Big Spring
36 reviews
  1. Town in Texas
Back to Big Spring Home

Reviews

36 reviews
  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    9
  • Average
    20
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    3
Big Spring is a nice, semi-quiet town. It offers a nice city and state park, for walking and feeding ducks. Big Spring has three main grocery stores including Wal-Mart, HEB and Porters. The town does not have many entertainment outlets but does offer bowling, movies, and a skate land. It has few places to eat, mainly mom-and-pop restaurants, and fast food chains. However just a short distances down the road in each direction is a well known Texas town for shopping and entertainments. The city has beautiful views or the sky and sunset. The community itself is very strong and supportive, and always willing to help a neighbor.
  • Current Resident
  • 21 days ago
For being considered a "small town" Big Spring has many opportunities to offer. The community college, Howard College, has one of the largest attractions of the town. People from all over the world come to Howard College to play sports and continue their education. The town also offers many job opportunities including but not limited to: The Geo Group, VA Medical Center, State Hospital, and FCI Federal Prison.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I have lived here all 32 years of my life. There is good and bad, like any place. Our crime rate is a little higher than a typical town this size. We have an awesome historical district and the people here are super friendly. We have several different festivals during they year. We are the "Lighted Poinsettia Capitol" of the World.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Small oil field town. Everything is based off of oil prices
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
It is what you make of it. Personally, I don't think Big Spring is that bad. However, after graduating from high school I do not plan to move back. Most of the people here are kind. Southern hospitality does exist here, people hold doors open either for you or behind them, they smile a lot and just say "hi" to random people in the grocery store or around town.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Not as bad as some people will have you believe. These people are just paranoid and pick up every little thing on police scanners.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Growing up here, I am somewhat partial to the area.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
As far as personal experience goes, we have had help but not enough concern from the authorities. Lately, I have seen more cop cars on routes in town. As a town with two prisons, minor things are usually overlooked by the authorities while focus is on major crimes.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
The town is an average sized West Texas town. The atmosphere revolves around heritage, football oil and more football. Although the town is generally diverse we often come together as a community when supporting families and other events. If I could choose to do it all over again, I would choose to move here sooner. Our high school does not get the best ratings but we are granted with amazing opportunities that aren't offered even 13 miles down the road. Being compared to the rest of this country wouldn't be fair. It's an oil town off of 1-20 with a diverse community that has one big heart. I think the future for this town will remain the same, being remembered as giving the world a few football players, country singers and doing the best we can.
  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
Not much crime and generally a safe place.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
It can be boring and I'd rather live somewhere with more things to do.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Houses stay on the market about 6 months or less if they are asking a good price. After a while vacant houses are bought and flipped. Then rented or sold.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Most people have lived here a long time, others stay a couple of years.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Since the oil boom fell, more people have settled in this area because it's cheaper. They're not working so the crime rate has gone up a little. Overall, just be cautious.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
This area is definitely an oil town. Just within the past couple of years has the population boomed and new businesses rooted here. For its future I see it slowly growing but it will never be very big.
  • Niche User
  • 12 months ago
Some houses are kept up but others are complete disaster
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
The community may be bad, but when someone needs help we come together to help.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
There is a lot of violence and crime in my town. However, my family fortunately has not been affected by the crime.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
My town is a medium size town. There is enough people where you can go to Walmart without seeing everyone twice. There is a lot of crime in my town and a lot of unnecessary drama that adults start.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 5 2016
Big Spring is not a bad town. I come from a big city and moving to a small town is not my taste. However the people are very nice and friendly. the community really comes together to take care of one another and i think that is really great.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 30 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Big Spring Home