Berkeley Heights Township
10 reviews
  1. Suburb in New Jersey
Back to Berkeley Heights Township Home

Reviews

10 reviews
  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
There's a mix here of houses that have and have not renovated. Many houses that were previously one floor ranch styles upgraded to two floor larger houses.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Very safe community, on a nice day there are always people outside walking with friends, children, and/or pets.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
This area is perfect starting out middle class families. The community is smaller than others so everyone knows everyone. If I could do it all over I would not change anything because the perks of being in a small community is that you develop relationships with people and it continues over the course of 16 years. Also Berkeley Heights shares a high school with a neighboring town and that has also had an impact in my life. This area has the potential to improve, for example, having another township share the same high school. There are many ways of improving a community, why not make it start with students.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
There is not much crime in this area.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
I love where I grew up. I know now that I grew up in a very sheltered environment but it helped shape me in the best possible way. Often times people are stereotyped as snobby for living here. My parents taught me responsibility and hard work, so while I lived around many kids who never had to work, I've been working since I was sixteen. Great community, those with humble values will be successful and happy.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Everyone is extremely nice and there is always something to do.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 6 2015
Generally the four seasons are fine but in the past there have been freak tornadoes, hurricanes hitting, freak snow storms, and earthquakes. One time, snow storm Nemo affected the area so badly that several miles of the town were out of power for 2+ weeks. Also, there have been hurricanes and earthquakes happening basically on the same day, i.e., Hurricane Irene the day before an earthquake.
  • Niche User
  • May 29 2015
There are only a handful of popular restaurants in Berkeley Heights, most of which are average Italian places and pizzerias. My favorite restaurant is Oporto's, a Portuguese BBQ place that gives the customer enough food. There are no real bars or nightlife options, as most of the businesses in Berkeley Heights are just restaurants, banks, and salons.
  • Niche User
  • May 29 2015
The job outlook in Berkeley Heights is not very high because most of the employees in the small town are just students looking for work, with adults commuting elsewhere. Most of the job opportunities available to high school and college students include minimum wage jobs in which the students do not get paid nearly enough for the amount of work that they do. Many students work in the local businesses such as Stop and Shop, Pet Supplies Plus, or commute to their jobs in neighboring towns such as New Providence, Summit, Westfield, etc. Popular summer jobs include working for the playground camp near the middle school.
  • Niche User
  • May 29 2015
The local businesses in Berkeley Heights are very inconsistent. Restaurants constantly pop up and then close down without notice because not many support them, except for ones with high notoriety such as Delicious Heights, DiMaio's, Coppola's, Trap Rock, East, etc.. It goes without saying that these restaurants have been open for business for years because of their excellent food and service, however pricey they are. Otherwise there is a lack of variety in shops that are not pizza parlors and hair/nail salons and spas. There are really no big chain restaurants, as the only fast food joint, Subway, closed down, and the only fast food joint in sight is a Domino's pizza that recently opened for business.
  • Niche User
  • May 29 2015
Back to Berkeley Heights Township Home