Berwick
15 reviews
  1. Suburb of Portland, ME
Back to Berwick Home

Reviews

15 reviews
  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    0
The town needs industry to bring down property taxes. There are many private roads which the town/state does not maintain. The maintenance, including snow removal, is at the expense of the homeowner. There are many impoverished neighborhoods in rural areas.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 20 2015
Jobs are available but driving is required. Jobs are for degreed and non degreed personnel.
  • Niche User
  • Sep 15 2014
Our public works is actually decent.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Chaired the recycling committee for nearly 10 years... worked very hard to get this set up.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Police services great. Fire services awful. Local representation... selectmen are archaic and crazy... take tax aquired property and sell it to each other kind of crazy.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
In Berwick... nothing. But surrounding area is okay.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
In Berwick. Nothing except a Subway
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
I would say the majority of people in this town are overweight. A lot of drug/alcohol issues... we have a "sober home" that has brought in more alcohol problems. We do have a local medical office. I am physically active... run 2-3 miles 3-4 times a week.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Overall okay I guess. But no diversity. We had an adopted black son and he is one of literally a handful of non-white in his school. People are frustrated with the direction the town is going so many are trying to get out.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Not much in the immediate area... beaches are relatively close though.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
All average. Many short sales so properties are available. Downtown parking is pretty non existent.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
This isn't a 'metro' area so this doesn't really apply but there really isn't a great opportunity for 'pedestrians' because there are few sidewalks. Our police chief's sister was killed walking her dogs on the side of a road here... hit and run.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
There are mostly low income earning job opportunities in this area. Little expectation of growth at this point.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
In the immediate area there is none of this.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Police are trying but the town administration continues to focus development on low income, rental housing and it has brought in a flood of drug and domestic violence. Not sure how to fix it at this point.
  • Niche User
  • July 25 2014
Back to Berwick Home