Bismarck
89 reviews
  1. Town in North Dakota
Back to Bismarck Home

Reviews

89 reviews
  • Excellent
    29
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    34
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    0
There are plenty of trails to walk, run, hike, and/or bike ... sunsets along the trail make the miles of trails worth using! The family oriented activities available with the zoo and parks prevent anyone from saying they are 'bored'
  • Current Resident
  • 15 days ago
Very nice medium size town which is growing daily. A nice community to raise children. Quiet areas for family gatherings. Many places to shop and just have fun. During the summer there is a Zoo and an amusement park where the family can go to play a round of mini golf or partake in one of the rides. There are many golf courses for those who like to golf and many boat landings for those that like to fish or go out on the river for a day in the sun. When school starts again the community has a lot of different activities for everyone to partake in, including The Downtowners Street Fair, in which a few of the downtown streets are blocked off and vendors are set up to sell their arts and crafts. Throughout the year there are many different events throughout the Bismarck area that can provide many hours of enjoyment for the whole family.
  • Current Resident
  • 20 days ago
I like the family atmosphere in Bismarck because you feel safe and secure for the most part. Everyone seems to bond together to help each other through good times and bad. People here have many different types of businesses to check out, many different forms of entertainment and very high quality schools for the children and teenagers. The biggest thing that I wish would change would be the types and level or crimes. It isn't to say that it is as bad as other places but just newer types than we used to have. A bigger focus on crime prevention would be fantastic.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I enjoy living in Bismarck North Dakota. It has been a great experience, and I wouldn't have chosen another town to grow up in. I always feel very safe when I am commuting around town. The education has positively influenced me to work for my future goals. Due to the positive citizens of Bismarck, I have become a successful individual. I have endless opportunities and resources to assist me in striving for success. Living in Bismarck has been a great experience throughout my lifetime, and I would recommend living here to anybody who strives for a great place to live.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
North Dakota is my hometown and will always make me feel at home. North Dakota is beautiful and I love the atmosphere, all my family lives here and I get to enjoy life with them. This city of Bismarck is especially great because of the opportunities I have available to my family and I.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
If you want to be an everyday person, this is the perfect city to live in. If you are afraid of death, you will be comfy here. There are not many other things to do than get up, go to work, pick up your kids from school, take them to practice or whatever, go home,cook dinner, go to sleep, and repeat.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bismarck is a medium sized town with big opportunities. With multiple colleges/universities, the state capital, and the state penitentiary, the possibilities are endless. There are many wonderful restaurants and unique shops as well. The atmosphere is very open and welcoming!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
We live in a very safe environment; I feel safe leaving the house.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It's a great place to live; I love it so much. I recommend.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It's definitely getting a lot worse now that the oil boom has attractive a lot of outsiders.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
North Dakota, although the it's lacking excitement, is a great place to get on your feet or raise your family. Plenty of opportunity here.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Everybody keeps things upkept, my only complaint is kids running around into the night.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Love that we are across the street from a park, just wish there was more space in between houses.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
There are rarely cops around and when they do drive by its to go to their houses in the area. Very safe place.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
This area has generally been a good area to live. The only reason it doesn't rate higher is because it can't do much better.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
As the state grows so does crime unfortunately. But for the most part crime is very low in the state and especially the city in which I live in. The police are very active 24/7 and there is a lot of police even though it is such a small city!
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
When people think of North Dakota a lot of them think of snow. But honestly I really love North Dakota because even though our winters are dead stone cold our summers are super hot. Like constant 85 degree weather hot! I also love North Dakota because it is a simple city that has everything at your disposal; every store and restaurants there is and it doesn't take long to drive where you want to go! Plus Bismarck has a bunch of local places that are simply amazing...I even work at a localized restaurant an it is the best job I have ever had!
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Police respond quickly to incidents in the area, because they seem to be always patrolling. That's both good and bad - they're always here (because they're always here).
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I don't like snow and the area of my neighborhood is full of transients and creepers from the next neighborhood over, which is extremely low-income and inclined to criminal behavior.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Six years ago, a murder or even a robbery was almost unheard of but when more people started to move to ND for the economy and job opportunity, it slowly got worse. We recently had multiple schools and play grounds that were hit with graffiti. The police force is pretty reliable in that they will do anything and everything that can to help you, but it can be noticed that they take special interest in certain cases.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Bismarck Home