Big Rapids
42 reviews
  1. Town in Michigan
Back to Big Rapids Home

Reviews

42 reviews
  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    13
  • Average
    24
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    1
It is a quant little college town with surprisingly good shopping. The bar scene could use some rehabilitation, but has lately taken some steps in the right direction. The local dining is impressive and the parks are good for children.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 days ago
Big Rapids is a nice college town. Everything on campus is within 20 minutes of each other. They have a nice quaint downtown area with lots of unique local shops and restaurants. I also like that there is a free campus shuttle bus for students at Ferris.
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
I am a Ferris State Student which means I am here for about 10 months out of the year. The university makes up most of the town. It is a small community that works to support each other and Ferris students greatly help with this as well. It definitely could use some more businesses and restaurants but it is a nice town.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Big Rapids is a great small town. There are two major parts, the college area, with big stores and new resturants. Then there is the old town, that has smaller reatuarnts and stores. Both areas are great!
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Big Rapids is a college town because Ferris State University is located here. Due to it being a college town, the majority of the population are renters, not people who have mortgages and pay taxes, therefore the roads do not get fixed. However, I appreciate the small-town feel of the town and the safety I feel being a young, female student to attend college here.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I like Big Rapids because it's a small town and I'm from a small town so it feels like home in a way. The only down side to living in a small town is there's not a whole lot to do around here. So one thing I would change would be to have more things going on in the community and making it a better place to live.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Everything around the area is very well put together.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
It is a very peaceful school area.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
There is little to no crime here in Big Rapids.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I love Big Rapids; there's just nothing to do.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
There's not too much crime in this area. The main concern is college students messing around. The cops are usually on them, but there always instances where the cops have no control. College students a lot of times wonder around drunk at night and steal/vandalize. In these situations, it's nearly impossible for cops to be able to find who did it.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
This town is composed mainly of college students who vandalize and steal from local residents. There are very few activities/entertainment options. There are several nice local restaurants, but other than the main source of food is fast food. There is very little culture and the people here are generally all the same.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Not bad but not good either
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
It's a college town so relatively small, but no diversity.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
There seem to be a lot of complaints about the smell of marijuana but overall, there isn't a lot of crime.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Overall, the atmosphere of the community is welcoming. However, there is a lack of pride in the community and it is prevalent throughout. The city seems to be save and a great place to raise kids.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
I absolutely love it here, great people, great school, small town, and right next to the gym (:
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
The sherriff station is right next door and i never leave the house without seeing a police officer around town
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
pretty nice and clean everywhere i go, and everyone is pretty friendly for the most part.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
It's really hard to find things to do around here; you have to make your own adventures.
  • Niche User
  • July 8 2015
  • 1 of 3
Back to Big Rapids Home