Berea
51 reviews
  1. Suburb of Cleveland, OH
Back to Berea Home

Reviews

51 reviews
  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    1
I have lived and gone to school in Berea for 4 years and it has been a great place to live. I have thoroughly enjoyed the welcoming, family friendly atmosphere and the easy access to local businesses. The town is clean and quiet and has very nice scenery for running outdoors.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
Berea is a great place to live due to the close proximity to the Cleveland Metro Parks. Further, Berea offers a variety of restaurants and bars and is a great place to live. It is a great place for someone who wants to live in Cleveland, but does not want to be in the heart of the city.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
The schools in Berea are dedicated to bettering the student's lives and challenging them to perform at the best of their abilities. There are many things to do here whether it be places to eat, shop or even take a walk in the metro-parks.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I really enjoy living in Berea, Ohio. It has everything we need. It is a small college town with restaurants, bars, and stores within walking distance. The Cleveland Metroparks and the Rocky River are basically right outside my back door. It is also very close to the airport. The houses are older, but built well with a lot of character.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
The last time there was a serious crime in the neighborhood was back in the 80's when a teenage girl got murdered. Most people who live her don't even know about it. No one talks about it. If the police do show up its kept quiet so people don't hears it and gets disturbed. The police are very respectful. The police are very close to this neighborhood so the response time is great. Also a Strongsville police officer lives on my street which makes us feel reasly safe.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I really love the quiet suburbs. The people are very genuine. They are the type that will let you borrow a cup of sugar of you needed it. It is quiet, no obnoxious party's or people drunknown and yelling for no reason. People tend to keep to themselves, there's not the reality TV aspect of gossip and judgemental neighbors. I really like it here. I would definitely move here again.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I love the neighborhood I grew up in. I live in a small, quaint town. I can't say that I will or will not stay in the area for employment after graduating college, but I will definitely be back to visit. I have made lifelong friends here through the schools, and have received a good education.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The police are not very fast when needed in a certain situation.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Cops are seen on patrol often, with no major crime
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
The city is small, but the people who live here are incredibly friendly. There seems to be a strong dependence on small businesses in the area as well, which helps these businesses and the city's economy thrive and be successful. Recently, there has also been an interest in creating new pieces for recreational entertainment, such as new playgrounds or gazebo constructions. Overall, it is a city that is growing nicely and is great to live here.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
You can find a min wage job easily
  • Niche User
  • Dec 31 2014
I haven't really felt unsafe
  • Niche User
  • Dec 31 2014
It snows and rains often but this winter hasn't been unbearable
  • Niche User
  • Dec 31 2014
The local businesses provide quality products and food. We especially love Chipotle
  • Niche User
  • Dec 31 2014
You can find a lot of minimum wage paying jobs in the area. However, when it comes to things that are higher paying jobs they are actually lower paying jobs in the town and you would be better of going elsewhere. Also, the higher paying jobs are very hard to find and acquire.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 24 2014
Overall, the businesses in the area all have excellent customer service and genuinely care about each person that walks through the door. There is always a variety of different places to eat and shop for basic things. However, there is not a mall anywhere in the area and you have to drive thirty minutes in each direction to get to one in another city.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 24 2014
People are jogging at all hours in the park, going to fitness classes, playing sports, and eating healthy.
  • Niche User
  • July 19 2014
The real attractions I would say are the art fests, county fair, fourth of July fests, and metroparks.
  • Niche User
  • July 19 2014
There are a lot of communities nearby I'd love to get to, but can't without a bike or car. I am not much for bikes but there are plenty of bike paths. However, motorists are often impatient and do not like to share the roadways. Parking availability is pretty good, but there are a lot of reckless drivers. That makes walking around a scary situation. The high gas prices would make taking a bus to the nearby cities a preferable option, but they took out most of the buses several years ago and now it's harder to get around when a car isn't an option.
  • Niche User
  • July 19 2014
I enjoy Berea's atmosphere of the college-based, small town with the park nearby and lots of trees. However, it is a small town so there are the downsides to that like having to go to a next city over just to do a lot of things, like printing something for class or doing something fun with friends. This can be very difficult because buses do not even come here, except the one that goes into Cleveland. I have a lot of nearby places I could go but can't without a car or several buses. However, it is a very friendly neighborhood for college students. I feel like there could be better things in ways of restaurants and that. A lot of the good places for desserts and other restaurants get torn down to make room for expensive, less-than-desirable places to go. I feel like the advertising and promotion around here for businesses is really bad, which results in people not realizing what is there until it is close to being replaced.
  • Niche User
  • July 19 2014
  • 1 of 3
Back to Berea Home