to live, definitely someplace you won't find anywhere else! Although it is not extremely diverse, it emanates a culture and authentic experience you can't find anywhere else.
  • Current Resident
  • 13 days ago
Bend is a great town East of the Cascades with 320 days of sunshine a year! The town is 20 minutes from Mt. Bachelor with great skiing and other winter sports. Summer brings warm days with kayaking and paddleboarding on the Deschutes River that runs through town. A lively music scene and burgeoning artist scene round out the experience.
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
Bend is great! There is so many outdoor things to do as well as indoor activity. The brewery's and beer here are great! There is great food, great atmosphere, and great people!
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
After living in Bend, Oregon for my whole life, I can full-heartedly say that this small-city is the perfect place to grow up. Outdoor activities like hiking to waterfalls, paddle boarding across lakes and rivers, running on popular trails are great for socializing with others and staying activities.
  • Current Resident
  • 22 days ago
Bend is changing. If you come visit, please be polite, remember, some of us live here.
Bend is full of wonderful things to do and see. We have exceptional recreational opportunities from skiing, snowboarding, rafting, hiking, mountain biking, cycling, brewery tours, distillery tours, top notch dining, paddle boarding, disc golf and just about any other activity you can think of. Did I mention dogs, we love dogs. Bend has almost as many dog parks as it does people parks.
The Deschutes River runs through the middle of town and we have breath taking view of the Cascade Mountain Range to the west of us. But if mountains aren't your thing, then just go 20 minutes east and you will be surrounded by 1000 year old Juniper trees in the Badlands.
Along with your friendly disposition, bring your wallet; Bend isn't cheap.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 days ago
Healthy, outdoor, active lifestyle. Great beer! Friendly people and great shopping. Ski, bike, shop, run, ice skate, snowshoe, drink coffee... best place ever. And wonderful used bookstores for the literary minded.
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
I have lived in Bend since August, 2016. Bend has a lot to offer for outdoor enthusiasts, families, and college-aged people. I have come to ignore the west side of town as much as possible due to high traffic during tourist season. But, everything you'd need is available on the east side of town so it's no big deal.
I have a daughter and have been very happy with the quality of the public schools in the area. The healthcare system seems to be good. I haven't been to a healthcare professional myself but my daughter has and I have been pleased with the friendliness, knowledge, and limited wait times.
The major negative thing about Bend is the housing, I was disappointed with the lack of affordable housing compared to other parts of Oregon. Also, the availability of affordable housing, it took me three months to find somewhere to live. Thank goodness I have an aunt that lives about 40 minutes away that we were able to stay with temporarily.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I live in bend Oregon I love it here there is so much to do specially if you are an out doors person
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
A beautiful place to live, amazing views but its poverty with a view. Those who live there are either very well are off, in retirement, or they are struggling to makes ends meat.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
The area around Bend and Redmo nd is mostly farmers. The majority of which does not share the same values as people living in Bend or Redmond, especially those who moved there in the past decade, or so.

The airport is one of my favorites. It takes two or three minutes from entering the airport to go to the gate. The airport is right in the city of Redmond.

Expensive in Bend is housing, especially in areas like the old mill district, and going out, if you are into restaurants, bars, and the like. Cost of living is otherwise average ranging from Costco to Wholefoods.

Kayking can be difficult in the immediate area. Being in the high desert it is not like the are plenty of rivers in a bikable distance. There is the Deschutes that is in Bend, Tumalo Creek a bit outside and Crooked River that goes through Smith Rock and doesn't have a lot of water in the summer.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bend is a pretty good place and seems to always get bigger, it's got it all without the city city lifestyle. It's comfortable lots of amenities. If I could change something it would probably be the drugs or homelessness.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bend is a great place to raise kids. Very healthy community, especially if you like the outdoors - hiking, skiing, biking, rafting, etc.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I have been living in Bend for about one year. I love how dog and family friendly the town is. There is a ton to do outdoors. Living is very unaffordable, and the town is becoming over populated.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
My experiences in bend have been some of the most amazing i have ever had. I believe that there is a strong foundation in the business and tourist community but do believe that other things need to be implemented to deal with the homeless, mentally ill, and drug addicted individuals needed assistance. I have a strong passion for bend and to be able to further educate myself on non profit management to build homes and necessary programs for bend itself.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Mid sized city with small town feel. Great access to outdoors, theater, beer, art, music, food. Stunning mountain views.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bend is an amazing place to live and attend school i you are an outdoor enthusiast. There are plenty of things to do in the immediate area and the town caters to all o its citizens.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bend is a great place to live! It has all kinds of outdoor activities for everyone (all seasons) and it is stunningly beautiful. On top of that, Bend has great restaurants, pubs and breweries. As for Central Oregon Community College, it is a great place to get a start in education and possibly move on to OSU. The downsides are: that this town is very expensive, hard to find housing (affordable and in general), and everything closes fairly early.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bend is a great place to live if you like the outdoors. It has everything to offer. Biking, skiing, water, hiking and much more. Good restaurants and great beer.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 6
Back to Bend Home