Blue Island
33 reviews
  1. Suburb of Chicago, IL
Back to Blue Island Home

Reviews

33 reviews
  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    20
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    2
I like that it's a very close community. There is a lot of opportunities to serve around the area. One thing that I would like to see around the area is more after school alotctivities for kids to be able to maintain them busy and active.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
There are police officers around majority of the time, so there's not much crime
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
There's not much to do at a short distance besides parks and a little library but the neighborhood is relatively peaceful and quiet
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Community involvement is truly up to you to go out and meet others
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
There doesn't seem to be too much crime during the day but I often see suspicious people walking around as it gets darker. I see police cars regularly patrolling the streets.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
Overall there doesn't seem to be a lot of crime during the day but I would not walk outside by myself at dark. If I were to live in this same city I would live more north farther away from Calumet City. Compared to other places in the country I would say it's a little below the middle. The roads are horrible and filled with potholes, train crossing are the worst and very bumpy.
  • Niche User
  • 9 months ago
I'd never seen anything bad but I know shootings had happen in the area.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
Blue Island is not that bad, but is not the best compare to some of the surrounding towns
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The crime rate In this area is not very high
  • Parent
  • 10 months ago
Overall it's a pretty good little town
  • Parent
  • 10 months ago
I haven't seen or heard anything.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2016
Blue island is a nice area to raise your children in. It's mainly a quiet neighborhood with a police station in just about every direction.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 12 2016
Have not been living here for very long but it is okay so far.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 4 2015
It can be good or bad. But i've had a positive living experience.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
There are many places that hire but not places where you go into for a career.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
It's bad when it's winter, we get a lot of snow and deep freezes. When it rains really bad, it rains bad.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
Buses come through here, but there are ton of sidewalks to walk!
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
There are many family parks and a sledding spot nearby. Just re-done!
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
There are many little restaurants in the historic side that have great food.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 11 2015
The food and the potholes
  • Niche User
  • Jan 8 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Blue Island Home