Blacksburg
92 reviews
  1. Town in Virginia
Back to Blacksburg Home

Reviews

92 reviews
  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    39
  • Average
    26
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    0
What a great town! A major university, great schools, friendly shopping area, suburb restaurants, picturesque views and fabulous hiking trails! Blacksburg has it all!
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
Great small-town to live in. Local college, Virginia Tech, has awesome sports and wonderful food. Farmer's Market and town events make for a small-town feel on the suburbs of Roanoke.
  • Current Resident
  • 16 days ago
This is a small town with so much packed into it! There are outdoor activities, great restaurants, and plenty of nightlife. It's great for college-aged residents, in addition to being a great retirement area.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Even though Blacksburg, VA is a college town, is it still very nice. The best thing about it is all the different kinds of food.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Blacksburg, VA is a busy college town with lots of activities and people to get to know. It's a green-conscious town and has a lot to offer those who are interested in clean eating and sustainable living. There are limited job opportunities outside of VA Tech University, this is the only reason we decided to move. It's an amazing place to live and be in community with others.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 months ago
I am currently living here because my boyfriend attends Virginia Tech. So does everybody else- but me. SO everything is centered around and focused on VT, there are students everywhere, people are constantly having parties- and there was a sexual assault email that got sent around just today. I must say, I am not a fan of Blacksburg. I am not that big of a fan of VT either, and I believe that to be the main problem, especially since I am not a student- and things are not as open to me as they are to them. You can walk to campus from pretty much anywhere, with some resilience- and if you care enough. The place I moved into has a property manager that does not help, and a mold problem due to the age of the property, as well as hard water... overall, I just cannot wait to leave this place.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
It is a typical college town (college of over 25,000) in a small, rural town of only about 10,000. There's only one public high school for the whole town; that's how small it is. There is a lot to do, IF you are into the great outdoors. There are mountains to hike, waterfalls to explore, and tons of different farms to see. You are also very close to places like Luray caverns, the city of Roanoke, West Virginia, and North Carolina. The school draws a diverse crowd of residents, as well as musicians and art exhibits that the whole town can experience.
  • Former Resident
  • 3 months ago
Blacksburg is a quaint little town that packs a pretty big punch--serving as the homeplace of one of the best colleges in the country, it's amazing how much life has been pumped into this otherwise quiet mountain town.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I love the atmosphere in Blacksburg. Everyone is friendly and the city is very safe feeling. There is so much diversity in town. The restaurants are good and there is always something to do.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Blacksburg is a very diverse community, it's filled with all kinds of different and very kind people. The buildings and homes are unique and the streets are safe so many people are walking around and enjoying life. One thing I would change though, is their are tons of fast food restaurants so it is quite hard to eat super healthy.
  • Visitor
  • 4 months ago
Virginia Tech, tech, tech, tech, tech, tech, tech.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
It's awesome. I love tech. Tech, tech, tech, tech.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
Because of the smallness of the town, there is not a lot of crime that happens!
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I love the area. It's really beautiful, especially being in the Appalachian Mountains! It's a very rural college town, which I love!
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Blacksburg is bustling with all kinds of housing. There are a lot of student housing, but several other types as well. It's fairly expensive but there are always options for other prices. Pets are fine in most places and parking is abundant. The only issue is they are very traditional in how many people live together and who shares bedrooms. Unless you are married or related, you can't share a bedroom. If you can figure your way around that little law, this area is a great place to live.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Blacksburg is one of the most involved communities there is. The college and town work together to create great events that showcase locals as well as students. Pets are always welcome and people who come here tend to stick around for awhile. The college holds events like the "Big Event" where students volunteer and go out to clean up the community and town as well as helping people clean/build/create things they were unable to before. It's our way of giving back to the community that gives us a home.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
While we have crime like most areas, the police departments (both campus and city) work extremely well together. There are several "emergency lights/buttons" around campus along with safe locations. These buttons when pressed send an emergency signal directly to the police. They respond within 3 minutes or less. They also offer "SafeRide" which will give you an escort to a location on campus or the surrounding areas.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
This is one of the most beautiful areas around. I moved here from Texas because of the beauty, closeness of the community, and inclusiveness. The professors and Dean of my college are extraordinarily supportive. 10/10 would definitely live here again. Blacksburg is expanding and growing all the time but the community and inclusiveness still pervades the area. It is a great place to grow up, go to school, and retire. It has a great atmosphere and is very safe even if the media tends to forget that.
  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
Like most urban areas in today's world, Blacksburg has a fair amount of crime occur. This can range from vandalism, breaking and entering, to mass shootings. Unfortunately these events occur more often than expected. However whenever trouble or crime arises, the Blacksburg Police Department wastes no time to get on the case. Though these situations happen, I feel confident that the police in my area do everything in their power to keep me as safe as possible.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
This area is known nationwide for traumatic events such as the Virginia Tech shooting on April 16th, 2007. While this is a great place to raise a family, it is not the safest. Because of the University, there are constantly people moving in and out of the town, and crime is at a high. Although, in comparison to most other places, it is still considered a great place to reside. There are always events downtown for all groups of people and plenty of people to meet around town. I love the Town of Blacksburg because I have become accustomed to it and it's ways. I overlook most of the negative characteristics and embrace my love for the mostly caring community. Once I leave for college, I can definitely see myself moving back to the town later in life.
  • Parent
  • 12 months ago
  • 1 of 5
Back to Blacksburg Home