Binghamton
66 reviews
  1. Town in New York
Back to Binghamton Home

Reviews

66 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    13
  • Average
    31
  • Poor
    15
  • Terrible
    5
"Don't forget your umbrella," the Resident Assistant tells me as I'm moving into my first dorm. Oh Binghamton, the city in which you can almost guarantee it will rain 364 days of the year. Joking, well not really. Binghamton is a great college town, not too much nightlife but just enough for your group of pals to know where you'll end up throughout the night. There has been an influx of amazing restaurants - everything from Thai, Indian, Halal, sushi, ramen... you name it, Binghamton has it! Every first Friday of the month, many of the local museums are free and open later than normal. You can check out some awesome student work, ranging from photography to oil paint. First Friday is definitely a goto! Check out Binghamton University's campus which has an amazing nature preserve with many, many deer. Hike up to the very top and breathe the freshest air! Do you feel it? That's the fresh air in your lungs, awesome!
  • Current Resident
  • 11 days ago
Binghamton is a great place for college students. Lots of student housing and many student friendly businesses. Not such a great town for families though. Limited public transportation and crime has increased in the last few years.
  • Current Resident
  • 22 days ago
I've lived and grown up in Binghamton, New York for almost 18 years now, and being that I'm preparing to move out for college next summer I couldn't be more excited to get out of here. Public schools are downright scary, there is no night life, safety is non-existent and there are little to no opportunities for work. If I could say anything- it would be to stay away from Binghamton.
  • Current Resident
  • 22 days ago
While the weather in Binghamton leaves something to be desired, I love this little town. There is a great, thriving community, and the city is small enough to feel right at home after a short period of time.
  • Former Resident
  • 25 days ago
There are some good restaurants. The area is growing and improving. Still has some issues, but there's good forward motion.
  • Former Resident
  • 1 month ago
Binghamton is a great community. I am currently living in the area as a college student. Although most of my time has been spent on campus, I venture out into the community to establish a sense of belonging. I see that this area may potentionally be a community I may want to stay in and build my family in after I graduate.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
Just your average city. Student housing areas are mostly safe and cozy. Large price range of housing choices. Good food and decent public transportation.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Lived here all my life, raised my children here. Great schools ( outside of middle school in city of Binghamton). SUNY Broome College and Binghamton University are top notch. Employment is a little slow.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Binghamton is overall good and safe place. the city buses and the school buses are also pretty on time. It however needs more safety in some places specially in the night.
  • Works Here
  • 2 months ago
Grey town, lacking in cultural outlets and atmosphere. It is surrounded by hills that can be quite beautiful in spring and autumn when view is not obscured by rain or clouds. Fortunately small steps towards revitalization are being taken. It's dull, but it has potential.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
If you don't mind a persistently economically depressed area with poor schools that has a large percent of the population living on Section 8 Vouchers, and which is remote, hundreds of miles from any reasonable city, surrounded by toxic land polluted by companies like IBM that have since closed shop, leaving little more than cancer clusters, then you may like Binghamton.
  • Former Resident
  • 3 months ago
Someone got stabbed at the local walmart recently which is scary but overall it is fine
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
this area is okay. It is a little run down but seems fine normally.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
The crime rate is going up, more and more students are dropping out. This place used to be nice growing up. Now you have to always watch your back and make sure everything is locked or is by a camera so you can see if anything bad has happened to your belongings.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
The crimes that occur the past two years we very serious, and rare to happen here. There was a shooting and drug dealers. The police took serious actions.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Its seen as horrible to outsiders, but local people are used to it. As a local I can honestly say I don't have any fear or worries for mine or my families safety .
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Its not the greatest if your talking numbers but its not horrible off papers. Locals are used to it, outsiders think its horrible. Still and will always be home to many people.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Crime is getting worse with drugs and violent crimes such as shootings.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I see change for this area and positivity coming back, but currently the crime is increasing at a rapid rate as well as the drug use.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
This is a place where people get shot and attacked regularly.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
  • 1 of 4
Back to Binghamton Home