Boise
110 reviews
  1. City in Idaho
Back to Boise Home

Reviews

110 reviews
  • Excellent
    54
  • Very Good
    42
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    0
This city feels like it's becoming a bigger city, yet it still has the smaller city values. The people are nice and everyone around cares. The job market is decent and the schools are excellent.
  • Former Resident
  • 2 days ago
For a larger town, the people in Boise are exceptionally thoughtful and kind. Businesses call you back, drivers let you turn first in many cases and customers are generally kind. It's easy to get to know people when you come new to town. Social groups and clubs (ie: library reading time, kids soccer and Bible studies) are easy to find and jump right into. There are churches using translating headsets for refugees coming into town (Life Church among others). Best yet, I've been driving there for more than a year and I have yet to be pulled over!
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 days ago
Boise is all around a great place to live and visit. I currently live here and I have never been unhappy with this place. You get all four seasons as well as have so much to do for events. The people are my favorite though, almost everyone is so kind and family oriented.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
I've grown up in Boise and I honestly don't think I would have been raised anywhere else. I spent a lot of time riding my bike in my neighborhood with friends, playing along the Oregon Trail and Boise River, and swimming in Lucky Peak. My elementary school was and still is one of the highest rated in Boise. Being one of those states with "all seasons" means a wide variety of activities throughout the year. Whether you enjoy the outdoors (which Boise offers a lot of) or indoors, you will find something for every day of year. We even have the largest Basque community in the US. Great food, intriguing history, and friendly people!
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
Boise may seem like a city that's not too important, but it's a very safe and wonderful community. Almost everyone here is genuinely kind and thoughtful to others.
  • Current Resident
  • 8 days ago
Boise is one of the largest cities in Idaho, that being said there's no other place like it. Most of the time there will always be someone willing to help you out, wether it be a stranger or you go looking for help. Also make sure you are ready for real seasons. We definitely have all four of them.
  • Current Resident
  • 12 days ago
I love Boise. I've been lucky enough to travel to many places within the United States, and everywhere I go, I compare it to Boise. When Im ever in a big city such as Seattle or Pittsburgh, they are never as nice as Boise. Boise is so safe and just the perfect size where you still get a big city feel, but everything you need is within 15 minutes from your house. If you need to go to the grocery store, its only a few minutes away. School is only a 5 minute drive. If I want to go for a hike, I simply walk to the end of my neighborhood and I'm at the foothills. I also love Boise because we experience all four seasons. We have a hot summer where I can swim or float the river which is five minutes away. We have snowy winters where I can ski 40 minutes away at a very affordable price. All in all I wouldn't want to live anywhere else.
  • Current Resident
  • 14 days ago
I've lived in Boise practically all of my life. I love that it has all four seasons. Sometimes the snow can be a bit much though, so that would be one thing I would want for it to change. Awesome for snow days but terrible when you need to drive to work. We also have terrible drivers which would be another thing I'd want to change about this city. Even with this said I still love Boise because we have very beautiful scenery and my neighbors are always friendly and diverse (still it's depending on where you live in Boise).
  • Current Resident
  • 16 days ago
Small town feel, but still plenty to do! Boise is beautiful, safe, and entertaining. The locals support one another and come together often.
  • Current Resident
  • 18 days ago
It's a liberal capitol city in a very conservative state. For the most part people are nice as long as opinions and views are shared in moderation and in professional adult manners. The weather is beautiful year round, and there's always something going on. It's never a boring place to be.
  • Current Resident
  • 23 days ago
Born and raised in Boise, Idaho and absolutely loved it. Plenty of things to do year round. A great place to start and raise a family.
  • Former Resident
  • 27 days ago
I am never leaving! I moved to Boise 5 years ago from TX! I thought it was a different universe at first and didn't know what to do, but it has become the most wonderful place to live! There so much to do whether it be outdoors, or nightlife, and even the Saturday markets with my dog, to events and concerts! The people are so friendly and there's always a group or activity to be joining in on. Are you a craft beer aficionado? What about a wino? Boise is for you. And don't forget... There's 4 seasons!
  • Current Resident
  • 27 days ago
Living in Boise the last 22 years, I've seen it change abundantly. It has grown so much but the one thing that hasn't changed is the safety I've always felt in my neighborhood and around town as well as the friendliness of residents.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Nature is a big part of Boise, Idaho. The snow-capped Rocky Mountains serve as a backdrop, the Boise River and its riverfront paths wind through the city and skiing is a short drive away. Boise's varied museums include the Idaho History Museum, the Boise Art Museum, the Basque Museum and Cultural Center and the interactive Discovery Museum of Idaho. Unique attractions include Old Idaho Penitentiary and historic Pioneer Village. Old Boise offers shopping, dining, culture and nightlife.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Boise is a great city with a small hometown feel. Outdoor activities are easily accessible all year round, historical sites as well as contemporary activities give people enough to do until they're totally exhausted. Taking an open minded approach to what Boise has to offer will prove to be satisfying.
I would like to see the economy in Boise and Idaho for that matter, become more robust. Jobs and industry in Boise are very limited and are well under national average for pay. Starting a Career in Boise is challenging and success is relied heavily on networking and knowing a contact in order to "get a foot in the door".
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I really enjoy the amenities available in Boise. There are many parks, pools, and other activities going on. The infrastructure is great, and roads and walk ways are well maintained.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
I love Boise. There are endless activities to do outside. In the summer, there are rivers to float and lakes to boat. The colder winter months bring snow to the local mountains. There are ski and tubing hills within 30 minutes drive. Boise is also known as the City of Trees, for the beautiful colors painted throughout the fall months amongst the plethora of trees.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Boise is a very traditional, friendly and down to the earth place to live. The community here believes in helping others, working hard, raising their children to be polite, and love the great outdoors.
  • Current Resident
  • 1 month ago
Boise is the most amazing outdoor city. It is safe, active, artsy, and affordable. The people in the community are genuine and nice. I grew up there, but moved away due to the military. It is the place to retire or raise a family. It is probably one of the most active communities I have ever seen in all the places I've travelled.
  • Former Resident
  • 1 month ago
One of the many things going good for Boise is the growth that can be visible from day to day. Not only is the College easily accessed to the downtown culture but it's also close to the Urban life as well. The downside to this vast growth is the constant construction that plagues our streets everyday, the day in and day out of traffic can make anyone one a little temperamental.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 6
Back to Boise Home