Berkley
20 reviews
  1. Suburb of Detroit, MI
Back to Berkley Home

Reviews

20 reviews
  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    0
I love the Small town feel and quaintness that Berkley offers. I wish that that downtown was a little nicer
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Very small town. Lots of little shops, but still not much to do. Good neighborhood for raising a family. Has 3 elementary schools, a middle and a high school. Wish the movie theater was still open.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Police are visible everywhere. I live on a non-busy road and I usually see a police car drive by at lease once or twice a day, including night time as well. Crime is going to happen, but when it does, it appears as though the police take it very seriously. I feel safe enough to walk my dogs at nighttime.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
Berkley is one of the best towns to live in around the Metro Detroit area. You get that small town feel in a big area. Berkley is centrally located, meaning everything in the Metro Detroit area is within a half hour drive. The downtown area is constantly remodeling and rebuilding to make it look better. I grew up in the country and have lived here because of work. I prefer to live in the country, but Berkley is the best city-living since I have to live in the city.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
It's a great place to live, very safe. If anything, the city & police tend to be over cautious but better safe than sorry.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Small town with a friendly, family like atmosphere, and just the right amount of bustle & activity. The schools are top rated with the best & most caring educators around.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
There are not many major crimes that happen in Berkley. :)
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The school system is really good here, and I like the atmosphere. It's also close to downtown Royal Oak, which is fun to walk through.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Low amount of crimes, crimes are typically just related to property. Police very responsive, especially for minor driving errors.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I would probably choose to live in a similar community when I move, however I would never choose to live in this particular city again.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
There generally is nothing to worry about safety and crime wise. The worst thing that I have head about is someone taking off the tires and scratching up a car at night when the car was left out in the driveway.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I live living in the Berkley area. There are nice people all throughout the town, all with great values. However, being so close to Detroit, the traffic is crazy and thus makes timing all the more important. I now know after living here that I need to leave at least fifteen minutes before I think I should leave so that I can make it to places on time.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Not a lot seems to happen in the area as far as crime goes, and when something does occur it's never much cause for concern. The police can be seen driving around and making sure everything is safe, so overall there is a great sense of security.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 24 2016
There're plenty of small businesses owned by locals, which is wonderful! The atmosphere is great year-round, but especially during summer while the town preps for the Woodward Dream Cruise. It's small, but close enough to bigger towns so that you're never too far from finding something new to do. That being said, it seems to be lacking in "hot spots" to hang out which almost forces a lot of teenage business away. Hopefully, that will change in the future. There are a lot of stores that have been opening or getting renovated so the future looks bright for the area!
  • Niche User
  • Jan 24 2016
This is a great area especially in the summer. There are a lot of activities for anyone.
  • Niche User
  • Dec 29 2015
Living in Berkley Michigan has opened me up to a lot of diversity. Not only racial but socioeconomically diversity as well. The school system is close and within walking distance and I never felt unsafe walking to or from school. The people are friendly and are welcoming to everyone. The only drawback is that there is not much outdoor stuff to do. You have to drive 15-20 minutes to get to the nearest metro park so a lot of time is spent hanging out in restaurants or just peoples houses.
  • Niche User
  • July 2 2015
The people here are healthy but not in the best shape. Drugs and alcohol use us abundant and apparent to those who live in the community. Gyms are accessible but not over used, and childhood obesity is prominent around here. More has to be done to get children into better eating and exercise habits
  • Niche User
  • July 16 2014
Everything is in close proximity of each other so business and running errands is convenient. This is not the type of town that has anything that stands out, other than the local sports bar.
  • Niche User
  • July 16 2014
It's a very safe area with minimal crime. The crimes that do happen are mostly not violent. It's a safe community to raise a family.
  • Niche User
  • July 16 2014
I would say our emergency services are quick to respond but not held high in morality. Our streets are clean and the city is maintained very well, and schools are managed appropriately. I believe more funding could be put towards services for victims of assault and demotic violence shelters.
  • Niche User
  • July 16 2014
Back to Berkley Home