Bourbonnais
32 reviews
  1. Town in Illinois
Back to Bourbonnais Home

Reviews

32 reviews
  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    0
  • Terrible
    1
Bourbonnais is nice small town. Many local attractions to take in and experience. Fell like taking in some nature? Check out Perry Farm, The State Park or many other walking and hiking areas along the Kankakee River. Also there are many fine eateries in the neighborhood.
  • Current Resident
  • 25 days ago
Bourbonnais is a beautiful college town rich in Christian heritage. There are many churches, shopping and restaurants within driving distance of the community's biggest university, Olivet Nazarene University. The community is warm and inviting with a park like feel to much of the community.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I have experience no problems or heard of any in this area.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I have had a great experience living in this area. It's safe, with a lot of restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance.
  • Niche User
  • 5 months ago
I feel pretty safe in this area
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
I love how quiet and stress-free the area is.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Bourbonnais is a very safe place to live.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It's a nice area to raise a family but only if you are involved within the community because there's not much to do here.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
It's a pretty good family-friendly area to live.
  • Niche User
  • 7 months ago
Bourbonnais is a good area. But Kankakee all together is shady.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
I have no where else to compare it to.
  • Niche User
  • 10 months ago
The crime rates are fairly low in this area. There was never a point while growing up that my family or myself were concerned about our well being. While the police are very alert and responsive, their jobs do not have the same stress level as an inner city police officer.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 17 2016
I have lived in this area my entire life, and I can personally say that it has continued to grow and improve as time has moved on. There has been an abundance of new businesses and residents. As a very southern suburb of Chicago, it was at one time a small agricultural town, but now it has more of a city feel with the community feel of a small town. It is definitely a place where I would wish to raise a family some day.
  • Niche User
  • Jan 17 2016
I think that Bourbonnais is a great place to find a job, given that there are many restaurants, stores, gas stations, etc. However, the life here is poor. Olivet brings most of the life to the town, but there are not very many places to hang out after midnight.
  • Niche User
  • Nov 30 2015
I was born and raised here and I am still struggling to survive
  • Niche User
  • Nov 14 2015
In some of the neighborhoods I have been in the people were very caring, loving, and trustworthy. In other neighborhoods some seemed a little racist.
  • Niche User
  • Aug 6 2015
The people are what make me come back home, but it's a simple town with not much to do.
  • Niche User
  • July 14 2015
There are a lot big company stores in my area, including walmart, target, jewel, etc. I believe it's a little hard for small companies to thrive in the area sometimes. If the small companies have been here for awhile they still survive, but new comers tend to close up after a year or so. All in all I still enjoy most of the options that we have in the area.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 27 2015
Our public workers are fine
  • Niche User
  • Feb 24 2015
We get a lot of rain in the spring and on occasion there are tornadoes but not so much that it's a concern. Summer's are hot and the weather is decent. Fall is cool and crisp. Winters are cold and snowy.
  • Niche User
  • Feb 23 2015
  • 1 of 2
Back to Bourbonnais Home