Bowie
183 reviews
  1. Suburb in Maryland
Back to Bowie Home

Reviews

183 reviews
  • Excellent
    27
  • Very Good
    93
  • Average
    59
  • Poor
    4
  • Terrible
    0
I love that Bowie is very Diverse. Amongst other areas in PG County, Bowie is a calm place and I like the fact that you can wake up and walk your dog or take a jog and you see others happily doing the same thing. It's a very nice quiet and reserved place. Bowie high school produces amazing students and I love it!
  • Current Resident
  • 3 days ago
I arrived bowie about 3 months ago.
It is located east of Maryland in a county known as prince georges.
Bowie is a calm residential area where people with non-communial setup.
This setting makes it difficult for someone who is new in the USA like a student to survive in. For instance, its practically hard to live in Bowie without owing a private car since the public transportation schedules are limited and does not cover round the clock. The only alternatives which are quite expensive is taxi, uber or lyft.
Again the people who live around here are very private and do not like to socialize well with strangers.
With regards to the good sides of Bowie, it is a place to have a peaceful life. As long as you are mobile, it is one of the best places to raise well behaved children. There are no street gangs or drug addicts on Bowie streets. Moreover, there is no crime or shooting events here. This is one good thing that makes me love it here.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 days ago
What I like about Bowie is the area. There are a variety of people and most people are friendly and welcoming. What I really love about the area is that the MARC train is right on campus, that way most students can commute back and forth if need be.
  • Current Resident
  • 6 days ago
I like the quietness and homey felling in Bowie. I have leaved in Bowie for 15 years and it has been a great experience.
  • Current Resident
  • 17 days ago
Its quiet, safe. Good to raise children. Good schools in this area. Good places to eat. I would definitely recommend moving to bowie if your looking for a safe place to live. Close to DC,Annapolis, and Baltimore.
  • Current Resident
  • 24 days ago
Living in Bowie has been a very quiet experience. Not a lot of activity even with the mall being down the street. Not very neighborly. Simple life.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
Bowie, M.D. is a great place to live. It has great public parks, great shopping areas and wonderful places to exercise. The restaurants range in variety and taste as well as price points to meet every budget. Any form of entertainment from bowling to hold can be found here and it's always kid friendly.
  • Current Resident
  • 2 months ago
I've lived in Bowie nearly all my life and everything is pretty safe. Ive never been in any danger, overall no matter where you are safety is determined by God but Bowie Maryland I would recommend to anyone as a good place to live.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bowie is close enough to DC that you can indulge in city life, but far enough away that you get to enjoy living in the suburbs.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
The area is right for young families. Local shopping areas near by and schools for all ages. There is transportation; however, you will need a car. There are local bars for the 40 and younger generation and community centers for children.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
I am a resident of Bowie, MD and have attended schools there. I enjoy the suburban environment and the close commute to DC and Baltimore.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Living in Bowie has been great its a safe area. You can walk your dog or even walk home all hours of the night with no worries. However, recently the younger kids have been causing trouble and making the neighborhood somewhat unsafe. But overall Bowie resides great people. There are lots of restaurants so you wont really have to drive far for resources.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Beautiful communities primarily affluent African American. Public schools are not at all impressive.
  • Nearby Resident
  • 3 months ago
Bowie is an up and coming community that is growing in a fast pace in all areas. It a little costly but my mom has always said you get what you pay for.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
So far it has been fourth months since living around Bowie, from my return to the United States after a sixteen year gap overseas. In fact, I live within the crossroads of Bowie and Glen-Dale with my siblings. It was the choice of my father's, having us agreeing to an extent. It's also home to one of America's oldest HBCU's, Bowie State University. The area is absolutely beautiful, especially if you're into nature, solitude, and silence. Pretty good jobs available, especially if you're a student. Totally a town for families as there are convenient parks with pools, a good way for diverse families to get together. To think of the cons, you'd ought to be mindful of having access to transportation because even if there are buses, the time schedules can be pretty hectic (especially where I live, where one becomes a prisoner at home during the weekends). Despite it all, Bowie is a good place to consider living.
  • Current Resident
  • 3 months ago
Family friendly and safe community. Convenient to Washington, D.C. and Baltimore. Close to public transportation. Schools need improvement.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
I love Bowie very friendly and calm. I love how peaceful and quiet it is and all the shops and stores are within 5 mins of where I love.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Living in Bowie is nice. I have been here since 2001, and I do not plan on moving anytime soon. It is family friendly and centrally located to the mall, movies and other fun activities for the family.
  • Current Resident
  • 4 months ago
Throughout the 13 years I lived in this neighborhood, the only time I can recall a crime indecent was when my neighbors tires were stolen off of his Escalade during the middle of the night, and he clarified that he had an idea of who it was being that he had an issue with someone around the time it happened.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
My experience in this neighborhood was great. I lived in this neighborhood for about 13 years so of course I created bonds and relationships with the people who lived around me. All of my neighbors were reliable and friendly. If anyone ever needed anything, there are plenty of doors they could knock on for a helping hand. My favorite thing about this neighborhood is that there are a lot of coulter sacks instead of all streets. I have two younger siblings and I feel safer that they can play outside in an open circle rather than having to play in main roads and streets. Overall, this neighborhood is very friendly and I always felt safe.
  • Niche User
  • 6 months ago
  • 1 of 10
Back to Bowie Home