Berea
38 reviews
  1. Town in Kentucky
Back to Berea Home

Reviews

38 reviews
  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    11
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    2
Berea is a great place to experience art, culture, and a different side of Kentucky. It offers lots of great shops and small restaurants that showcase the area. Artists from all over pride themselves on selling their work in Berea because it draws a lot of tourists and locals.
  • Former Resident
  • 11 days ago
It is a fabulous city with so much culture. Everyone is courteous and kind and you don't have to worry about your safety in this town. Very small town feel, good economy because of the college here, amazing experience.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Berea is a small town in central Kentucky. It is home to Berea College and is also a thriving craft town. The historic Boone Tavern hotel is located in the middle of campus and is a beautiful place that really takes you back in time. The Pinnacle hiking trails are located close by and are a must see. Berea is also located about 30 miles south of Lexington, Kentucky
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
The most cases of crime in this area is the cause of drugs. I feel the police do a well good job in protecting the city of Berea from harm. Just driving around in town I will pass two or three cop cars and it helps to know that the police station is right in the center of town which makes it easy to access.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I love the place I live in. If I had a chance to live somewhere else I would turn it down and choose Berea all over again. It's a small town and everyone knows each other, which I love. I see in the future that Berea will become more popular and gain more respect because of how far we as a community and town have came.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The safety of the people of my area is very good the police always make sure everyone is safe
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
The community is very helpful and provides many positive influences that affect the environment
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Berea has many police men and women who are always giving their all to contribute to our society. With a community of loving individual and great protection from law enforcers Berea, Kentucky is a place I recommend living.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Things are nice just need to be more organized.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Overall a safe place. You can always see a police car on the road.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Berea is in the heart of Appalachia, which is well known for its improvised communities lacking diversity.Not the best place for minority students. However, there is a lot of good and educated people. I do not see any radical change or improvement in the future.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Tends to be about $600 for rent. Home prices vary.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
Very diverse population secondary to Berea College.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
Car break ins happen frequently
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
I would definitely move here again if I could do it all over. There are more opportunities in this area compared to where my husband and I grew up. Here we have more opportunities for a brighter future. I feel like this area could grow in the future because it isn't far from more populated areas and there are more opportunities to grow.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 19 2015
College adds a nice mixture.
  • Parent
  • Nov 19 2015
Berea weather has a mind of its own. One day it will be spring weather (chilly but still nice enough to enjoy the outdoors) and the next it will be snowing. However, other than the sometimes bipolar weather, it has a pretty predictable weather cycle. The winters can be a bit rough, with a couple of feet of snow sometimes. However, the city usually works very hard to clean it up and make it as little of a problem as possible.
  • Niche User
  • June 4 2015
If you live in Berea, just know it is a dry city. The only place you can get a drink is at the Boone Tavern hotel (which I wouldn't recommend unless you have serious $$$). Instead, you can go up the road (15 mins) to Richmond, which has many stores and restaurants that serve alcohol. If you are interested in bars, there are some near the Eastern Kentucky University campus.

There is definitely more food options in Richmond as well, compared to Berea. Berea has mostly fast-food chain restaurants; very few sit-down restaurants available. However, there are a few.
  • Niche User
  • June 4 2015
As a recent graduate, I was finding it difficult to find jobs of interest (in Nutrition) that would provide a suitable income. I even looked into jobs in Lexington, but received no feedback. However, I do have friends who were able to find jobs in the area. I think it depends more on your interest and education background.
  • Niche User
  • June 4 2015
I was a college students in Berea. I enjoyed getting to meet people both on and off the campus. If you are a young adult, there is definitely plenty to do in Berea! If you are older, you may find it more worth your while to look to Richmond and Lexington for entertainment. Either way, it is a fun environment, especially if you have the time to invest. You can enjoy yourself in Berea with relatively low financial expenditure - you just have to look around and talk to others about what is going on! The college always has some performance or speaker in town, it seems, so ask around!
  • Niche User
  • June 4 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Berea Home